Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > Budget Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-25-2009, 10:07 AM   #1
dfchelbay
DIS Veteran

Potential Budget Buster - Speeding Ticket

DH just called to tell me he got a speeding ticket last night while out of town for work. It was written up for 70 in a 55. Since this took place out of state, in Tennessee, I doubt we will go to court to fight the ticket.

Anyone know/estimate how this will effect our auto insurance. We've had completely clean records til this. We are experienced drivers (25+ years). So, I have no experience with how auto insurance companies will financially stick it to you for a ticket. Is it 5%, 10%, etc. or double...I have absolutely no idea, and I am not about to tip off my insurance company by asking them.

I checked some info on the internet and everything I found said it's probably a three point ticket. Anything 6-15 mph over is three points...seems a bit excessive to me. If you get a ticket for going 6 over, it's three points...geez.

Can you, my budget board buddies, please tell me your experiences with this type of situation. What did you do, how did you handle it, did you go to court to fight it and most importantly how did a speeding ticket affect your auto insurance premium.

Thanks everyone.
dfchelbay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 10:31 AM   #2
Justsyd2
I snorted Coca-Cola out of my nose when he said that! Speaks French when no one else is around. "Why am I covered in feathers?"

DH got one of these not too long ago. Of course we didn't fight it because he WAS speeding. I'm not sure why you want to fight it -- if your DH was speeding then he owes the ticket -- but my DH paid the ticket, and our insurance did not go up.

(Me) (DH)