Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disneyland > Disneyland (California)
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-22-2010, 02:20 PM   #1
HydroGuy
The code is more what you'd call guidelines than actual rules
Inquiring fairy minds want to know: Does Hydroguy like World of Color?

From DLR to WDW and Back Again: My Challenge With WDW Dining Philosophy at DLR

Some Background

I am a DLR vet who has been influenced towards the WDW dining philosophy. I want to describe what this means for me on our upcoming visit to DLR...with the hope that it can help others - especially WDW vets - have a better, less frustrating visit to DLR.

It will come as no secret to most of you that DLR vets and WDW vets often have a different philosophy on dining at the resorts. This can be seen in many ways including the near paranoia WDW vets have when creating ADRs (Advanced Dining Reservations) six months before their trips.

DLR does not use the term ADR. They simply call them "reservations". And DLR only takes them two months in advance. Even then, it is usually pretty easy to get a dining reservation at DLR a few weeks or even days before your visit.

In a nutshell and by way of generalization, WDW vets tend to make dining an integral part of their trip. In order to make ADRs six months out, they need to know which parks they will be at on those days. WDW provides park hours, entertainment and Extra Magic Hours (similar to MM at DL) six months in advance to support this.

I think WDW vets do this for a few reasons including:

o most WDW visitors are on vacation and need somewhere to eat

o WDW has lots of cool themed restaurants both inside the parks and at the various hotels

o WDW is larger and visits there tend to be longer - so WDW visitors tend to slow down a little more