Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Just for Fun > Creative DISigns
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-30-2008, 02:45 PM   #1
heartbeeps
not taking vacations but collecting experiences!

Cool 20 steps to making a custom shirt using DARK transfers - "how-to" procedures

Since I never used a transfer before, I've been reading the threads on this board for the past month to figure out how to make custom t shirts for my family's upcoming trip to Disney... using DARK TRANSFERS ONLY!

Warning: I am a beginner; I have NEVER done this before!.

ALWAYS READ AND FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS IN THE PACKAGE OF TRANSFER PAPERS; the steps that follow are just a guideline!

I found this video on the web showing a visual of how to iron on transfers - click here!

07/05/09 - added info about placement to step #16 and note to bottom about going to end of thread to ask a question rather than reading each post

Here's what I've learned (along with my specific decisions at each step):

1) Print out these guidelines while deciding on a theme to use
(a) DH's b'day + Family + the Incredibles and
(b) DAK & first names on Mickey heads

2) Decide on quantity
- I need 20 of various sizes (ok so now I'm at 48 and counting!)

3) Decide on a specific design
(a) Mr. Incredible Birthday/Family for adults; Dash Incredible Birthday/Family for kids;
(b) safari Mickey heads/DAK shirts
(c) "First Time" shirts
(d) Birthday shirts
(e) P&PP shirts
(f) Tote bag

4) Determine if selected design needs to be customized (yep)

5) Figure out the timeline for having shirts ready when you need them