Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > Disney Resorts
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 01-06-2009, 03:04 PM   #106
clemsondisneyfan
We are a family of 4 and we love to visit the Mouse!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 237

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lilolvr View Post
Hi Caroline. He posted this on page #1.

Well shoot. I really wanted club level since that is how we always stay at hotels everywhere else. Once you get spoiled to that, it is hard to go back! I love the resort, I would just prefer the 2nd freshening up of the rooms and having a private lounge with cold drinks and snacks is always nice - no matter where you stay!

Thanks for forwarding me the info. Somehow I missed it. He does a fantastic job with that site!!

Caroline
clemsondisneyfan is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 03:24 PM   #107
Dazer22
Mouseketeer
 
Dazer22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 346

tlrotzoll, I know you had a great room in *B. Did you pay for a waterview room?
Just trying to jusify my waterview room or swtich to standard. I really want a view of the lake. Thanks
Dazer22 is offline  
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000
Old 01-07-2009, 09:20 PM   #108
SueM in MN
It's like combining the teacups with a roller coaster

 
SueM in MN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Twin Cities area,Minnesota,USA
Posts: 30,923
DISboards Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by katieandemismom View Post
My youngest dd has mild hypotonic cp which basically means she ends up exhausted mid-day. The last few trips we've used her stroller as a wheelchair and get special accomodation for it while in the parks. I'm hoping to be able to do so again this year as long as she doesn't get too big by then.
You may want to look into getting her a wheelchair for long walks like this. Your insurance would probably cover most of the cost of it, as long as it is prescribed by a doctor.

If you don't have a wheelchair and she has outgrown her stroller by your next trip, there are places where you can rent a special needs stroller (basically a larger sized stroller for kids who are too big for a regular sized one). Follow the link in my signature to the disABILITIES FAQs thread, and you will find information on renting special needs strollers in post #2 of that thread.
__________________
SueM in MN
Moderator of disABILITIES
Link to disABILITIES FAQs thread

Spaceship Earth: We are all passengers together.
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans......John Lennon
Be a rainbow in someone else's cloud. Dr. Maya Angelou
trip report link in Memory of eternaldisneyfan, who lived these words: Some people are always grumbling because roses have thorns. I am thankful that thorns have roses. Alphonse Karr
SueM in MN is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 09:41 PM   #109
Jazzygirl72
Mouseketeer
 
Jazzygirl72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 190

Quick post-trip review

I haven't had a chance to get on here since I got back. We had a wonderful time last week and I'll probably do a post-trip report in that part of the forum because I have a lot to share, especially with the crowd levels being so high.
As for the Coronado, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were put in Casitas 2, room 2440. I have some postives and cons about our stay.
First off, it was beautiful. I felt like I'd been there before because of all the great pics people have posted. I actually didn't really take any of the resort because I can use the great ones on here for a scrapbook.
One thing that kept resonating in my head was a comment someone said before I left about other peoples' pictures. She said that the pics were almost better than the actual thing. I have to say, I agree. I didn't see the Coronado in those pictures. Most of the reason for that is the side of the resort I was on and also the times of day. I didn't see the gorgeous night sights that so many post pics of. I'm not saying this as a negative, just an interesting observation. I am not sure if we had a rehabbed room but I think maybe we did because it looked just like some pics someone had posted of one. We had the dark wood and the sliding doors to the vanity area. The room was nice and clean and mousekeeping was good...nothing over the top and no towel animals (bummer)...but very good. We had a king bed and it was very comfy. We were closest to bus stop 2 which was great since it's the first stop.
Here are some things that were a bummer to me about the resort. I didn't think the size would matter to me. I know it's the thing you either love or hate about it. Well, we were on the complete opposite side of the lake from the main pool and hot tub. We were so exhausted at the end of each day that we couldn't fathom WALKING any more to get over there. I know they have those golf cart things to bring you around but I didn't see them that often and they don't seem to have a consistent schedule. After standing and walking all day, the last thing we wanted was more of it. So I was really bummed out because I REALLY wanted to use the hot tub to help our sore muscles. I never made it over to that side of the resort at all.
My biggest vice was it was very difficult to navigate up to our room. It took a couple of days to figure out the best way up there. First off, Casitas 2 is tucked behind and between Casitas 1 and 3. Our room was on the fourth floor and directly across the connector to Casitas 3. We had that lion fountain directly below us. The problem is that not every stairwell goes up to the fourth floor. So to actually get to our room, we had to go through Casitas 3 (when coming from El Centro). So after getting lost a few times, we figured out we couldn't follow the Casitas 2 signs/arrows. Coming from the bus stop, there was a stairwell at the end of our building near the quiet pool that went up to our floor. So that was fine. I don't lose my bearings easily and it was a bit aggitating to not get up to my room in a direct way.
THings I loved about it: Pepper Market!! OMG this place is amazing. I couldn't and still cannot believe it was only a counter service credit. We ate there twice and both times my boyfriend got fish...first time salmon, second time tuna steaks. Both dishes were about $20 alone. Our lunches easily billed around $50 if we didn't have the dining plan. I wouldn't be surprised if they dropped this place from the dining plan as a counter service. It's a steal! If we didn't have the dining plan, I would think it a bit pricey, however they portions are large and quality is good. Loved it.
Cafe Rix is great for breakfast. Good selection of baked goods and breakfast sandwiches.
We enjoyed the Laguna Bar. It was a nice place to unwind at night and on our day off.
THe size of the resort definitely made it feel like there weren't a lot of people there, even though I know it was booked. So that was nice. We saw lots of conventioneers there but we didnt' care. We actually met some interesting people at the bar from the UK. They were there for the National Country and International Dance Competition. LOL
Buses were great. The longest ride was to MK and it was less than 9 minutes. I loved the ease of transportation and would definitely do it up again with the resort package, etc.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. If we stay there again, I'll definitely request a room on the hot tub side. Live and learn!
__________________

