Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disneyland > Disneyland (California)
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-26-2012, 12:04 AM   #1
KalamityJane
DIS Veteran

So...what exactly happens when a Disney hotel sells out?

Do they actually sell out or are there always a few rooms kept behind just in case? I am guessing upgrades are not going to happen even if you wanted to pay? Never thought about a hotel selling out, so I am just curious what exactly happens.
KalamityJane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:24 AM   #2
mjmouseketeer
Earning My Ears

I work as a receptionist at a hotel in CA. I can say that we are rarely ever booked to the point where there are absolutely no rooms left. If we are getting down to the last 5 rooms or so, we hold about 3 of them just in case if something were to happen with an in-house guest or incoming reservation. At some time at night, around 6-8pm, we usually release the held rooms.
I'm not sure if this holds true with the Disney hotels...
mjmouseketeer is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Old 09-26-2012, 01:13 AM   #3
Disney Dreams
Proudly afflicted with TDMA!
Major pin collector in denial

Just like the house manager at a theatre usually has a couple of seats set aside "just in case" they need them for whatever reason, a hotel generally keeps a few rooms for them to be able to shuffle "just in case."

Pipes burst. Heating / AC systems have issues. And so on.

Now, as for upgrades in such a situation. That depends upon how the hotel likes their "emergency supply" of rooms. Of course your chances are lower than when a hotel is not sold out, but if you are willing to pay for it --- and the room is available --- I'd be surprised if a hotel would turn away additional funds.

Of course, every hotel's system varies,