Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > Disney Resorts
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 06-17-2013, 03:50 PM   #3571
Mayhem1976
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 302

AHHH. I was pretty much ready to book the Poly for November. I don't think that I would mind construction, but I'm worried about the pool being closed. with a 3 and 6 YO half of my reason for staying there is the volcano pool!
Mayhem1976 is offline  
Old 06-17-2013, 07:17 PM   #3572
flinkerfrosch
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 736

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mayhem1976 View Post
AHHH. I was pretty much ready to book the Poly for November. I don't think that I would mind construction, but I'm worried about the pool being closed. with a 3 and 6 YO half of my reason for staying there is the volcano pool!
I agree 100%! I am booked for the Poly in Oct, and was worried about the pool possibly being closed as well, so I emailed Steve (I think that's his name) from the tikiman site, and he said the pool won't have anything done to it till Jan.
flinkerfrosch is offline  
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000
Old 06-17-2013, 08:14 PM   #3573
samacita
Mouseketeer
 
samacita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 356

Confused about the mugs... Not sure if we even want any since we don't drink soda, but I thought they were free???
samacita is offline  
Old 06-17-2013, 08:19 PM   #3574
sjs314
"Laughter is timeless, imagination has no age, and dreams are forever" Walt Disney
 
sjs314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 10,024

Quote:
Originally Posted by samacita View Post
Confused about the mugs... Not sure if we even want any since we don't drink soda, but I thought they were free???
They are included with the DP otherwise they cost around $15 + Tax

You can get coffee, Hi-C not sure what else
__________________
'89 & '90- Travelodge-Hotel Plaza Blvd,'92 & '93- POFQ,'94-YC,'95 & '96-WL,'97-CSR,'06-AKL,'07-Disneyland Hotel,'09-OKW,F&G '12-BWI,MVMCP '12-BWI,F&W '13-AKL

Shawn 1/9/70-2/13/12
Jason 8/21/79-7/15/09
Sheila
sjs314 is offline  
Old 06-18-2013, 05:36 AM   #3575
Alexsandra
Proud mom of two redheads
 
Alexsandra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 540

Quote:
Originally Posted by DznyCrzy11 View Post

We've only stayed in Fiji, marina side, and the noise from the luau has never bothered us, but then again we were never in our room before 10 pm.
I have decided to stay in Fiji, thanks to you.
I am requesting 3 rd floor marina side, but will put Tokelau as my second option
Alexsandra is offline  
Old 06-18-2013, 06:18 AM   #3576
Jennygt
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,376

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mousemommy1 View Post
Oh boy, what a conundrum....

So, we are annual Disney goers and are planning next years trip for August. We will be staying 10 nights.

I have wanted to stay at the Poly since I was 7 years old, but recently have gone with other resorts because I did not like the Poly decor.

Well, now they have new decor that I love!!! So, I thought, great!!! 2014 is our year!!!!

But, now there is talk of the DVC construction starting at the end of this year. I know at this point it is just rumor, but I have genuine concern about this. We would plan to stay CL (so Hawaii building). Based on the projected DVC buildings according to Tikiman, I might not actually be able to see the construction, but I am nervous.

My 2nd choice would be GF Sugarloaf.

Would you still stay Poly??? Despite construction? I just don't know what to do....
I am in the same boat for the same time of year. I am going to wait and see if disney is going to announce officialy what will be happening. That will finalize our decision. I just hope that they come out with it in a timely manner. I am also investigation a back up resort in case what is going on will bother us too much. I think it is a personal choice for each family what is acceptable. It is just sooo expensive at the poly, to have it be full of construction, ehh, I might have to give it a break and go back when it's all done. as much as it pains me to say that.
__________________
me dh DD(3) ds (8)

Jennygt is offline  
Old 06-18-2013, 06:47 AM   #3577
garywitt
Earning My Ears
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17

quick notes from our trip

Hello everyone,

We just got back from an amazing trip to the Poly from June 4th through the 12th...I got so much help from these boards in preparing for our trip that I thought I would try to contribute back some thoughts from our stay...

--We used magical express but carried our own bags since we didn't land until 9:45 pm. Worked well although I missed the convenience of luggage delivery. We were the 3rd stop, unfortunately, stopping at POR and CR before Poly. landed 9:45, to resort about 11:30.

--Requested a balcony room in Tokelau, did online check in. All went great, check-in was super easy. They accidentally enabled charging privileges on my 11 year old KTTW card, that was quickly fixed!

--Room was great, recently remodeled with two sinks. Incredibly spacious room, comfortable beds. We had garden view and looked over the polynesian grounds, very quiet and peaceful. Water smells/tastes horrible!! Strong sulfur smell, like a hot springs..

--Saw some evidence of construction but no big deal for us. Saw a loader on the grounds once, guys in construction hard hats a few times but the most part no impact. No noise. Did seem like there was flood in the first floor of Tokelau one day while we were there and the rooms were all vacant with the doors propped open, ventilation fans and the carpet pulled up. Didn't impact us, but sorry for those were staying down there!

--Loved the Poly walkways and the torches. Only heard music a few times, seems to be only in the afternoon and early evenings, or else we just didn't walk in the right place.

--Biggest disappointment was the pool. We have stayed at AKL twice before, once at Jambo and once at Kidani, and the Poly volcano pool was so much smaller! Still fun, although the water slide was hardly open while we there. On three separate occasions we went to swim and it was closed for "mechanical reasons". Kids were bummed as this was what they were looking forward to the most about the resort. No underwater music either, not that I could hear.

--Loved Captain Cooks and the refillable mugs - took advantage at least twice per day. We did not do the dining plan, ate TS every day but one and by my math saved about $250 from the dining plan cost. We booked only 3 weeks in advance so did not get to eat at Ohana, we had a reservation at Kona but ended up cancellation because we did not feel like getting up early.

--Monorail was fantastic. Never stayed at a monorail resort before and this is a huge perk! Timed at 6 minutes from loading monorail to walking down the ramp at MK, can't beat that. Epcot monorail great as well. Had a delays for "traffic" and was down one morning - no big deal, there was huge line for the ferry to MK but the boat holds A LOT of people and we all got on the first boat. Monorail was so nice that buses to HS and AK were that much more slow-seeming.

--Tipped mousekeeping every day, only got towel animals twice out of eight nights. Oh well.

--We loved the RFID entry to parks and touch to pay system. Much faster and more streamlined. Would have loved to try the Magic Band but no luck.

--Fireworks from the beach is pretty awesome, I must say. Beautiful view, and we enjoyed the water pageant for the first time as well. I was a little bummed that while sitting in the loungers on the beach near the volcano pool you can't hear the music for wishes at all. It seemed like if you walk down the path along the beach (towards TTC) you can hear it better. One night the movie on the beach started before the fireworks, they paused it for Wishes but still couldn't hear any music...

--We enjoy our cocktails - quite expensive from the bar but got a small bottle from the market on the 2nd floor of the GCH and used that for pool cocktails, much cheaper!

--Staff was great. Friendly, helpful, always smiling. Only exception was lifeguards a bit grumpy but I think that's because we were constantly pestering them about when the slide was going to open.

--Parks were awesome, in my opinion. Clean and well maintained, absolutely no negative CM encounters. We did and tried several new things, including the great movie ride, american idol experience, laugh floor, stitch, peoplemover, pagani forest trail, lion king show, all were new for us despite our 3rd trip. Crowds were heavy but manageable - blows me away how many people fail to use fastpass. We saw every major attraction, most at least twice, longest wait all trip was 30 minutes for a last ride on space mountain our last night, at 11:30 pm. Crowds got noticeably heavier as of Monday the 10th. Can't say enough about rope drop - unbelievable how important that is.

--We rented a car from the Car Care center to go to Universal one day. Fun, liked Universal, probably wouldn't do it again. Cost was crazy for one day in the parks (we did splurge with the express pass because we did all of USF and IOA in one day). In the future, if I were to do it again, I would stay on site at Universal for 1 to 2 nights at the beginning of the trip and then transition to Disney. LOVED Forbidden Journey, though, groundbreaking ride.

