Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > The DIS Unplugged Podcast
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts
 
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read





Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-05-2010, 12:33 PM   #1
MM32830
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Commute between Central Florida and Maine
Posts: 564

You CAN run e-ticket on an iPod or iPad (and Android users) in the parks IF...

... you have an Android phone! This will also allow Android phone users the ability to run e-ticket.

Weird, but keep reading.

Recently, Android phone users have been getting pushed a new version of the Android operation system; Version 2.2, called FroYo. I just got mine this weekend and it has one feature that can make lots of people happy.

3G HotSpot.

What this does is to allow your Android phone to become a 3G hotspot. Turn it on and your wifi capable iPod Touch or iPad now has access to the internet through your Android phone. I've tried this and it works well. I suggest you use security (the hotspot supports WEP, WPA and WPA2) to make sure others in the parks don't hop on to your wifi signal.

Many of us Android users also have an iPod Touch so now you can have your cake (or pie!) and eat it, too!

This works on my HTC Incredible phone. I have not tested it with any other brand of phone but it should work as long as your phone has FroYo.






__________________
Armand
MM32830 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 01:02 PM   #2
starwood
This mouse GOT her next cruise
I won't even tell my DH what I'm doing. He already thinks I'm nuts
 
starwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 6,341

Where is this on the phone. I've looked and all I see is tethering
starwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 01:07 PM   #3
AJRitz
DIS DAD #420
Galactic President Superstar McAwesomeville
 
AJRitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 2,987

Quote:
Originally Posted by starwood View Post
Where is this on the phone. I've looked and all I see is tethering
It's not being made available on all phones. Verizon is only including it in the Froyo rolled out for newer phones. Older phones don't get it - basically, Verizon's ploy to get people to upgrade their phones. I believe that you can still get this feature if you root your phone and re-install a full image of Froyo yourself. But the standard rollout of Froyo onto an older phone will not have hotspot ability.
__________________
Aaron (45), Wife DW, The Bug DD (11), Bubba J DS (7)
Come visit the DISDads clubhouse! | DISDad #420 - Visit our new forum!


AJRitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 01:08 PM   #4
MM32830
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Commute between Central Florida and Maine
Posts: 564

Quote:
Originally Posted by starwood View Post
Where is this on the phone. I've looked and all I see is tethering
What kind of phone do you have (Brand/Model)?

Mine is in SETTINGS - WIRELESS & NETWORKS - 3G MOBILE HOTSPOT

Do you have FroYo (Android O/S Version 2.2)? You can check this by going to SETTINGS - ABOUT PHONE - SOFTWARE INFORMATION - ANDROID VERSION. This NEEDS to be 2.2




_________________
Armand
MM32830 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 01:17 PM   #5
starwood
This mouse GOT her next cruise
I won't even tell my DH what I'm doing. He already thinks I'm nuts
 
starwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 6,341

Well that stinks. I have the regular droid and just got it last month. I have android 2.2.
starwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 01:25 PM   #6
MM32830
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Commute between Central Florida and Maine
Posts: 564

Quote:
Originally Posted by starwood View Post
Well that stinks. I have the regular droid and just got it last month. I have android 2.2.
If it's been less than 30 days, go exchange is for an HTC Incredible (or Droid2/Droid X).



________________________
Armand
MM32830 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 05:22 PM   #7
wdwfreeksince88
Only An Hour From The House Of Mouse
 
wdwfreeksince88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 748

Droid X has it without the new update. We haven't gotten the update for the droid x yet.
__________________
wdwfreeksince88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 08:20 PM   #8
rcraw45425
I'm a 43 year old mom with a scar on my navel!
 
rcraw45425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Columbus, GA, South of Atlanta
Posts: 11,100

Sprint HTC EVO has it, I just activated it and hooked up my laptop to try it out. Worked great. I then used my iPod touch and was able to access Netflix and watch movies!
__________________
Robin
offsite '71,'86,'95,'04,Swan'98,CR'98,GF'99,CR'01,CR'03,WL '04,Polynesian'04,YC'05,GF'05,POFQ'05,CR'05,YC'06, PBH'06,CR'07,AS Sports,YC CL1/08,GF11/08, HRH 07/09, WL CL 11/09, PBH 1/10, CR Tower Club 1 bedroom suite 5/10,Royal Pacific Resort Club 12/10, BWI,Disney Dream 4/11,CSR/Grand Floridian 12/11,CR tower 10/12, AKL 1/13, Polynesian 6/13,Polynesian 10/13, PBH CL 11/13, BC 3/14 (2 BR suite), Hard Rock Hotel for Diagon Alley Opening Day (7/14)
rcraw45425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 08:42 PM   #9
sayhello
Have Camera, Will Travel
 
sayhello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,308
DISboards Moderator

Wow! How do they charge for something like that?

Sayhello
__________________
Check out my Southwest Splendors Trip Report! (2008). 5 parts, full of pics & details & impressions!
My Taming the Last Frontier ABD Alaska Trip Report! (2009)! 7 parts, pictures, stories, & more impressions!
Also check out my ABD/DCL Mediterranean Magic Trip Report! (2010)
NOW POSTING! My DIS Unplugged London/Paris/Disneyland Paris Trip Report! (2011)
Now posting my Greek Odyssey Trip Report (2013)
sayhello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 09:34 AM   #10
VeroBeach
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 367

With Verizon at least, this is an extra $20/month charge to be able to run the 3G-Mobile hotspot.

I use it a lot, its well worth it for me.

NOTE: It drains batteries FAST - it's recommended to only use it while plugged into AC.
VeroBeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 09:48 AM   #11
k5jmh

DIS Tech Talk Guru
Ask me about Alpaca poop!
I want to pour that Sauce all over my body
 
k5jmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 5,324

Here is what I do...

__________________

k5jmh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 09:53 AM   #12
rcraw45425
I'm a 43 year old mom with a scar on my navel!
 
rcraw45425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Columbus, GA, South of Atlanta
Posts: 11,100

Sprints hot spot is 4G where available and is $29.99 a month, no contract.
__________________
Robin
offsite '71,'86,'95,'04,Swan'98,CR'98,GF'99,CR'01,CR'03,WL '04,Polynesian'04,YC'05,GF'05,POFQ'05,CR'05,YC'06, PBH'06,CR'07,AS Sports,YC CL1/08,GF11/08, HRH 07/09, WL CL 11/09, PBH 1/10, CR Tower Club 1 bedroom suite 5/10,Royal Pacific Resort Club 12/10, BWI,Disney Dream 4/11,CSR/Grand Floridian 12/11,CR tower 10/12, AKL 1/13, Polynesian 6/13,Polynesian 10/13, PBH CL 11/13, BC 3/14 (2 BR suite), Hard Rock Hotel for Diagon Alley Opening Day (7/14)
rcraw45425 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

You Rated this Thread: