Ths DIS is a great place to ask Disney Cruise Line questions and share tips.
Dreams Unlimited Travel - The official sponsor of the Disney Cruise Forums Dreams Unlimited Travel - the official sponsor of the Disney Cruise Forums  

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Cruise Line > Disney Cruise Line Forum
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts
 
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2013, 08:07 AM   #1
Ancaster
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 112

2-way radios?

Are they permitted on DCL?
Do they work well?

Costco in Canada has them on sale this week, $45 in-store (web includes shipping so it's higher):

http://www.costco.ca/Motorola%C2%AE-....10365854.html

The porters in my hospital use military grade radios and they can go through 10 floors no problem. Do the cheaper ones like at Costco work well across the ship?

Last edited by Ancaster; 01-22-2013 at 08:13 AM.
Ancaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:15 AM   #2
erionm
DIS Veteran
 
erionm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Longwood, FL
Posts: 12,336

DCL has cordless phones on all the ships that also work on Castaway Cay.

Wave Phone Details
__________________
Michael
erionm is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000
Old 01-22-2013, 08:22 AM   #3
kcashner
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33,275

Many years ago (before wave phones), I tried some pretty high end walkie talkies on the ship. Not good. Lots of static, picking up other people despite availability of multiple channels, missing our own transmissions.

Many people have told me it was because of the amount of metal in the ship...I don't know if that's true or not.
kcashner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:22 AM   #4
wiigirl
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 15,974

I have tried to use those and they did not work well. To much interference in a huge steel ship to be useful really.
__________________
For the love of Disney...
wiigirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:35 AM   #5
mawhite424
Mouseketeer
 
mawhite424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 88

We brought ours on the Magic in December and they worked GREAT! I think it depends on the quality. Ours are Uniden brand - my dh has them for his model rocket competitions so they have to have a long range. We never used the wave phones because I couldn't figure out how to use them .
__________________
Mary

mawhite424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:46 AM   #6
pluto1974
Earning My Ears
 
pluto1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 43

I have Motorola talkies - bought at Costco Canada but not the same as the ones in your link. They work well outside and in the mall but the range isn't nearly as good as advertised (i don't think any of them are). Never tried them in a cruise ship before.

each stateroon has a wave phone while is awesome keeping in touch/track and work all over the ship. You just need to know the room number. The counselors will also use the wave phones if your child(ren) are in the oceaneers club/lab and need you.
pluto1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:14 AM   #7
Ancaster
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 112

I see some conflicting answers.

I think I'll buy them anyway. My old Cobras use proprietary batteries and they cost as much as new radios to replace, range is not as good as well. I tend to stay away from proprietary electronics now.

We'll use them at resorts, amusement parks, camping, etc anyway.

Thanks everyone!
Ancaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:19 AM   #8
Ancaster
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 112

The Wave phones are a good idea but there may be times when I don't want to worry and be able to throw around 2way radios I don't mind to lose, land or sea. I'll label them with our name and Stateroom.
Ancaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:30 AM   #9
jlapointe30
Earning My Ears
 
jlapointe30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Blainville, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 53

Look at the documentation that comes with these. Although they require no license to operate in Canada, they require one in the USA.
__________________
jlapointe30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:40 AM   #10
Ancaster
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 112

You wouldn't know the limiting specs?

Just wondering who would enforce that? The luggage scanners?

Is that new? I've never had agents ask about 2-way radios we've had on us during vacation.
Ancaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 10:02 AM   #11
jlapointe30
Earning My Ears
 
jlapointe30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Blainville, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 53

No agent will prevent you from entering the US with them as it is totally legal to own one. They even sell them in store there without proof of license. But to operate at power level of above 1/2 of a watt (FRS) you need a license. In theory you could be fined for using them without a license. The license is not expensive, but you need to provide a mailing address in the US. I got mine a couple years ago, back then, I believe it was 70$ for 5 years

It was proposed in 2010 to remove the license requirement as the rules are difficult to enforce when you can by them at your local walmart. This change is still pending.

http://www.fcc.gov/encyclopedia/gene...o-service-gmrs

I don't think they are actively enforcing the rule in the USA.

