Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Just for Fun > Community Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts
 
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read





Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 10:31 PM   #1
tinkerbellandeeyor
DIS Veteran
 
tinkerbellandeeyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4,779

Dvr

moving and not happy anyway when we resume our dvr service in the new house will we have our shows on it still or no?
__________________
tinkerbellandeeyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 10:45 PM   #2
shinysparklybubbles
DIS Veteran
 
shinysparklybubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey and proud of it!
Posts: 3,416

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinkerbellandeeyor
moving and not happy anyway when we resume our dvr service in the new house will we have our shows on it still or no?
Will you be taking the box with you or are you switching providers?
__________________
Removing my expired ticker stinks!
shinysparklybubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000
Old 10-07-2012, 11:10 PM   #3
Albort
ODV Crew
The challenge is - who can find me?
 
Albort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fullerton
Posts: 7,167

your recordings are stored locally on your box. So if you move WITH the box, u will have them... if your returning and getting a new box, u will lose them all.

Source: every time i got a new box from uverse, my recordings are gone...
__________________
"Me failed inglish? thats unpossible!" - Ralph Wiggums
Albort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 11:08 AM   #4
tinkerbellandeeyor
DIS Veteran
 
tinkerbellandeeyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4,779

so if I move down the street with the box I will have them? Brighthouse will still be my provider just having repairs down on the house and have to relocate
__________________
tinkerbellandeeyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 11:18 AM   #5
disprincessatheart
I was a Disney Bride 4.29.08
 
disprincessatheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,128

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinkerbellandeeyor View Post
so if I move down the street with the box I will have them? Brighthouse will still be my provider just having repairs down on the house and have to relocate
Yes, just move the box yourself and your recordings plus your settings are good to go. When you call to have them disconnect the old place and connect the new, just tell them you are moving it.
__________________
disprincessatheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 11:25 AM   #6
tinkerbellandeeyor
DIS Veteran
 
tinkerbellandeeyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4,779

Quote:
Originally Posted by disprincessatheart View Post
Yes, just move the box yourself and your recordings plus your settings are good to go. When you call to have them disconnect the old place and connect the new, just tell them you are moving it.
Thank you I have some priceless stuff I did not want to loos
__________________
tinkerbellandeeyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 12:02 PM   #7
Hannathy
When I stop laughing I will answer you
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14,604

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinkerbellandeeyor View Post
Thank you I have some priceless stuff I did not want to loos
If you have priceless stuff you should record it off your DVR onto a DVD!!!!!

Do not count on that for long term storage. One hiccup in the system and it can erase everything. or if the box fails (like we just had one do) it will be gone. Please if it is important to you record it off onto something else.
Hannathy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:18 PM   #8
tinkerbellandeeyor
DIS Veteran
 
tinkerbellandeeyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4,779

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hannathy View Post
If you have priceless stuff you should record it off your DVR onto a DVD!!!!!

Do not count on that for long term storage. One hiccup in the system and it can erase everything. or if the box fails (like we just had one do) it will be gone. Please if it is important to you record it off onto something else.
Do you know how to do that?
__________________
tinkerbellandeeyor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 07:10 PM   #9
Hannathy
When I stop laughing I will answer you
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14,604

I'm Sorry I always have to have my DH or my son remind me how to do it or I would tell you!!

Maybe one of the tech savvy people on here can walk you thru it.
Hannathy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.