Me DH Jasper 1980 - family's house; 1985 - family's house; April 1988 - HiS band trip off-site; 1990 - 1993 family's house summers; Summer 1994/Jan & Summer 1995 - Cast member off-site; Feb. 2001 - off-site Kissimmee; Nov. 2003 - Marriott Courtyard; Dec. 2008 - CSR ; Jan. 2010 - AKL savanna view; Aug. 2012 - Universal & BW; Feb. 2013 - CSR; Aug. 2013 - CSR; Feb. 2014 - BW for our DFTW!! ; Nov. 2014 - AllStarSp
Jazzygirl72 is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 09:52 PM   #110
KatMark
DIS Veteran
 
KatMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 40,626

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazzygirl72 View Post
I haven't had a chance to get on here since I got back. We had a wonderful time last week and I'll probably do a post-trip report in that part of the forum because I have a lot to share, especially with the crowd levels being so high.
As for the Coronado, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were put in Casitas 2, room 2440. I have some postives and cons about our stay.
First off, it was beautiful. I felt like I'd been there before because of all the great pics people have posted. I actually didn't really take any of the resort because I can use the great ones on here for a scrapbook.
One thing that kept resonating in my head was a comment someone said before I left about other peoples' pictures. She said that the pics were almost better than the actual thing. I have to say, I agree. I didn't see the Coronado in those pictures. Most of the reason for that is the side of the resort I was on and also the times of day. I didn't see the gorgeous night sights that so many post pics of. I'm not saying this as a negative, just an interesting observation. I am not sure if we had a rehabbed room but I think maybe we did because it looked just like some pics someone had posted of one. We had the dark wood and the sliding doors to the vanity area. The room was nice and clean and mousekeeping was good...nothing over the top and no towel animals (bummer)...but very good. We had a king bed and it was very comfy. We were closest to bus stop 2 which was great since it's the first stop.
Here are some things that were a bummer to me about the resort. I didn't think the size would matter to me. I know it's the thing you either love or hate about it. Well, we were on the complete opposite side of the lake from the main pool and hot tub. We were so exhausted at the end of each day that we couldn't fathom WALKING any more to get over there. I know they have those golf cart things to bring you around but I didn't see them that often and they don't seem to have a consistent schedule. After standing and walking all day, the last thing we wanted was more of it. So I was really bummed out because I REALLY wanted to use the hot tub to help our sore muscles. I never made it over to that side of the resort at all.
My biggest vice was it was very difficult to navigate up to our room. It took a couple of days to figure out the best way up there. First off, Casitas 2 is tucked behind and between Casitas 1 and 3. Our room was on the fourth floor and directly across the connector to Casitas 3. We had that lion fountain directly below us. The problem is that not every stairwell goes up to the fourth floor. So to actually get to our room, we had to go through Casitas 3 (when coming from El Centro). So after getting lost a few times, we figured out we couldn't follow the Casitas 2 signs/arrows. Coming from the bus stop, there was a stairwell at the end of our building near the quiet pool that went up to our floor. So that was fine. I don't lose my bearings easily and it was a bit aggitating to not get up to my room in a direct way.
THings I loved about it: Pepper Market!! OMG this place is amazing. I couldn't and still cannot believe it was only a counter service credit. We ate there twice and both times my boyfriend got fish...first time salmon, second time tuna steaks. Both dishes were about $20 alone. Our lunches easily billed around $50 if we didn't have the dining plan. I wouldn't be surprised if they dropped this place from the dining plan as a counter service. It's a steal! If we didn't have the dining plan, I would think it a bit pricey, however they portions are large and quality is good. Loved it.
Cafe Rix is great for breakfast. Good selection of baked goods and breakfast sandwiches.
We enjoyed the Laguna Bar. It was a nice place to unwind at night and on our day off.
THe size of the resort definitely made it feel like there weren't a lot of people there, even though I know it was booked. So that was nice. We saw lots of conventioneers there but we didnt' care. We actually met some interesting people at the bar from the UK. They were there for the National Country and International Dance Competition. LOL
Buses were great. The longest ride was to MK and it was less than 9 minutes. I loved the ease of transportation and would definitely do it up again with the resort package, etc.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. If we stay there again, I'll definitely request a room on the hot tub side. Live and learn!

