|08-16-2014, 06:27 AM||#31|
Earning My Ears
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Flanders, Belgium
I think it is a very correct remark, somewhere higher up here as well, that the hot climate of Florida constitutes a negative decisionmaking factor for the Chinese authorities, in granting Panda-lease !
Indoors cooled spaces would not provide an alternative solution, because the set rules include the provision of all day use, large outdoors quality habitat for the Pandas. It is not that they would be "unhealthy" in shelter, it is that the breeding chances then are ZERO.
The Chinese panda-lease rules, aim at the highest degree of chances into reproduction. Eat, play, frolic aronund ... happy Panda's make babies !!
By the way,
A few members in this discussion wondered how much would be the INVESTMENT in Pandas ?
I have the aproximate (yet correct in magnitude) COST for having these Panda's :
The lease contract = 15 years. (After those fifteen years, a contract renewal could be made with new, young adult pandas.)
The combined cost for that 15 year lease + the investment in building the habitat and housing, in case of Pairi Daiza, was approximately 10 million Euro (about $ 13,4 M)
Does not include the daily maintenance costs.
Now, "best news", into ROI.
The Pairi Daiza theme park is on the stock market. The one-stock share value, rose from € 22 to € 51, in just ONE year time now, from the moment shareholders heared the news the Panda deal was signed.
Park attendance RISE in 2014 over 2013, until now, accounts for + 100,000 visitors, due to the pandas (non official, will get official numbers in spring 2015), which would roughly constitute € 2,7 million extra revenue in 2014 (guess, until now, mid summer) on the ticketing alone.
Disney Paris stock share value, is still disastrous low. Perhaps, Disney really needs a Panda or 2 ...
Exercise : If the attendance rise due to the Panda-investment would just be 125,000 , this would be € 3,37 M ROI / year, over 15 years => roughly € 50 M ROI on € 10 M investment.
Abstraction made of:
Taxes (goes both ways, add with revenue, deduct with investment spendings, the magnitude of balance over ROI will not be far out of the initial %, only lump sum different)
(-) the maintenance costs ,
(-) inflation rate and bank loan costs (loans max 5 years) ,
(+) add-on customer spendings (catering & merchandise in the park and off premises as well) ,
(-) % of attendance lowering effect, after 2-3 years : typically, novelty top curve lowers 10-50% after years.
(+++) HOWEVER, when a panda cub gets born, it could provoke a + 100-300% rise over initial top !!... and, it's what they aim for !
Hope, I delivered to satisfaction some real reality feasibility insight in such a theme park investment project ?
Last edited by Giwreh; 08-16-2014 at 01:21 PM.
|08-23-2014, 06:09 PM||#32|
DVC Member BWV 99
You have to compare apples to apples
Join Date: Aug 1999
|Display Modes||Rate This Thread|