DVC RESALES
DVC RESALES

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Vacation Club > DVC Resorts
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts
 
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read





Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2012, 08:41 AM   #16
erionm
DIS Veteran
 
erionm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Longwood, FL
Posts: 12,779

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsimon View Post
So did they remove the hardwire ports? Last time we were at WDW and just last week at DL, the hardwire ports were still there even though the wireless was in place.

They don't push the hardwire anymore, but I was able to find the ports and use them with our own wifi router as usual. If they actually removed the hardwire, I would be surprised.
Reports from people staying at WDW is that the wired connections are no longer live.
__________________
Michael
erionm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 09:12 AM   #17
eva
Often uses her unique ability to shut down threads.

DIS Veteran
 
eva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: IL, USA
Posts: 5,674

Quote:
Originally Posted by erionm View Post
Reports from people staying at WDW is that the wired connections are no longer live.
That is correct. We tried. The person at the front said they have all been disconnected. Crazy! Not sure what to do next time. Even on vacation DH does have to work 20 or 30 or so minutes each day. He is a director of a large IT department. Lucky he has his Blackberry for emails. But he needs to get on to the company server through a laptop for things like payroll and such. He spent a lot of time on the phone this trip because of the Wi-Fi issue.
__________________
Eva
eva is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000
Old 09-19-2012, 09:39 AM   #18
Moparlar
Mouseketeer
 
Moparlar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 192

Quote:
Originally Posted by eva View Post
That is correct. We tried. The person at the front said they have all been disconnected. Crazy! Not sure what to do next time. Even on vacation DH does have to work 20 or 30 or so minutes each day. He is a director of a large IT department. Lucky he has his Blackberry for emails. But he needs to get on to the company server through a laptop for things like payroll and such. He spent a lot of time on the phone this trip because of the Wi-Fi issue.
Depending on the phone and carrier he might be able to use his phone as a hotspot for the laptop to get online to do his work.

Larry
__________________
Moparlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 11:34 AM   #19
rock_doctor
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,966

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsimon View Post
So did they remove the hardwire ports? Last time we were at WDW and just last week at DL, the hardwire ports were still there even though the wireless was in place.

They don't push the hardwire anymore, but I was able to find the ports and use them with our own wifi router as usual. If they actually removed the hardwire, I would be surprised.
Yep, the wiring is there but the racks are non-op. Typical, half step forward two steps back. What is there is the same as not having anything at all. We were there last Christmas (BLT) and i could not connect on my computers. After staying on hold for days one started to connect but the other wouldn't (and i do mean days not just being sarcastic - they really don't care). I eventually gave up and used my sprint phone to tether. As i said in my last post about this back in Jan. DVC...get it working or refund back the telecommunications part of our maintenance fees. We are directly paying for internet access as well as telephone. It isn't free.
rock_doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 11:42 AM   #20
pam0909
Earning My Ears
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 24

We just got back and the WiFi was TERRIBLE!! I got one good connection during the entire 9 day stay for a few minutes and that was it. WiFi wasn't necessary for us but if it was I would definitely go a different route (i.e. tether, etc.).
pam0909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 06:47 PM   #21
wdrl
DIS Veteran
 
wdrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: BLT, AKV, Aulani
Posts: 2,606

We just returned from Aulani. The wi-fi in our villa and lobby was great and we had no problems with connectivity or losing the signal.
__________________
wdrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 07:32 AM   #22
Bonnie151
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 983

We just got back from VWL - my wifi connection was great but DH couldn't get his to stay connected for more than a minute at a time! He was going through our iPads to figure out what difference there was between our settings but eventually gave up. Mine was fine!
__________________


Yes I can spell, but my iPad quite often thinks I'd rather type gibberish.
Bonnie151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 07:21 AM   #23
famcruisefun
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 192

Can someone confirm for me - have they disconnected/done away with the wired internet connection in the rooms at OKW? We have an airport we had used on past trips - prior to wifi at the resorts. Other question - has anyone had any good wifi experiences at OKW and if so, where in the resort did you find a good connection? We'll be there this coming weekend - college age son joining us - I'm sure he'll need to be "connected" for at least a bit over the weekend to do work or submit assignments.
Thanks all!
__________________
Caribbean Beach Dixie Landings Yacht and Beach Club Polynesian Boardwalk Villas Saratoga Springs
Old Key West Kidani

Took my parents for their first tripto the world January 2010! BWV Grand Villa!!
First Food and Wine and first adults-only trip Oct 2010!
Food and Wine once again! - October 2011!
Taking the kids - who are no longer kids - to their first FOOD and WINE!! Oct 2012!!
famcruisefun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 07:26 AM   #24
ton80
Darts Anyone!
 
ton80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rockland,Massachusetts
Posts: 364

No problem with the WIFI in June while we were in a 1 br standard at AKV.

ton80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 08:24 AM   #25
bighoo93
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 367

We were at OKW for a week in mid-September and wifi was OK around the resort. I did have to reconnect/authenticate periodically, but it wasn't anything that was a huge issue. If I worked from their full-time all year, yes, it would get annoying. But for going online during a week of vacation, it was OK.
bighoo93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:10 PM   #26
disneybirds
DIS Veteran
 
disneybirds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 563

We were there in June at BCV and the WiFi was terrible. If you could get on, you weren't on for long. We ended up using my DH hotspot the whole time. He has Sprint and I don't remember it being too bad.
__________________
DH Me DD15 DD12 Lucy(dog) Misty(cat)
disneybirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 05:33 PM   #27
DebbieB
DVC Member BWV 99
You have to compare apples to apples
 
DebbieB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: PA
Posts: 47,127

I was at VGC last week and they have both wired and wireless. I brought my router in case the wireless was bad (last time could only get 1 bar). I needed it because my laptop would not connect to the wireless, I didn't get the terms & conditions screen and support could not help me. I wired up the router and it worked.
__________________
DebbieB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 07:43 PM   #28
WDWCNY
Earning My Ears
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Central New York
Posts: 55

We are at BLT now. We checked in on 10/4 and have not had a problem with WIFI. Room is on the fifth floor.
WDWCNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 06:20 AM   #29
Cee
DIS Veteran
 
Cee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Occoquan, VA
Posts: 5,003

I just returned from BCV and the wifi was non-existent. I was unable to use my iPad at all. Terrible.
Cee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:59 AM   #30
DisneyDetective
DIS Veteran
 
DisneyDetective's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Real Land Of Brave!
Posts: 1,207

We stayed at Saratoga Springs this summer and the connectivity wasn't great. If your planning to use the Internet alot and for important things then I would suggest bringing some sort of 'booster' if that makes any sense.
__________________
DisneyDetective is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

DVC-Resales.com | 1-800-550-6493 (Contact The Timeshare Store) | DVC Resale Listings

facebooktwittergoogle plus youtube itunesDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.