--We did a more balanced schedule this trip...here is a sample
Tues: arrived late, check in at Poly
Wed: rope drop MK, break mid day, back to resort and pool, back to MK for dinner at Liberty Tree (great!), wishes, MSEP, back to resort for pool
Thurs: slept in, got to Epcot about 10A - dinner at Hacienda (great!), home shortly thereafter, watched wishes from beach
Fri: HS for Star Wars Weekends...great day, fairly packed but still did everything, did rope drop, saw opening show, to TS for fastpass, then rode RNR and TOT, got 2nd FP for RNR, saw parade, did not stay for hyperspace hoopla. Lunch at 50's cafe (great!). Wishes from beach again. (slide down)
Sat: Resort day, went to pool. Went to mini golf at Winter Summerland (just OK) and then tried to get to downtown disney. Bus driver told us bus goes from Blizzard Beach to DD and stop #1 said "Downtown Disney resort hotels". No bus ever came - we waited for over an hour - finally bailed and got on bus to Saratoga Springs and walked to DD. That kind of sucked. Then it was pouring rain so we decided to try Disney Quest - not our cup of tea. I thought the only good simulator was the pirates of the caribbean, the jungle cruise was boring, cyber space mountain made me want to puke. We bailed after an hour and I asked for a refund, they gave us a gift card. Bus to AKL - dinner at Boma which was amazing! (this is now a tradition for us every trip and can't be missed, best buffet in disney in my opinion). Back to pool at night - slide down again.
--Sun: Shuttle from hotel to car care center, rented car, drove to Universal. good day using express pass, just insanely expensive. Parks moderately crowded, 45 to 60 min for most headliners but we did every major attraction with no problem between the two parks, loved Harry Potter, ate dinner at Hard rock
--Mon: Slept in, 2nd day at Epcot. Tried pool in the late morning but was closed for lightning. Focused on riding TT and MS again, and WS, which was fun. Dinner at Biergarten (hated it...not my cup of tea either) and then watched illuminations, which was great. We got out from dinner at 8:50 and there were great standing viewing spots right in front of Germany, even better (I thought) than from Rose and Crown which is where we had watched it the 2 prior trips.
--Tues: AK rope drop. First family in the park, first train on EE! Great day, rode EE twice, Safari, Dinosaur, saw nemo and lion king. VERY HOT but by now were adjusted. Had plans for late dinner at Tusker House but cancelled since we were hot and tired. Left park mid afternoon, rested, swam again (slide down). Then we felt rested and went back to MK from 9p to midnight - this was awesome! Rode pirates, splash, space, BTM, country bears, philharmagic, under the sea, barnstormer, peoplemover, haunted mansion all in that time frame! Was still able to FP BTM and splash despite the late arrival, the rest were basically walk ons (except space)
--Wed: departure day. Up late, spent morning in the pool. Slide down at first (pool wasn't full enough!) then opened 15 minutes before we had to leave. showered, checked out, over to GF for lunch at the Wave (last minute decision, not very good, regretted it). Then back to the airpot on magical express - resort check in of bags was awesome.


That's it! Sorry if this was so long...once I started typing I was reminiscing and it was kind of fun!
garywitt is offline  
Old 06-18-2013, 07:58 AM   #3578
kaysmommie
DIS Veteran
 
kaysmommie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 6,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyMomma View Post
Just got back from our very first Poly stay. I'll try my best to post what I remember. Overall I ADORED the resort. The employees are wonderful and we can't wait to go back again. We stayed 9 days, 8 nights......one more than anticipated...see below.

We stayed in Tokelau on the third floor. Bonus.......it was a garden view room and we could see the Castle anyway!

I will post the bad first, since it's the shortest list. We faced Andrea and as a PP stated, flooded walkways, like you almost need a boat to cross flooded. LOL! Srsly, it was up to my lower calves and I had to really work to keep my sandals on my feet as I crossed.

Tokelau had plumbing issues and we were out of water for a short time one afternoon. We asked when it would be corrected, and were comped a night for the trouble. So we added a night stay. Woot! When my husband was at the counter there were several other families complaining about noise.

It was pretty noisy on the first level for the days following that as they worked to fix whatever was going on. Didn't affect us, but I'm sure it did the first floor.

