Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > The College Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-11-2011, 07:43 PM   #1
idkjade
DCP Hopeful

Red face Eyes and Ears Magazine?

I'm majoring in English, and I really want to get into editing or copy editing for books, magazines, newspapers, etc.

Just recently I've joined my Literary & Visual Arts Magazine, where I'd be a Staff Editor (and possibly a copy editor).

For the past year-ish I've been going back and forth about what I want to do (career wise). Because I love, love, love Disney but I also love my major and I love the jobs I could go into with it. I wanted to be able to do the DCP, but I always figured if I'm going down there as an English Major...what's the point of doing it?

But anyway, recently a thought occurred to me, and I need some help with this. I know the Cast Members (and local Orlando folk?) get an Eyes and Ears Magazine. If I could be able to work on that...that would be pretty amazing. If I could be and editor or copyeditor of some sort. That way I'd be combining my love of Disney with my love of English.

Only problem is, I really don't know how Eyes and Ears works. So...here are my questions!

1) Do you HAVE to be a Cast Member to work on the magazine?
2) Do the people who put it together get paid, or is it a "just for fun" thing?
3) How available are jobs with Eyes and Ears? (I understand I'd probably have to work my way up in a environment like that)

Thanks so much!
Have a magical day!
Old 01-11-2011, 08:56 PM   #2
glendalais
DIS Veteran

Eyes and Ears is the internal newsletters for Walt Disney World Resort Cast Members.