Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disneyland > California & the West
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts
 
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-22-2011, 04:08 PM   #1
BigDisneyOE
DIS Veteran
 
BigDisneyOE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North Island, New Zealand
Posts: 577

Car seat laws in California?

Hi, I'm hoping someone can help me with what is the car seat law in California. We are hoping to do some touring after Disneyland and a Wonder cruise, so we will need carseats for our two nearly five year old kids. Does anyone know what specific carseat is required for this age group? I'm considering taking our ones from NZ as our carrier takes them for free but I want to make sure they are up to California safety requirements. Thanks everyone.
__________________
Me DH Master nearly 5 : Master nearly 5


BigDisneyOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 01:00 PM   #2
Shananana
Mouseketeer
 
Shananana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Home of the Bolts
Posts: 239

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDisneyOE View Post
Hi, I'm hoping someone can help me with what is the car seat law in California. We are hoping to do some touring after Disneyland and a Wonder cruise, so we will need carseats for our two nearly five year old kids. Does anyone know what specific carseat is required for this age group? I'm considering taking our ones from NZ as our carrier takes them for free but I want to make sure they are up to California safety requirements. Thanks everyone.
Car sits out here are based on age. You need a car seat up to 6 years old. My daughter just turned six and is still in a booster seat. I think boosters are fine for 5 year olds as long as they fit in the manufacturer's guidelines.
HTH!
__________________
Mommy Daddy DD (7) Josephine DD (3) Violet
Shananana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 08:01 PM   #3
wnissen
Mouseketeer
 
wnissen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 439

The California law says boosters are OK over 40 pounds /18.2 kg, kids must be 6 years or 60 pounds / 27.2 kg.

Unfortunately, the seat must meet U.S. federal standards to be legal. Typically the manufacturers deliberately only label for one country at a time. In my opinion, it's stupid, but that is the law. Realistically, my guess is you would be fine from a legal perspective, but who knows? The rates for rental car seats are outrageous, so you would probably be better off just running to Wal-Mart and buying new ones for US$25. Stupid, but that's probably what I'd do, especially if I was looking at $100 per seat for a two week rental.
__________________
The 25 September 2004 Western -- missed it by that much!
wnissen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.