Thanks for your review. Yep, Castias 2 is a long haul from the main pool. We always ask for Casitas 4 or 5--about an eight minute walk. We were in Casitas 3 in September but I couldn't complain because they upgraded us to a suite. Yes, you were one of the lucky ones--you got one of the rehabbed rooms. I hope you liked them...we can't wait to see them up close on our trip this year. Pepper Market is a love it or hate type place with most posters on here. I'm so glad you loved it--we really like it too.

Thanks again for posting your thoughts--it is appreciated.
__________________
KatMark is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 10:24 PM   #111
MomPOM
DIS Veteran
 
MomPOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 974

Okay, I'm debating calling and seeing about getting Club Level for our stay at CSR. Those of you that have done it, do you really feel that it's worth it?
__________________
Jenn

1990s - My First trip - Disney Villas
2007 - Hubby and son's first trip - AKL
2009 - Coronado Springs
Feb 2010 - Animal Kingdom Lodge
MomPOM is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 10:32 PM   #112
KatMark
DIS Veteran
 
KatMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 40,626

Quote:
Originally Posted by MomPOM View Post
Okay, I'm debating calling and seeing about getting Club Level for our stay at CSR. Those of you that have done it, do you really feel that it's worth it?
MomPOM, Club Level has been put on hold. There were some glitches in the system and they are trying to rectify them before offering the Club Level.

I've copied this from the 1st page of this thread (Buzz posted it late last week): LATEST UPDATE!!! - The opening of the club level rooms in cabana 9b may be on hold. Some people are reporting that they have been offered free upgrades to other concierge resorts for their club level reservations at CSR. Turns out the soft opening of CSR concierge rooms didn't go as planned and they will be revamping a bit. For the foreseeable future, CSR will only use the rooms as Business Club Level for convention groups that book those rooms. Otherwise they will be used for leisure guests but the lounge will not be open to them. So I don't know if foreseeable future means forever or until they straighten out the kinks since the concierge rooms didn't go as planned and they are going back to the drawing board.
__________________
KatMark is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 04:58 AM   #113
Buzz2001
CSR MAN!!
 
Buzz2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: CORONADO SPRINGS!
Posts: 17,016

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazer22 View Post
tlrotzoll, I know you had a great room in *B. Did you pay for a waterview room?
Just trying to jusify my waterview room or swtich to standard. I really want a view of the lake. Thanks
I wouldn't switch to waterview. Its not worth the extra cost and there are not guarantees where you will end up. Just request the building you want.
Buzz2001 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 06:18 AM   #114
Dazer22
Mouseketeer
 
Dazer22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 346

Thanks so much. Just the words I needed to hear. When I fax in my room request for a room in the Cabanas is it too much to add "a room with a nice view" if I am reserved for a standard room?

I know it should'nt matter, but.... I really do not want to be on the parking lot side.

Those of you who are upgraded to waterview rooms. Is that something you nicely mention at check in or is it offered to you without asking?

Thanks again.
Dazer22 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 07:01 AM   #115
Buzz2001
CSR MAN!!
 
