Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > The DIS Unplugged Podcast
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-22-2012, 09:04 PM   #1
drakethib

DIS Veteran

Need Ideas from DiSr's especially those with Military ties.

All.

Long story short I will be putting together a Veterans Day Luncheon at my workplace.

Each year we give each Veteran a "gift" Plaque, Desk Emblem, etc basically saying thank you for your service from our company as well as the date of the event (11-11-20XX).

Well, I am trying to come up with some kind of meaningful gift this year and I am drawing a blank.

While I am a Veteran myself, I could sue input from my Brother and Sisters in Arms.

I don't have a budget but I cant go crazy with money either. Approx 180 people will be in attendance.

Please offer any ideas that you may think would be suitable.

Thanks !
Old 08-23-2012, 07:19 AM   #2
OKW Lover

Yes, we love Old Key West
Connoisseur of the fine things in life, and has the time to enjoy them (Just ask his wife)

Drake, Wonderful that your company does that. So many companies don't even think about the veterans they employ.

I'm guessing that what works for one generation of veterans could be another's useless trinket. Yes, I guess that's a bit harsh. Some of us come from an era when we practically never talked about our service and perhaps are still a bit hesitant to bring it up. Expect those folks to politely say thank you very much and then stick it in their desk draw. Others will be very proud of their service and proudly display the honor at their desk. Yeah, no help at all.