The monorails, ugh!!! They went down so many times it was ridiculous!

Despite those issues, I am so pleased with the Poly. They were busy, busy, busy. And so many things were happening that was beyond their control. Guests were hot, wet from the storm and irritated by noise, and yet the staff was super nice and never grouchy. They're superstars.

Not a fan of Captain Cooks, but I'm a Princess and anything cafeteria like is not my cup of tea. Did love the hot chocolate, the chocolate croissants and of course, Dole whip! Yum! I have a sweet tooth.

Ohana, fantastic! Ate there for breakfast and dinner. Very pleased with both. Staff and offerings were amazing.

Kona, also had breakfast and dinner. Both were wonderful. Staff, super friendly and they don't rush you. Prob the only place in Disney I felt I could relax and take my time and eat.

The Mai Tai in a Pineapple, forgot the name...........had several of these, so so good. Tim at the poolside bar is super funny. (you can't get the Pineapple at poolside though, but you can still get the part that counts. Gotta go inside if you want the whole sha-bang.)

My youngest did the craft and hula dancing in the GCH and really enjoyed herself.

One of the things I noticed about the staff isn't just that they treat the guests well, but they treat each other well. They def had a warmth for one another. It made the Poly that much more cozy feeling.

In closing, there is nothing, and I mean NOTHING......that can beat watching Wishes from the beach with your little ones. It's heaven.

Aloha!
We just returned from our 4th stay at the Polynesian June 3-9 in Tokelau and had mostly the same experience as you. Plumbing issues twice, one day no running water at all until evening.And another day toilet pipe leaked all over our bathroom. We were also on the third floor but opposite end of the building. Tropcial storm Andrea did put a damper on two days of our trip as well. But we made the best of it. We thought of extending our stay but my husband had to get back to work.

Everything else was great! We had breakfast and dinner at 'Ohana and it was awesome as always. Kona dinner was excellent. We did eat at Captain Cook's a few times and thought the food was very good there as well for a quick service. Loved the aloha pork sandwich and dole whip for dessert. Pool bar was excellent, we had piña colavas a couple times there.

The resort pool was packed most days and it was hard to find even one chair. We did see a family get on at the TTC dressed in swimwear with a bag of pool toys and a cooler. I do have a pic. Lol! The lifeguards didn't seem to mind. Also there was a group taking up 3 tables from CBR that decided to spend an afternoon at the Poly pool. They were very clear about it. It's just annoying when you have no where to sit and couldn't really swim at the resort you paid for. We ended up going to the quiet pool.

Overall we had a good vacation and may stay at the Poly again.
__________________
Nichole
kaysmommie is offline  
Old 06-18-2013, 08:19 AM   #3579
Lita
Mouseketeer
 
Lita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 464

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaysmommie View Post

We just returned from our 4th stay at the Polynesian June 3-9 in Tokelau and had mostly the same experience as you. Plumbing issues twice, one day no running water at all until evening.And another day toilet pipe leaked all over our bathroom. We were also on the third floor but opposite end of the building. Tropcial storm Andrea did put a damper on two days of our trip as well. But we made the best of it. We thought of extending our stay but my husband had to get back to work.

Everything else was great! We had breakfast and dinner at 'Ohana and it was awesome as always. Kona dinner was excellent. We did eat at Captain Cook's a few times and thought the food was very good there as well for a quick service. Loved the aloha pork sandwich and dole whip for dessert. Pool bar was excellent, we had piña colavas a couple times there.

The resort pool was packed most days and it was hard to find even one chair. We did see a family get on at the TTC dressed in swimwear with a bag of pool toys and a cooler. I do have a pic. Lol! The lifeguards didn't seem to mind. Also there was a group taking up 3 tables from CBR that decided to spend an afternoon at the Poly pool. They were very clear about it. It's just annoying when you have no where to sit and couldn't really swim at the resort you paid for. We ended up going to the quiet pool.

Overall we had a good vacation and may stay at the Poly again.
I would've complained about the people from the other resorts, especially if they made it obvious. It is not fair to those of us that pay a premium to stay there. The rules are very clear concerning pool use.

Sent from my iPhone using DISBoards
__________________



DL - numerous times as I grew up in CA
WDW - CBR 97, Poly May 2013
DCL - Dream April 2014
DCL - Fantasy August Eastern Caribbean 2015

Me 40 DH 48, DD7, DD5
Lita is offline  
Old 06-18-2013, 08:26 AM   #3580
sjs314
"Laughter is timeless, imagination has no age, and dreams are forever" Walt Disney
 
sjs314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 10,024

Quote:
Originally Posted by garywitt View Post
Hello everyone,

We just got back from an amazing trip to the Poly from June 4th through the 12th...I got so much help from these boards in preparing for our trip that I thought I would try to contribute back some thoughts from our stay...

--We used magical express but carried our own bags since we didn't land until 9:45 pm. Worked well although I missed the convenience of luggage delivery. We were the 3rd stop, unfortunately, stopping at POR and CR before Poly. landed 9:45, to resort about 11:30.

--Requested a balcony room in Tokelau, did online check in. All went great, check-in was super easy. They accidentally enabled charging privileges on my 11 year old KTTW card, that was quickly fixed!

--Room was great, recently remodeled with two sinks. Incredibly spacious room, comfortable beds. We had garden view and looked over the polynesian grounds, very quiet and peaceful. Water smells/tastes horrible!! Strong sulfur smell, like a hot springs..

--Saw some evidence of construction but no big deal for us. Saw a loader on the grounds once, guys in construction hard hats a few times but the most part no impact. No noise. Did seem like there was flood in the first floor of Tokelau one day while we were there and the rooms were all vacant with the doors propped open, ventilation fans and the carpet pulled up. Didn't impact us, but sorry for those were staying down there!

--Loved the Poly walkways and the torches. Only heard music a few times, seems to be only in the afternoon and early evenings, or else we just didn't walk in the right place.

--Biggest disappointment was the pool. We have stayed at AKL twice before, once at Jambo and once at Kidani, and the Poly volcano pool was so much smaller! Still fun, although the water slide was hardly open while we there. On three separate occasions we went to swim and it was closed for "mechanical reasons". Kids were bummed as this was what they were looking forward to the most about the resort. No underwater music either, not that I could hear.

--Loved Captain Cooks and the refillable mugs - took advantage at least twice per day. We did not do the dining plan, ate TS every day but one and by my math saved about $250 from the dining plan cost. We booked only 3 weeks in advance so did not get to eat at Ohana, we had a reservation at Kona but ended up cancellation because we did not feel like getting up early.

--Monorail was fantastic. Never stayed at a monorail resort before and this is a huge perk! Timed at 6 minutes from loading monorail to walking down the ramp at MK, can't beat that. Epcot monorail great as well. Had a delays for "traffic" and was down one morning - no big deal, there was huge line for the ferry to MK but the boat holds A LOT of people and we all got on the first boat. Monorail was so nice that buses to HS and AK were that much more slow-seeming.

--Tipped mousekeeping every day, only got towel animals twice out of eight nights. Oh well.

--We loved the RFID entry to parks and touch to pay system. Much faster and more streamlined. Would have loved to try the Magic Band but no luck.

--Fireworks from the beach is pretty awesome, I must say. Beautiful view, and we enjoyed the water pageant for the first time as well. I was a little bummed that while sitting in the loungers on the beach near the volcano pool you can't hear the music for wishes at all. It seemed like if you walk down the path along the beach (towards TTC) you can hear it better. One night the movie on the beach started before the fireworks, they paused it for Wishes but still couldn't hear any music...

--We enjoy our cocktails - quite expensive from the bar but got a small bottle from the market on the 2nd floor of the GCH and used that for pool cocktails, much cheaper!

--Staff was great. Friendly, helpful, always smiling. Only exception was lifeguards a bit grumpy but I think that's because we were constantly pestering them about when the slide was going to open.

--Parks were awesome, in my opinion. Clean and well maintained, absolutely no negative CM encounters. We did and tried several new things, including the great movie ride, american idol experience, laugh floor, stitch, peoplemover, pagani forest trail, lion king show, all were new for us despite our 3rd trip. Crowds were heavy but manageable - blows me away how many people fail to use fastpass. We saw every major attraction, most at least twice, longest wait all trip was 30 minutes for a last ride on space mountain our last night, at 11:30 pm. Crowds got noticeably heavier as of Monday the 10th. Can't say enough about rope drop - unbelievable how important that is.

