Ths DIS is a great place to ask Disney Cruise Line questions and share tips.
Dreams Unlimited Travel - The official sponsor of the Disney Cruise Forums Dreams Unlimited Travel - the official sponsor of the Disney Cruise Forums  

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Cruise Line > Disney Cruise Line Forum
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-22-2012, 09:06 PM   #1
Goofy39.3
Earning My Ears

Telescope or Binoculars?

I will be on the EBTA and am thinking about bringing a telescope or binoculars. I have no experience with either. I would like to use it with my DS5 for looking at the night sky and more Earthly sightseeing. Anybody who has done this have any good suggestions. I don't want to go too crazy, between $100 and $200. Size is obviously an issue also. Thank you in advance.
Goofy39.3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:17 PM   #2
Four Bears
Mouseketeer

I have no experience with either binoculars or telescopes, but I will tell you that the ship is very brightly lit at night and I found star gazing (with the naked eye) very difficult.

Disney Magic 2010 Eastern Caribbean
Disney Magic 2012 Western Caribbean
Disney Fantasy 2013 Western Caribbean
Counting down to Disney Fantasy Eastern Caribbean

Four Bears is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Old 10-22-2012, 10:47 PM   #3
5crazyfordisney
Earning My Ears

We used several pairs of binoculars on our Pixar Pacific cruise - saw sea lions, whales, and dolphins! Great for port days too as we were coming in to dock. Kids loved it! Our rules: must wear strap and no leaning over the railing. Telescope might be difficult to pack and I've found cheap telescopes don't work well. Good luck!
5crazyfordisney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 11:20 AM   #4
gunka
DIS Veteran