Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Just for Fun > Photography Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-10-2008, 11:11 PM   #1
GoofyG
DIS Veteran

Sony A350 Help

I just purchased a Sony A350 with an 18-200mm F/3.5-6.3xr lens. I'm pretty much a beginner and will slowly wade my way through the book. Does anyone have any tips or recommendations to share with a newbe? I'll mostly be shooting my grandkids, our trips to Disneyworld and fireworks. Any help would be grately appreciated.
Old 07-11-2008, 11:35 AM   #2
KAT4DISNEY
Glad to be a test subject
1st trip Disneyland 1969
1st Trip DisneyWorld 1972
Only trip Disneyland Paris 2002

Congratulations GoofyG in your new Sony! I'm a newbie to the Sony DSLR's myself. I picked up the a700 two months ago and have been having a great time with it. I also had the 18-200 lens but then ended up finding a very good deal on an 18-250 and decided to go with the little longer reach but I thought the 18-200 lens took great shots. It's such a nice compact lens making it a good walk around with lots of reach as well as being wide. It should be very good for Disney in the daylight and for fireworks too.

You mentioned taking firework pics and though I'm far from being a pro I've done that now both at DL and for July 4th so I thought I'd give a couple of tips from what I've experienced. First, the SuperSteady Shot function is very helpful on the camera for handheld shots but it is recommended to turn it off when ever you have it mounted on a tripod. Also, for myself I have decided that I also like to turn off the DRO when I am shooting fireworks (and probably any night shots - like the moon), otherwise the camera is working to adjust the shadows to the highlights and that isn't what I am looking for at night.