--We rented a car from the Car Care center to go to Universal one day. Fun, liked Universal, probably wouldn't do it again. Cost was crazy for one day in the parks (we did splurge with the express pass because we did all of USF and IOA in one day). In the future, if I were to do it again, I would stay on site at Universal for 1 to 2 nights at the beginning of the trip and then transition to Disney. LOVED Forbidden Journey, though, groundbreaking ride.

--We did a more balanced schedule this trip...here is a sample
Tues: arrived late, check in at Poly
Wed: rope drop MK, break mid day, back to resort and pool, back to MK for dinner at Liberty Tree (great!), wishes, MSEP, back to resort for pool
Thurs: slept in, got to Epcot about 10A - dinner at Hacienda (great!), home shortly thereafter, watched wishes from beach
Fri: HS for Star Wars Weekends...great day, fairly packed but still did everything, did rope drop, saw opening show, to TS for fastpass, then rode RNR and TOT, got 2nd FP for RNR, saw parade, did not stay for hyperspace hoopla. Lunch at 50's cafe (great!). Wishes from beach again. (slide down)
Sat: Resort day, went to pool. Went to mini golf at Winter Summerland (just OK) and then tried to get to downtown disney. Bus driver told us bus goes from Blizzard Beach to DD and stop #1 said "Downtown Disney resort hotels". No bus ever came - we waited for over an hour - finally bailed and got on bus to Saratoga Springs and walked to DD. That kind of sucked. Then it was pouring rain so we decided to try Disney Quest - not our cup of tea. I thought the only good simulator was the pirates of the caribbean, the jungle cruise was boring, cyber space mountain made me want to puke. We bailed after an hour and I asked for a refund, they gave us a gift card. Bus to AKL - dinner at Boma which was amazing! (this is now a tradition for us every trip and can't be missed, best buffet in disney in my opinion). Back to pool at night - slide down again.
--Sun: Shuttle from hotel to car care center, rented car, drove to Universal. good day using express pass, just insanely expensive. Parks moderately crowded, 45 to 60 min for most headliners but we did every major attraction with no problem between the two parks, loved Harry Potter, ate dinner at Hard rock
--Mon: Slept in, 2nd day at Epcot. Tried pool in the late morning but was closed for lightning. Focused on riding TT and MS again, and WS, which was fun. Dinner at Biergarten (hated it...not my cup of tea either) and then watched illuminations, which was great. We got out from dinner at 8:50 and there were great standing viewing spots right in front of Germany, even better (I thought) than from Rose and Crown which is where we had watched it the 2 prior trips.
--Tues: AK rope drop. First family in the park, first train on EE! Great day, rode EE twice, Safari, Dinosaur, saw nemo and lion king. VERY HOT but by now were adjusted. Had plans for late dinner at Tusker House but cancelled since we were hot and tired. Left park mid afternoon, rested, swam again (slide down). Then we felt rested and went back to MK from 9p to midnight - this was awesome! Rode pirates, splash, space, BTM, country bears, philharmagic, under the sea, barnstormer, peoplemover, haunted mansion all in that time frame! Was still able to FP BTM and splash despite the late arrival, the rest were basically walk ons (except space)
--Wed: departure day. Up late, spent morning in the pool. Slide down at first (pool wasn't full enough!) then opened 15 minutes before we had to leave. showered, checked out, over to GF for lunch at the Wave (last minute decision, not very good, regretted it). Then back to the airpot on magical express - resort check in of bags was awesome.


That's it! Sorry if this was so long...once I started typing I was reminiscing and it was kind of fun!
garywitt thanks for shareing your trip with us, loved reading it. So sorry about the pool slide not being open, I know that had to be a BIG disappointment

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaysmommie View Post
We just returned from our 4th stay at the Polynesian June 3-9 in Tokelau and had mostly the same experience as you. Plumbing issues twice, one day no running water at all until evening.And another day toilet pipe leaked all over our bathroom. We were also on the third floor but opposite end of the building. Tropcial storm Andrea did put a damper on two days of our trip as well. But we made the best of it. We thought of extending our stay but my husband had to get back to work.