Also, be aware that the rules changes from country to country and some of them might enforce them more actively then US and Canada. I would double check before using them in a different country.
__________________
jlapointe30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 10:46 AM   #12
bats
Enjoying Bahama Mama's
 
bats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 1,289

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlapointe30 View Post
No agent will prevent you from entering the US with them as it is totally legal to own one. They even sell them in store there without proof of license. But to operate at power level of above 1/2 of a watt (FRS) you need a license. In theory you could be fined for using them without a license. The license is not expensive, but you need to provide a mailing address in the US. I got mine a couple years ago, back then, I believe it was 70$ for 5 years

It was proposed in 2010 to remove the license requirement as the rules are difficult to enforce when you can by them at your local walmart. This change is still pending.

http://www.fcc.gov/encyclopedia/gene...o-service-gmrs

I don't think they are actively enforcing the rule in the USA.

Also, be aware that the rules changes from country to country and some of them might enforce them more actively then US and Canada. I would double check before using them in a different country.
Some not allowed in the UK as far as I'm aware (not sure why though)!! Here's some stuff about it:
In the UK there are 2 main types of radio; licensed and unlicensed. Basically the frequencies are split by the government to a range which requires permission to use (licensed) and a much smaller range which does not (unlicensed).

IIRC the radios using the unlicensed range are typically referred to as PMR. These can be bought over the counter at Argos, Maplin and the like. The range and quality of the signal vary from product. As usual the more you pay the better the quality.


I would just use the Wave phones ... that's what they're designed for. They work perfectly and they're easy to use .... room number plus 1 or 2, depending on which phone you have. If you have '1', the other one is '2' .. simples!

Not sure why the op would want to 'throw around' the radios or phones though
__________________
Bats
Quality Inn International Apr 2003 - Magic Mouse Villa on Windsor Palms Apr 2006 - Hong Kong Disney Jan 2007 - Dibb villa & Disney Wonder Sept 2008 - Dibb villa for DBF's 40th Feb 2009 - Dibb villa Sept 2009 - Disneyland Paris Nov 2009 - Disneyland California Apr 2010 - Disney Magic 8 night Western Europe Jul 2010 - SSR Sept 2010 - Maiden Voyage on The Dream Jan 26th 2011 - Disney Magic Med cruise Aug 2011 - OKW Sept 2011 - AKV & Disney Dream Feb 2012 - SSR & Disney Fantasy Eastern Caribbean Oct 2012 - Disney Magic B2B Med Aug 2013 - Disney Magic Med May 2014 - Disney Magic WBTA & our wedding Sept 2014 Disney Magic 11 night Fjords/Iceland/Orkney Isles Jun 2015
bats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:09 PM   #13
Ancaster
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 112

Quote:
Originally Posted by bats View Post
...
Not sure why the op would want to 'throw around' the radios or phones though
Sorry, I didn't elaborate.
If 2 wave phones are not in your room when you leave, DCL charges you $250.
If I lose one radio, no big deal, I can buy more and they are compatible. If we lose both of them, it's still only $45.

When we are in port, on a beach and my older daughter and I go exploring, I'm not sure it's a good idea carrying a wave phone, do they work as 2-way radios? Anyway, my wife can contact us easily with the radios and if they drop anywhere, they're durable enough to survive.

Or if my wife and I decide to separate while shopping (dangerous, lol).

It's also mainly for short distance communication when we have no cell coverage... like the examples I mentioned... camping, caribbean resorts, so we will keep using them.
Great for when we cross into the U.S. as our cell provider has horrendous roaming charges.
However, in hotels with free wifi, I use a travel router pre-configured for VPN to bypass any VoIP restrictions.

The main thing is that they use non-proprietary batteries, should last a few years, replace with standard rechargeables as needed.

Ancaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:21 PM   #14
erionm
DIS Veteran
 
erionm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Longwood, FL
Posts: 12,336

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ancaster View Post
When we are in port, on a beach and my older daughter and I go exploring, I'm not sure it's a good idea carrying a wave phone, do they work as 2-way radios?
The Wave phones are basically cordless phones and will only work on the ship and on Castaway Cay. They will not work off the ship in any other port.
__________________
Michael
erionm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:24 PM   #15
Ancaster
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 112

Quote:
Originally Posted by erionm View Post
The Wave phones are basically cordless phones and will only work on the ship and on Castaway Cay. They will not work off the ship in any other port.
Ok, so it's not redundant that I want to bring 2-ways and use them through our travels and off the ship, whether they work well on it or not.
Thx
Ancaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.