Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > Budget Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-26-2011, 12:53 AM   #1
walkdmc

DIS Veteran

Cheap guinea pig bedding ideas?

I currently spend about $60/month on bedding for my GPs. I have been using Care Fresh Ultra for 2 years and it's so expensive. Their enclosure is 2ft x 4ft so bedding is pricey. I don't want pine shavings or hay. Anyone use anything they recommend?

TIA!
walkdmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 01:35 AM   #2
sameyeyam
Cancer didn't take my life, it made me live it!

Go to a local co-op, feed store or farm & garden shop. I used to have a guinea pig and was able to buy a 1 cubic yard bag of wood shavings for about $15. It lasted months and months and months. They were large shavings, not the tiny/messy shavings that you buy in the stores. Actually they are the big ones that are generally used for horse stalls and they smelled nice. But even if you don't like the wood shavings, they might have other types of bedding in large amounts for cheaper prices.

If you live in the city, try to find one in the outskirts of the suburbs. Areas where you see people that have a few acres and horses will generally have feed stores.

You can usually buy bulk feed for them also at a price much cheaper then in the stores.
Register to remove

Old 01-26-2011, 01:55 AM   #3
digitalsiren
Mouseketeer