Everything else was great! We had breakfast and dinner at 'Ohana and it was awesome as always. Kona dinner was excellent. We did eat at Captain Cook's a few times and thought the food was very good there as well for a quick service. Loved the aloha pork sandwich and dole whip for dessert. Pool bar was excellent, we had piña colavas a couple times there.

The resort pool was packed most days and it was hard to find even one chair. We did see a family get on at the TTC dressed in swimwear with a bag of pool toys and a cooler. I do have a pic. Lol! The lifeguards didn't seem to mind. Also there was a group taking up 3 tables from CBR that decided to spend an afternoon at the Poly pool. They were very clear about it. It's just annoying when you have no where to sit and couldn't really swim at the resort you paid for. We ended up going to the quiet pool.

Overall we had a good vacation and may stay at the Poly again.
kaysmommie thanks for posting the review. The pool situation seems to be the biggest complaint I read about. Maybe during the next refurb they will put in fenceing or some method to monitor that only Poly guests can gain entrance.

I would have expressed my concerns to management and a follow up letter to guest services after all your paying top dollar to stay at the Poly and enjoy the pool.
__________________
'89 & '90- Travelodge-Hotel Plaza Blvd,'92 & '93- POFQ,'94-YC,'95 & '96-WL,'97-CSR,'06-AKL,'07-Disneyland Hotel,'09-OKW,F&G '12-BWI,MVMCP '12-BWI,F&W '13-AKL

Shawn 1/9/70-2/13/12
Jason 8/21/79-7/15/09
Sheila
sjs314 is offline  
Old 06-18-2013, 08:44 AM   #3581
mickeynut1
DIS Veteran
 
mickeynut1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,545

Quote:
Originally Posted by garywitt View Post
Hello everyone,

We just got back from an amazing trip to the Poly from June 4th through the 12th...I got so much help from these boards in preparing for our trip that I thought I would try to contribute back some thoughts from our stay...
Thanks for your review.....glad you had a nice stay . The Poly is our favorite resort and we can't wait to get back in December .

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaysmommie View Post
The resort pool was packed most days and it was hard to find even one chair. We did see a family get on at the TTC dressed in swimwear with a bag of pool toys and a cooler. I do have a pic. Lol! The lifeguards didn't seem to mind. Also there was a group taking up 3 tables from CBR that decided to spend an afternoon at the Poly pool. They were very clear about it. It's just annoying when you have no where to sit and couldn't really swim at the resort you paid for. We ended up going to the quiet pool.

Overall we had a good vacation and may stay at the Poly again.
Glad you had a great stay. I agree with the pp that I, too, would have said something about the non-Poly guests at the pool. It's not fair to those paying those rates to have to share the pool with guests from other resorts .
__________________


Country Inn & Suites LBV June 2001 - CBR July 2002 - BC December 2003 - WL CL Oct/Nov 2004 - WL September 2006 - All Star Vacation Homes March 2007 -Poly September 2007 - All Star Vacation Homes March 2008 - AKL/GF SL/WL January 2010 - AKL/GF December 2010 - GF RPC May 2011
mickeynut1 is offline  
Old 06-18-2013, 08:44 AM   #3582
monorailsilver
DIS Veteran
 
monorailsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Shoreline CT
Posts: 3,251

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyMomma View Post
Good gravy. Can nothing remain somewhat sanitary??? UGH!!!! I wish they'd do away with the mugs. Also, the bar is the ONE place in Disney for the adults, suppose the kids will be sitting at the bar now, grubby, filthy mugs in hand.

When we were there last week some deviant children were stealing Dole Whip from the machine with their mugs. Boy and a girl in their mid/early teens.

I'm def going to complain, and loudly, about this one.
Well at least if the kids are at the pool bar they will be chlorinated!!!

And the kids stealing a Dole Whip, shame on those parents that allowed that. Dumb question, are you sure they didn't pay for it & were trying to be 'green' & not use another cup for them.

