Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > Disney for Adults and Solo Travelers
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-07-2010, 12:58 AM   #1
mdoll4
Mouseketeer

Any other pressed penny collectors out there?

I've been collecting pressed coins for several years now, but I have to say, I love my Disney collection the most. Partly because I love Disney, and partly because there's a machine around every corner in the parks! Every time I go, I bring a handful of quarters and pre-1982 pennies.

Anyone else share the joy of cranking these wonderful 51 cent souvenirs?

Around here, however, we don’t look backwards for very long.
We keep moving forward, opening new doors, and doing new things, because we're curious…
and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.
-Walt Disney
mdoll4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 09:55 AM   #2
PirateMel
DIS Veteran

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdoll4 View Post
I've been collecting pressed coins for several years now, but I have to say, I love my Disney collection the most. Partly because I love Disney, and partly because there's a machine around every corner in the parks! Every time I go, I bring a handful of quarters and pre-1982 pennies.

Anyone else share the joy of cranking these wonderful 51 cent souvenirs?
OMG yes - so much fun!
I have about a dozen Disney books filled, but I usually get the new shinney pennies
The DIS
Register to remove

Old 09-07-2010, 02:54 PM   #3
mdoll4
Mouseketeer

I used to use the shiniest pennies I could find, and I remember trying desperately to clean off that silver-y stuff that was on them, not knowing for the longest time that it was actually in the composition of the penny!

(Post-1982 zinc based penny vs. Pre-1982 full copper penny - Quite a difference)