Buzz2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: CORONADO SPRINGS!
Posts: 17,016

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazer22 View Post
Thanks so much. Just the words I needed to hear. When I fax in my room request for a room in the Cabanas is it too much to add "a room with a nice view" if I am reserved for a standard room?

I know it should'nt matter, but.... I really do not want to be on the parking lot side.

Those of you who are upgraded to waterview rooms. Is that something you nicely mention at check in or is it offered to you without asking?

Thanks again.
You have a 50 / 50 chance. Cabana 8a and 9b do not have parking lot views. The back of 8a is woods and the back of 9b is a smaller lake.

Cabana 8b and 9a may have some lot views.
Buzz2001 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 07:54 AM   #116
katieandemismom
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 534

Quote:
Originally Posted by SueM in MN View Post
You may want to look into getting her a wheelchair for long walks like this. Your insurance would probably cover most of the cost of it, as long as it is prescribed by a doctor.

If you don't have a wheelchair and she has outgrown her stroller by your next trip, there are places where you can rent a special needs stroller (basically a larger sized stroller for kids who are too big for a regular sized one). Follow the link in my signature to the disABILITIES FAQs thread, and you will find information on renting special needs strollers in post #2 of that thread.
Thanks so much for the info! I'm keeping my fingers crossed that we'll make it one last trip in her Maclaren (with the 60 lb weight limit- we're at 53 lbs right now). I really need the stroller in the airport so if it's a no-go, we'll probably pick one up here locally.

I can't imagine trying to Disney without one. Even though Miss Em looks typical (and can start her day keeping up with her big sis), the heat and the walking and excitement suck the energy out of her little body so quickly. Disney has been so accomodating. That's part of the reason I'm a fan for life!
__________________
Sarah
me dh dd Katie (11) dd Emily (10)

Loving my DVC - OKW and BWV!!!!!!!
katieandemismom is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 08:36 AM   #117
MomPOM
DIS Veteran
 
MomPOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 974

Just called Disney to see about Club Level and they said it wasn't available. Wonder what they are having to tweak. I hope I can at least get my 9B room request.
__________________
Jenn

1990s - My First trip - Disney Villas
2007 - Hubby and son's first trip - AKL
2009 - Coronado Springs
Feb 2010 - Animal Kingdom Lodge
MomPOM is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 09:26 AM   #118
Sherrkel
Disney World Dreamer . . . Wish I Could Be At My Home Away From Home . . .
 
Sherrkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NH
Posts: 781

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazer22 View Post
Thanks so much. Just the words I needed to hear. When I fax in my room request for a room in the Cabanas is it too much to add "a room with a nice view" if I am reserved for a standard room?

I know it should'nt matter, but.... I really do not want to be on the parking lot side.

Those of you who are upgraded to waterview rooms. Is that something you nicely mention at check in or is it offered to you without asking?

Thanks again.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ******** View Post
You have a 50 / 50 chance. Cabana 8a and 9b do not have parking lot views. The back of 8a is woods and the back of 9b is a smaller lake.

Cabana 8b and 9a may have some lot views.
Our first stay in 2007 was in Cabana's 8a on the back side facing the wooded area (between the Rancho's section and Cabana's section).
This was an excellect location
The pool and playground area is literally 1 minute away; bus stop #4 is also 1 minute walk behind the building. El Centro (check-in, Pepper Market, etc) is 5 minutes or less, depending on how fast you walk.
We've requested this building again for next month's trip. Hope we get it!
__________________
-Sherri

POR Grand Gathering Feb. 2013 **CSR Grand Gathering 2011, 2009 & 2007 ** CBR 1995 **Disneymoon 1989


Sherrkel is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 10:24 AM   #119
dr28326
She is our Princess!
 
dr28326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 216

What is the order of the bus stops at CSR going and coming from parks? I am using a ECV and would like to be at the first stop going and last stop coming back in order to not hold people up already on the bus. Trying to be KIND!
dr28326 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 10:34 AM   #120
Lilolvr
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fantasyland
Posts: 3,837

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr28326 View Post
What is the order of the bus stops at CSR going and coming from parks? I am using a ECV and would like to be at the first stop going and last stop coming back in order to not hold people up already on the bus. Trying to be KIND!
Check out this post.

http://www.disboards.com/showpost.ph...66&postcount=9
Lilolvr is offline  
Closed Thread



Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

You Rated this Thread: