Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > Camping at Disney World
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts
 
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read





Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2013, 09:33 PM   #1
gd3
Earning My Ears
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 24

Cable modem equipment setup at FW?

Hello all, we are regular Ft. Wilderness visitors, and camp there probably once every couple of months for 3-4 nights per visit. We live a couple of hours from the Fort, and usually take extended weekend trips when the opportunity arises.

Having said that, we are fairly heavy internet users, and are currently connecting with a mifi prepaid broadband hotspot for conveniece in our trailer. I am in the process of redesigning our technology setup in our camper. I was wondering if any of the FW regulars on here know what brand cable modem or setup disney is using with the "toolbox" that they provide when you get a cable modem from them.

This may sound silly, but if possible I would like to buy the same modem (hopefully around 100 dollars or less) and already have it setup in my array in my camper, so when we arrive at our site all we would have to do is run the cable into a splitter and "plug up." This would give us a broadband connection into our onboard wireless access point, and would allow me to seemlessly work on my laptop if needed without burning up out data caps on our mifi.

I know I could probably just pickup a modem at the front every time we visit, but I would honestly rather have everything setup and ready to go and mounted in the travel trailer for convenience. Since we are regulars, it would be a great investment on our end.

Thanks in advance for any information!
gd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:40 PM   #2
North of Mouse
DIS Veteran
 
North of Mouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,524

We were just there a few weeks ago and they have wi-fi now. The connection was sporadic though even though the signal was good. Guess it was so heavily used. Don't know about the modems though.
North of Mouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:43 PM   #3
lodge
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 841

I had to get a special card, for the computer, to watch on our unit.
lodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.