Adventures by Disney forums

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > Adventures By Disney
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-24-2012, 03:10 PM   #1
connie1042
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kasson, MN
Posts: 2,580

Immigration in Amsterdam

Going to Edinburgh, Scotland in 10 days. I am leaving from Minneapolis, to Amsterdam, then on to Scotland. Do I go through immigration in Amsterdam or Edinburgh? Then on the way home, I go through immigration in Minneapolis, right?
connie1042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 03:14 PM   #2
DisneyDanielle85
Mouseketeer
 
DisneyDanielle85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 231

From my understanding you'll go through immigration in Amsterdam. First point of contact in another country is where you go through immigration, however because Amsterdam is not part of the United Kingdom you may have to do it in both places. On the way home you'll for sure have to go in the USA, but again since the UK and Amsterdam are two seperate entities you may end up having to go through both.......


Wow I just realized my answer is super vague. I'd guess I'd just prepare for both!
__________________

~Danielle~
~A Dream Is A Wish Your Heart Makes~ ~Princess Belle!~ "I only hope we don't forget one thing- It was all started by a mouse" - Walt Disney
DisneyDanielle85 is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000
Old 09-24-2012, 03:29 PM   #3
BubMunkeyBles
DIS Veteran
 
BubMunkeyBles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wasilla, AK
Posts: 1,062

Both!

The only time you don't have to re-go through customs when flying within Europe is when within the Schengen. The UK is not part of the Schengen (most the rest of Europe is though).

If you fly back and go Edinburg-Amsterdam-Minneapolis you would go through customs and immigration in both Amsterdam and Minneapolis.
__________________
Stephanie (28) Ovarian Cancer SurvivorDH (35) DD (5) DS (3)

December 3-9, 2014- SSR and BWV
BubMunkeyBles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 05:06 PM   #4
carpenta
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: grand isle, Vermont USA
Posts: 1,155

Give yourself extra time when you go through Amsterdam...the times I went through there were long lines....I try to avoid now.....
carpenta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 06:35 PM   #5
connie1042
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kasson, MN
Posts: 2,580

Now I am more confused then ever. I looked it up, and it looks like I do not go through immigration until I get in Edinburgh. They are not part of the Schengen. Now if I were going to a country that was part of that, then I would. I was hoping someone on here had gone from US-Amsterdam-Scotland. I guess we will just have to wait and see. I will let you all know how it was when I get back. Thanks.
connie1042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 02:48 PM   #6
crashbb
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,479

Quote:
Originally Posted by connie1042 View Post
Now I am more confused then ever. I looked it up, and it looks like I do not go through immigration until I get in Edinburgh. They are not part of the Schengen. Now if I were going to a country that was part of that, then I would. I was hoping someone on here had gone from US-Amsterdam-Scotland. I guess we will just have to wait and see. I will let you all know how it was when I get back. Thanks.
You are correct - you will not go through customs/immigration in Amsterdam, as long as you stay airside (i.e. don't follow the signs to baggage claim as if you were ending your flight in Amsterdam). Since you stay air side and are not flying to a Schengen country, you will not go through passport control (the gates for the Schengen flights are all in the same area and you'd go through passport control on your way to the gate for your second flight, if you were going to a Schengen country).

This video may help - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WaPIB...ature=youtu.be
crashbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 03:13 PM   #7
Bonnie151
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 983

I have done the US-Amsterdam-Edinburgh route many many times (the latest trip in April).

In Amsterdam you do not go through immigration per say, but the gate will set up mini immigration-like stations just before boarding where you have to show your passport and answer a few questions. It's not the general mass immigration so you don't need to worry about your flight connection. After you go through this, you are then stuck in what is effectively a holding pen - it has toilets but nothing else- until the flight boards (usually only 15-20 minutes or so).

You will then go through immigration in Edinburgh, but it's a very small airport so the queues don't tend to get that long.
__________________


Yes I can spell, but my iPad quite often thinks I'd rather type gibberish.
Bonnie151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 03:24 PM   #8
crashbb
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,479

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bonnie151 View Post
In Amsterdam you do not go through immigration per say, but the gate will set up mini immigration-like stations just before boarding where you have to show your passport and answer a few questions. It's not the general mass immigration so you don't need to worry about your flight connection. After you go through this, you are then stuck in what is effectively a holding pen - it has toilets but nothing else- until the flight boards (usually only 15-20 minutes or so).
That's security - not immigration. You'd do the same even if you had arrived at the airport in a taxi that morning.
crashbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 03:36 PM   #9
Bonnie151
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 983

Quote:
Originally Posted by crashbb View Post
That's security - not immigration. You'd do the same even if you had arrived at the airport in a taxi that morning.

OK, I'll be more specific to clarify that it is not like going through security in the US. You do go through a security step which is similar to the US prior to this (before you get to your gate, when you switch terminals, or more accurately, satellites/branches/tentacles), but there is an additional step AT the gate before the Edinburgh flight where you hand over your passport to an immigration official who may or may not look it up on their computer and who will ask you questions which include some combination along the lines of the purpose of your trip, country of residence, citizenship (if you are like me and hold two passports) etc. Everyone goes through the same queue - it's not divided by EU passport holders vs non-EU. I've been through this dozens of times over the past decade +. You'll have the same process on the way back.

ETA: Actually, last time, security wasn't at the tentacle change. Last time, my flight was down a set of steps which shared about half a dozen gates and security was at the start of this with mini-immigration at the actual gate before the holding pen.
__________________


Yes I can spell, but my iPad quite often thinks I'd rather type gibberish.

Last edited by Bonnie151; 09-25-2012 at 04:02 PM.
Bonnie151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 07:55 AM   #10
connie1042
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kasson, MN
Posts: 2,580

Okay, If feel a little better now. Thanks for the You-Tube Video. I am flying Delta for both flights. Does anyone know if the gates are far apart?
connie1042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 08:05 AM   #11
crashbb
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,479

Quote:
Originally Posted by connie1042 View Post
Okay, If feel a little better now. Thanks for the You-Tube Video. I am flying Delta for both flights. Does anyone know if the gates are far apart?
Are you sure it is Delta for the AMS-EDI flight and not a code-share on a KLM plane?
crashbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 08:15 AM   #12
kathie859
DIS Veteran
 
kathie859's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 3,475

Quote:
Originally Posted by connie1042 View Post
Okay, If feel a little better now. Thanks for the You-Tube Video. I am flying Delta for both flights. Does anyone know if the gates are far apart?
We just flew Delta in August and went thru AMS to EDI. The gates were not close but everything is well marked in English. You go thru 2 security checks between flights in AMS. It took about 40 minutes to make it to the gate to go to EDI. Our luggage was checked thru to EDI so we didn't have to claim it in AMS.

Good luck!! Just make sure you have plenty of time between flights.

AMS to EDI is a code share via KLM
__________________

Last edited by kathie859; 09-26-2012 at 08:16 AM. Reason: Addition for clarification
kathie859 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 08:42 AM   #13
connie1042
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kasson, MN
Posts: 2,580

I know that about KLM, but looking at my ticket, it says Delta, flight 9632. I just checked, and I do think it will be KLM, because it says "see delta.com
I have one hour 50 min. going over between flights. Coming back, I only have 50 min., so that one is going to be close. I am up front on that flight, so that will help. Thank you so much. I have never flown over seas. Been on a few crusies, but that was way back and totally different.
connie1042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 08:49 AM   #14
crashbb
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,479

Quote:
Originally Posted by connie1042 View Post
I know that about KLM, but looking at my ticket, it says Delta, flight 9632. I just checked, and I do think it will be KLM, because it says "see delta.com
I have one hour 50 min. going over between flights. Coming back, I only have 50 min., so that one is going to be close. I am up front on that flight, so that will help. Thank you so much. I have never flown over seas. Been on a few crusies, but that was way back and totally different.
Yup, it is a code share flight.

http://www.flightstats.com/go/Flight...?&id=275905947

Scroll to the box about "flight information" and it shows you how other airlines (in this case Delta) market the flight (you'll see that Delta calls it Delta 9632).
crashbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 09:52 AM   #15
connie1042
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kasson, MN
Posts: 2,580

It is a KLM flight. It say KLM Royal Dutch Airlines.thanks for the info.
connie1042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.