Sorry the kids ruined your trip a bit but remember you were a kid/teen once as well & they don't always follow the rules. I know I didn't & I am a rule follower now & get annoyed when others don't.
__________________
June 1975 Golf Resort & Polynesian August 1977 DL off site April 1990 WDW off site May 1981 Polynesian July-August 1985 Polynesian July-August 1987 Polynesian/Floridian July-August 1990 Beach Club May 1994 All Star Sports/Polynesian June 1995 Wilderness Lodge/Dixie Landings February 1997 off site/Wilderness Lodge March-April 1999 Engagement Trip February 2000 Polynesian August 2002 Polynesian July 2005 Polynesian August 2008 Polynesian August 2013 Polynesian and I think there were a few more trips here & there but I have lost track.
monorailsilver is offline  
Old 06-18-2013, 09:17 AM   #3583
DznyCrzy11
"When you wish upon a star, makes no difference who you are".
 
DznyCrzy11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 894 miles from the magic!
Posts: 1,630

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexsandra

I have decided to stay in Fiji, thanks to you.
I am requesting 3 rd floor marina side, but will put Tokelau as my second option
You will love it!! The first time we stayed at Poly we didn't put in a request and stayed on the 2nd floor marina side. The 2nd time we requested Fiji marina side we were on the 1st floor, this last time we got 3rd floor which we liked much better!! One afternoon when it was rainy we sat out on the balcony enjoying the view while listening to the resort music, it was very relaxing!! Oh, and once the refurbishment is done on Fiji, from my understanding, some of the rooms on the 3rd floor will have king beds, hopefully they are also on marina view side.
Tokelau seems to be a good one too. I have thought of staying there as well as Samoa but always go back to Fiji.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lita

I would've complained about the people from the other resorts, especially if they made it obvious. It is not fair to those of us that pay a premium to stay there. The rules are very clear concerning pool use.

Sent from my iPhone using DISBoards
Same here!!!! That is not fair to the resort guests who paid to stay at a particular resort. They even say that "pool hopping" is not allowed. I hope future plans include a gated area to where you have to use your room key to access the area.
__________________
Visited WDW once a year(sometimes twice a year)between 1987 and 2000, stayed at FW Campground most of those times, FW Cabins one time, ASMu one time,and an offsite hotel a few other times.Since 2003 my DH and I have taken 8 trips to WDW and 1 DCL together.We stayed at an offsite hotel in 2003 and 2005, ASMo in 2008,CBR in 2009,Poly in 2010,2011,2012,2013. Bahamian Disney Cruise 2013. YC stay and Western Caribbean Cruise for 2014.

DznyCrzy11 is offline  
Old 06-18-2013, 02:16 PM   #3584
robinbutterfly
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 1,687

Quote:
Originally Posted by flinkerfrosch View Post

I agree 100%! I am booked for the Poly in Oct, and was worried about the pool possibly being closed as well, so I emailed Steve (I think that's his name) from the tikiman site, and he said the pool won't have anything done to it till Jan.
Oh good!! We are planning on doing a whole day at the pool in November!
__________________
*May 2015- TBD * November 2013- Dolphin and POFQ *October 2012- WDW Swan * January 2012- WDW Boardwalk Villas and Animal Kingdom Lodge Villas. *January 2010-WDW Bay Lake Tower *January 2009-WDW Wilderness Lodge * June 2003- Disneyland Paris on our Honeymoon. WDW SEVERAL times as a kid. *1979- Disneyland in California
My husband Me My son : My daughter
robinbutterfly is offline  
Old 06-18-2013, 02:45 PM   #3585
kaysmommie
DIS Veteran
 
kaysmommie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 6,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lita View Post
I would've complained about the people from the other resorts, especially if they made it obvious. It is not fair to those of us that pay a premium to stay there. The rules are very clear concerning pool use.

Sent from my iPhone using DISBoards
Actually I did. The lifeguards knew about the party of 14 from CBR already. They said "It's summer in Florida, oh well." I agree with you on it not being fair to Poly guests. Swim where you pay to stay. I did the online survey and also mentioned it to guest services.
__________________
Nichole
kaysmommie is offline  
Closed Thread



Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

You Rated this Thread: