Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Global Neighbours > Canadian Trip Planning & Community Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts
 
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read





Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2012, 02:44 PM   #1
4orm
Disney bride dreaming of buying DVC
 
4orm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 1,290

Free Wifi in Disney - does it work for Canadians?

I know that sounds off but I read the disboards "Select the network "Disney-Guest", connect and accept the terms and conditions. You shouldn't have to do this more than once. Covered cellular carriers include AT&T, Verizon, Sprint, T-Mobile, and MetroPCS."

I thought wifi was just wifi and would work with anything able to get a connection. Am I wrong? Does it only work for certain cell carriers? I'd much rather us wifi than pay for an expensive data package from Fido.

Have any of you fellow Canadians use the free wifi yet in the parks on a Canadian cell?
__________________


1981 - 1989 DL & DW many times*1997 - POFQ*2004 - GF & POR (married @ WDW)*2005 - AKL & BCV*2005 - CR, Poly & BWV (f&w)*2006 - DLH*2007 - DLRP*2007 - Dolphin*2008 Swan & WL (f&w)*2010 CR&Swan (DD 1st bday and f&w)*2011 Swan/SSR (DD 2nd bday and f&w)*2012 BLT, AKL, CSR for my pirate girl (DD 3rd bday and f&w)
4orm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 03:41 PM   #2
Polydweller
DIS Veteran
 
Polydweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,429

Yes it does, I have used it, wifi and cellular are two different technologies and I have no idea why cellular carriers are even mentioned. I was a manager of IT, and the wifi you get at home is the same as wifi at Disney and you do not need cellular to access wifi there anymore than in your house. Disboards should take that erroneous info down. You can use any wifi device, tablets,iPods, laptops, macs etc just like home.

At any rate, go to Disney, turn off your cellular data, and enjoy the free wifi.
__________________
21 years staying at the Polynesian!
Next Trip: Oct 2013 Polynesian
Polydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000
Old 10-03-2012, 03:57 PM   #3
Tiger926
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 8,212

Quote:
Originally Posted by Polydweller View Post
Yes it does, I have used it, wifi and cellular are two different technologies and I have no idea why cellular carriers are even mentioned. I was a manager of IT, and the wifi you get at home is the same as wifi at Disney and you do not need cellular to access wifi there anymore than in your house. Disboards should take that erroneous info down. You can use any wifi device, tablets,iPods, laptops, macs etc just like home.

At any rate, go to Disney, turn off your cellular data, and enjoy the free wifi.
Exactly! Not sure why the selected carriers are mentioned, but I think that was in the info that I saw on the Disney website, and not just DISboards.

It worked fine for us in August, Tiger
Tiger926 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 04:37 PM   #4
4orm
Disney bride dreaming of buying DVC
 
4orm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 1,290

Awesome! Thanks all!

I thought it was weird that cell carriers and wifi was mention but I thought perhaps I didn't know how things worked as well as I did. Looking forward to free app use in the parks!
__________________


1981 - 1989 DL & DW many times*1997 - POFQ*2004 - GF & POR (married @ WDW)*2005 - AKL & BCV*2005 - CR, Poly & BWV (f&w)*2006 - DLH*2007 - DLRP*2007 - Dolphin*2008 Swan & WL (f&w)*2010 CR&Swan (DD 1st bday and f&w)*2011 Swan/SSR (DD 2nd bday and f&w)*2012 BLT, AKL, CSR for my pirate girl (DD 3rd bday and f&w)
4orm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:00 AM   #5
bdoyledimou
Pop Road Warrior -Travelling they way they did in the 60's
 
bdoyledimou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 1,927

free wifi works in MK and Epcot right now and probaly the other parks sooner than later.

And it's a good solid connection -- DW was able to post videos from her Iphone to facebook within minutes of taking it -- it was like having our family and friends with us
__________________
Road Warrior! Driving Toronto to WDW *9* times since 2004!!!
12th Trip completed Aug 2012 @ AOA Finding Nemo!
13th Trip POP Century and AOA August 2013 - 70's and Cars!
14th Trip with our Foster Kids!
bdoyledimou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 08:31 AM   #6
dsneygirl
My little pirate is here
The mixed drinks always tasted yummy to me
 
dsneygirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: VWL and Ontario
Posts: 5,246

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdoyledimou View Post
And it's a good solid connection -- DW was able to post videos from her Iphone to facebook within minutes of taking it -- it was like having our family and friends with us

I actually thought the opposite this week, the connection was very sporadic and not reliable.
__________________
FW 1980, 1984, 1988, DxL 1992, Canada Pavillon CM July 1997-July 1998, (Met DH at the BeaverTails shack) Off site Feb 1999 Engaged at Cindy's Sept 2000, DL GC Feb 2001, POFQ Sept 2001, Poly June 2002, Off site March 2003, FW Hallowe'en 2003, GF Xmas 2003, DisneyLand Oct 2004, FW May 2005 Joined DVC June 2005 SSR Oct 2005, OKW Dec 2005, DLH Mar 2006,DS's 1st Trip BCV & CBR Oct 2006, VWL & POR Dec 2006, BCV & POR May 2007, BWV & ASM Aug 2007, SSR Oct 2007 VWL Dec 2007, AKL/VWL Sept 2008, March 2009 Pop/BCV, Disney Wonder and AKV/BCV May 2009, AKL/VWL Sept 2009, OKW Dec 2009,Mar 2010 Disney Wonder and BLT, May 2010 AKL, Aug 2010 VWL/BCV,Dec 2010 AKL, Feb 2011 Disney Dream/VWL, May 2011 BLT, Sept 2011 VGC, Oct 2011 SSR, Aulani June 2012, BCV/VWL Sept 2012, AKV/BLT Sept 2013, Dec 2013 VWL/DisneyDream
(me)(DH)(DS 7) (DS 2)


dsneygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 10:34 AM   #7
Polydweller
DIS Veteran
 
Polydweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,429

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsneygirl View Post
I actually thought the opposite this week, the connection was very sporadic and not reliable.
I wouldn't be at all surprised that it varies a lot. I put wifi into a hospital campus the same size as MK. It's very hard to make it work. The signal from each router is circular but the areas serviced are usually rectangular or rhomboid. Try drawing a series of same size circles in a square that can only overlap a little bit (otherwise the signals cancel each other). Lots of places where there is no overlap, that's lesser signal in the real world and that's one of the problems, you will have low signal areas regardless of how you arrange your routers.

Then there is the congestion problems. The more people connected the slower it will be. Even though router connection capacities have increased over the years, they still can only handle a maximum number of simultaneous connections. And, at about 50% of rated capacity they really slow down and the congestion gets really noticeable. You may not be able to connect at that point. And wifi has less capacity than cellular, just the narure of the type of radio communications used. I would be very surprised if those limits aren't reached often at Disney.

Too much info probably, but the bottom line is there will be spots of lower Signal strength and the more people the more difficulty with connectivity and speed.
__________________
21 years staying at the Polynesian!
Next Trip: Oct 2013 Polynesian
Polydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 04:06 PM   #8
TagsMissy
Counting down the days... It's not always easy being the wife of a soldier.
 
TagsMissy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lower Mainland, BC -- Canada
Posts: 4,233

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4orm View Post
I know that sounds off but I read the disboards "Select the network "Disney-Guest", connect and accept the terms and conditions. You shouldn't have to do this more than once. Covered cellular carriers include AT&T, Verizon, Sprint, T-Mobile, and MetroPCS."

I thought wifi was just wifi and would work with anything able to get a connection. Am I wrong? Does it only work for certain cell carriers? I'd much rather us wifi than pay for an expensive data package from Fido.

Have any of you fellow Canadians use the free wifi yet in the parks on a Canadian cell?
No idea why DISboards would mention any carriers... it's misleading and well kinda shows lack of knowledge. Wifi, is simply that, WiFi... it's not a data plan or anything.
__________________
79-95 Numerous Disneyland Trips/98 POFQ /08 POR/09 - POR, SSR, AKV Kidani & BLT/11 BWV & BLT/12 Aulani & Disneyland & Club 33 Anniversary Celebration /13 May DL Club 33/Wonder & Sept BLT/BWV /14 June AKV Jambo & VWL & Dec DL Friend's Wedding Celebration

TagsMissy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 08:23 PM   #9
EastYorkDisneyFan
DIS Veteran
 
EastYorkDisneyFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: East York (Toronto), Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,449

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdoyledimou View Post
free wifi works in MK and Epcot right now and probaly the other parks sooner than later.

And it's a good solid connection -- DW was able to post videos from her Iphone to facebook within minutes of taking it -- it was like having our family and friends with us
You forgot blizzard beach and DHS which just added wifi last week
__________________
Heading West for DPN WestFest 2010 - TR underway F & F at the DLR! Fun and planing for DPN WestFest 2011

You can dream, create, design and build the most wonderful place in the world, but it takes people to make the dream a reality.
- Walt Disney
EastYorkDisneyFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 07:33 AM   #10
Tinkershelly
DisneyWorld trip winner!
Holy moley, there are soooo many items!
 
Tinkershelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 551

I just returned home Wednesday and used the free wi-fi on my ipod touch in park and netbook in the resort (Port Orleans Riverside) and can confirm that it both works and is free. Also I can confirm that in park it is spotty for connectivity, as in sometimes it would show there were no "waves" and I had to move to get connected. Other times there were three full "waves" showing but I still couldn't connect because of over usage, I suppose. Also I had to agree to the terms multiple times so don't be surprised if that happens to you as well. The wi-fi in the resort was very good and I never had problems connecting in the room or in the common areas of other resorts.

That said, occasionally for hours at a time that I was unable to connect in MK and Epcot when the parks were very busy, so my advice would be to not rely on wi-fi alone if you need to connect with your travelling companions during the day. Otherwise it was a welcome addition for us.
__________________
Tinkershelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 11:55 AM   #11
Sue M
DIS Veteran
 
Sue M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: B.C.
Posts: 8,902

When we were there we had wifi at our resort and MK. Resort was fine most of the time, and MK. But during heavy usage both were spotty.
Don't know why it mentions specific companies either, but when in the US Telus uses AT&T. I turn off my cellular data.
Also had to agree to terms regularly. Would be nice to only have to do it once.
__________________
Past Trips:
Aug 2003 WDW Marriott Courtyard, [B]Aug 2005 [/BSeaWorld, Universal, Busch Gardens Hilton Garden Inn, ]Aug 2007 WDW CBR, Jan 2008WDW WL, Aug 2008St. Pete Beach, Universal-HRH, Sea Workd & Aquatica- Hyatt Place & Doubletree, Jan 2009WDW AKL, Aug 2009Key West Sheraton Suites, Cocoa Beach Hampton Inn, & WDW POR/WL, Jan 2010WDW Poly, Jan 2011WDW POR, Aug 2011WDW POR/BC CL, Jan 2012WDW WL, Aug 2012AKL CL, Jan. 2013POFQ Aug. 2013 WDW Pop, GF, YC Jan 2014POR

Next trip August 20-Sept 3 2014 Poly
Sue M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 07:47 PM   #12
MaMudduck
Disney Princess Forever
I think is too cold in Canadian for the Tag fairy...She might freeze her pixie dust off!
 
MaMudduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ptbo, Canada
Posts: 1,996

Returned yesterday from WDW- wifi is definitely working in DHS (wasn't at blizzard beach so don't know about that).

The only issue DH & I found is that I had problems with me Mac at the AKL & DH had issue with his iPad, no issues on connecting with DH PC laptop or android phones (with wifi, not 3G), it was just weird with the Apple products......don't know why, maybe just a fluke.
__________________
WDW Commando Member#199

Wendy-MaMudduck-WDW' 77, Poly'78, DL'81,Grovs '88, ASMo'02, CBR'03, Vistana Oct'04,PolyCL- Oct'05,MVMCP@ POP Dec'07, BCV/BWV- Nov'08, Bonnet Creek, US/IOA, Nov '10, Disneyland-Nov '11 Dream Trip AKL-Oct'12, Xmas 1.5 Dec'13, 1st Solo Trip- Mar'14
PaMudduck- Grovs'88, ASMo'02, Oct'04, POP- DEC'07 ,Disneyland-Nov'11 AKL-Oct'12, Xmas 1.5 Dec'13
'LilMudduck- ASMo'02, CBR'03, Oct'04, PolyCL-Oct'05, MVMCP- POP Dec'07WWoHP Nov '10, Xmas 1.5 Dec'13
MaMudduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:46 AM   #13
bdoyledimou
Pop Road Warrior -Travelling they way they did in the 60's
 
bdoyledimou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 1,927

onme thing i found while at the world was on my Apple products, if there was a WEAK 3g signal, the wifi just wouldnt work at all -- so we disabled 3g all together and just used the wifi and it would work.
__________________
Road Warrior! Driving Toronto to WDW *9* times since 2004!!!
12th Trip completed Aug 2012 @ AOA Finding Nemo!
13th Trip POP Century and AOA August 2013 - 70's and Cars!
14th Trip with our Foster Kids!
bdoyledimou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:29 PM   #14
Alderbrook
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 708

We were there in late sept & the wifi was TERRIBLE! Sometimes a connection, sometimes not. We were at POFQ & I rarely got a signal in our room. My GF was there at the same time & at the Coronado & she said it was terrible for her too. It was unreliable & wouldn't even send a FB message. We ended up having to call each other's room. MK was the best connection, epcot spotty at best. You would be connected & then nothing. I was really disappointed in their wifi.
__________________
Alderbrook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 09:59 PM   #15
Sue M
DIS Veteran
 
Sue M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: B.C.
Posts: 8,902

Oh no!! We will be at FQ in January. Hope the wifi improves by then.

Nothing to do with wifi but aug 2011 at POR I was using a T Mobile stick ( before they put in free wifi) and had tovsitvwith my MacBook outside on the walkway to get a signal. Awful. But when we moved to BC reception was great.
__________________
Past Trips:
Aug 2003 WDW Marriott Courtyard, [B]Aug 2005 [/BSeaWorld, Universal, Busch Gardens Hilton Garden Inn, ]Aug 2007 WDW CBR, Jan 2008WDW WL, Aug 2008St. Pete Beach, Universal-HRH, Sea Workd & Aquatica- Hyatt Place & Doubletree, Jan 2009WDW AKL, Aug 2009Key West Sheraton Suites, Cocoa Beach Hampton Inn, & WDW POR/WL, Jan 2010WDW Poly, Jan 2011WDW POR, Aug 2011WDW POR/BC CL, Jan 2012WDW WL, Aug 2012AKL CL, Jan. 2013POFQ Aug. 2013 WDW Pop, GF, YC Jan 2014POR

Next trip August 20-Sept 3 2014 Poly
Sue M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.