Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Just for Fun > Community Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-15-2012, 04:48 PM   #1
kristenrice
DIS Veteran

Any Other NON-Runners Trying to Become Runners???

Hi! My name is Kristen and I am NOT a runner.

...but after reading about all of the fun events that RunDisney puts on, I decided back in August that I am going to start running. My first goal was to try and run in a Disney 5K race and finish it!

A little about me...I am a 38-year old paramedic who is a little out of shape. I was always very athletic in high-school but, due to bad knees, I was never able to run more than a mile. In fact, my doctor told me that I would "wreck my knees" if I ever ran more than a mile...so I didn't. I was afraid of "wrecking" my knees which could end my career so I avoided running. I'd ride my bicycle or use my elliptical for cardio exercise. Over the last 4 years, through dieting and exercise, I have slowly lost 35 pounds and kept it off. I am now at a respectable 157 pounds (I'm 5'7" and I have a "large" frame) but I'd like to drop another 5-10 more.

My husband (a police officer in his 40's) started running about 3 years ago. He has slowly been building his distances and now he runs about 5-7 miles at a time, on average. His longest run was just over 10 miles. I was motivated by how well he is doing so, back in August, I decided I would try running too.