Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Global Neighbours > Canadian Trip Planning & Community Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts
 
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read





Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2012, 11:33 AM   #466
MaMudduck
Disney Princess Forever
I think is too cold in Canadian for the Tag fairy...She might freeze her pixie dust off!
 
MaMudduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ptbo, Canada
Posts: 2,007

I'm sure what I'm about to say has probably been said many, many times in this thread already but without reviewing all the previous pages I'll just let you know what I've been doing since 2003:
DH & I can't go anywhere without our computers and at least 1 cellphone.
I am with Rogers (have been for years). And between DH & I we are in the U.S. combined for approx. 6-8 weeks throughout a year. What we did was we had 2 of our cell phone (that we got from Rogers) unlocked by a third party that supplies you the code to unlock them, cost $15 p/p. These 2 phones then became our permanent travel phones. As we did "hardware" upgrades for our phones we just kept our old unlocked phones for travel.
Each time we go to the states, we stop in at an AT&T store and buy a pay-as-you-go SIM card, with a plan we usually go with $2 a day of use which is unlimited US calling, unlimited text, voicemail & call waiting. Long distance, calling to Canada is .25 cents a minute,free incoming calls from Canada.
http://www.att.com/shop/wireless/pla...paidplans.html

So when we need both phones (so we can call people within our group) we get 2x $25 prepaid card. expires in 30days if not reloaded.
In July, DD & I were in California for 2 weeks- 1 unlocked phone, but knowing that this year I would need a min of 5 weeks of cell phone within 90 days, I bought a $100 card this card will not expire until Jul. 2013 if i don't roll it over. There are other plans that will included data if that's what you need.

For me this is easier than doing "Tracfone"- it works exactly the same way (same plans etc.) but then I'm not locked to Tracfone (AT&T or Sprint) and I can use my unlocked phone in other places in the world...I can even continue to use in Canada if I want. Bonus: if I save my contacts to the phone-not the SIM card I don't lose them or have to reload them with each tracphone.

Short summary:
1) Get your phone SIM phone "unlocked"- if your worried about doing this use an older phone that you might have. (e.g. I just got a iPhone, but it is my old Blackberry Pearl that I got unlocked)-not all carriers use SIM cards in their phones
2) Buy a prepaid phone plan with a SIM card included, when in US. (Walmart, BestBuy, AT&T store etc.)
3) Put the card in the phone & your all set to go!- No more Rogers roaming
__________________
WDW Commando Member#199

Wendy-MaMudduck-WDW' 77, Poly'78, DL'81,Grovs '88, ASMo'02, CBR'03, Vistana Oct'04,PolyCL- Oct'05,MVMCP@ POP Dec'07, BCV/BWV- Nov'08, Bonnet Creek, US/IOA, Nov '10, Disneyland-Nov '11 Dream Trip AKL-Oct'12, Xmas 1.5 Dec'13, 1st Solo Trip- Mar'14
PaMudduck- Grovs'88, ASMo'02, Oct'04, POP- DEC'07 ,Disneyland-Nov'11 AKL-Oct'12, Xmas 1.5 Dec'13
'LilMudduck- ASMo'02, CBR'03, Oct'04, PolyCL-Oct'05, MVMCP- POP Dec'07WWoHP Nov '10, Xmas 1.5 Dec'13
MaMudduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 12:28 PM   #467
poppypetal
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 236

Would this work?
If i bought one of those trutrac phones for like 10.00 or whatever it says at Walmart.
And then get this... can I split this between the phone and my tablet, so I can use the data on my tablet, but the text and calls from the phone?
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Straight-T...ivery/15443343
__________________
poppypetal is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000
Old 09-12-2012, 12:34 PM   #468
MaMudduck
Disney Princess Forever
I think is too cold in Canadian for the Tag fairy...She might freeze her pixie dust off!
 
MaMudduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ptbo, Canada
Posts: 2,007

Is your tablet "locked" to a carrier?- if it is locked- then no, your idea will not work.
Do you really need data (3G)- on your tablet or can you use wi-fi at the parks & hotel?
__________________
WDW Commando Member#199

Wendy-MaMudduck-WDW' 77, Poly'78, DL'81,Grovs '88, ASMo'02, CBR'03, Vistana Oct'04,PolyCL- Oct'05,MVMCP@ POP Dec'07, BCV/BWV- Nov'08, Bonnet Creek, US/IOA, Nov '10, Disneyland-Nov '11 Dream Trip AKL-Oct'12, Xmas 1.5 Dec'13, 1st Solo Trip- Mar'14
PaMudduck- Grovs'88, ASMo'02, Oct'04, POP- DEC'07 ,Disneyland-Nov'11 AKL-Oct'12, Xmas 1.5 Dec'13
'LilMudduck- ASMo'02, CBR'03, Oct'04, PolyCL-Oct'05, MVMCP- POP Dec'07WWoHP Nov '10, Xmas 1.5 Dec'13
MaMudduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 03:19 PM   #469
poppypetal
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 236

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaMudduck View Post
Is your tablet "locked" to a carrier?- if it is locked- then no, your idea will not work.
Do you really need data (3G)- on your tablet or can you use wi-fi at the parks & hotel?
My tablet is actually an ereader with wifi... I dont actually have anything else but wifi on it... not sure if this is the same thing?

We want it for security purposes because of the fact we are driving, want it like a GPS if we should get misrouted :P
__________________
poppypetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 03:34 PM   #470
Tiger926
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 8,212

Quote:
Originally Posted by poppypetal View Post
My tablet is actually an ereader with wifi... I dont actually have anything else but wifi on it... not sure if this is the same thing?

We want it for security purposes because of the fact we are driving, want it like a GPS if we should get misrouted :P
If it is only wi-fi, then you have no signal while travelling in the car. Once you get to Disney, you can use the free wi-fi, or if you stop at a Starbucks or some other restaurant with free wi-fi, and then you would get service on your ereader.

In order to use it while driving though, you must have data of some kind, so you would have to tether your existing phone (not all carriers allow this). Tethering is when you use your phone's data in a connection sort of way to another electronic device.

If your phone is Canadian, than you would incur data roaming charges, so you might as well just pay Telus for a data roaming travel pack.

If you get a US phone, you have to ask them whether tethering is allowed. If it is not, then your ereader will not work for you as a GPS as it is only wi-fi enabled, and you don't have any wi-fi signals while travelling in your car.

Good luck, Tiger
Tiger926 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 03:41 PM   #471
poppypetal
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 236

ok thanks it's a new ereader, so wasn't sure exactly how it would work, being as we needed wifi on it.

i'll check this out when we go look at something in the store... worst case scenario at least we will have a cell phone
__________________
poppypetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 03:44 PM   #472
Tiger926
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 8,212

Quote:
Originally Posted by poppypetal View Post
ok thanks it's a new ereader, so wasn't sure exactly how it would work, being as we needed wifi on it.

i'll check this out when we go look at something in the store... worst case scenario at least we will have a cell phone
You are welcome! Why not purchase an actual GPS unit, and then you don't need to worry.

We love our Garmin (has a large screen) as we travel often, not counting several weeks per year to Florida.

Good luck, Tiger
Tiger926 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 04:18 PM   #473
poppypetal
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 236

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiger926 View Post
You are welcome! Why not purchase an actual GPS unit, and then you don't need to worry.

We love our Garmin (has a large screen) as we travel often, not counting several weeks per year to Florida.

Good luck, Tiger
how much is an actual GPS - hmm actualy that gives me an idea, maybe I'll see if we can borrow my moms, and then just get a simple pay as we go phone, since we have friends who live in the US coming to visit with us, this way we can stay in touch when we need to
Thanks again.
__________________
poppypetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 11:57 AM   #474
Maddysdaddy
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Posts: 631

Quote:
Originally Posted by poppypetal
how much is an actual GPS - hmm actualy that gives me an idea, maybe I'll see if we can borrow my moms, and then just get a simple pay as we go phone, since we have friends who live in the US coming to visit with us, this way we can stay in touch when we need to
Thanks again.
You can find Garmin or Tom Tom units with lifetime map updates at places like Costco for less than $150.

If you have an iPhone (don't know about Android) you can download the Garmin app for $50, and it does not use data - the maps are saved in your phone and it uses satellite positioning.
Maddysdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 01:06 PM   #475
glorania
Earning My Ears
 
glorania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 19

using wifi

okay, just keep in mind i'm a technological moron here....but, i've just bought the new iphone 5, my carrier is with Sasktel. We are going to WDW for the first time this Dec. I'm not concerned about callling back to Canada, but i'm curious regarding texting/wifi. So let me know if i have this straight: Disney resorts and the parks have wifi....so, if i turn off the 'roaming' on my phone can i not just use the wifi and not be charged? I have used my blackberry in the past in the US where free wifi was available and never incurred any additional charges (ie. airport). I would really like to use the line apps for the parks. If we really need to call back to Canada, we will just get a calling card. But otherwise, why not just use wifi to send messages?


OR....would it be possible for DD and i to take our ipods, access the wifi to be able to text each other and use the line apps?

or am i really out to lunch?


Last edited by glorania; 09-20-2012 at 02:16 PM.
glorania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 03:32 PM   #476
Tiger926
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 8,212

Quote:
Originally Posted by glorania View Post
okay, just keep in mind i'm a technological moron here....but, i've just bought the new iphone 5, my carrier is with Sasktel. We are going to WDW for the first time this Dec. I'm not concerned about callling back to Canada, but i'm curious regarding texting/wifi. So let me know if i have this straight: Disney resorts and the parks have wifi....so, if i turn off the 'roaming' on my phone can i not just use the wifi and not be charged? I have used my blackberry in the past in the US where free wifi was available and never incurred any additional charges (ie. airport). I would really like to use the line apps for the parks. If we really need to call back to Canada, we will just get a calling card. But otherwise, why not just use wifi to send messages?


OR....would it be possible for DD and i to take our ipods, access the wifi to be able to text each other and use the line apps?

or am i really out to lunch?
Texting - texting straight through your phone uses the SMS system, which is separate from data, which means you cannot use wi-fi for texting. The only way to use data for texting, is to get a texting app such as TextPlus, and this then uses data through your phone. If you don't want to do this, then you have no choice but to pay for a text package on your phone. The other option is a data message app such as What's App or Kik which uses data (not texting), but it would require that the people who you are messaging also have this program (What's App is similar to BBM, which you would be familiar with since you had a Blackberry).

iPods - you can use these on wi-fi, and if you have the TextPlus app, then you can text each other, or use iMessage (only if you have a newer iPod).

Lines App - this uses data, so you can turn roaming off on your phone as this would through wi-fi.

Hope this helps, Tiger
Tiger926 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 03:43 PM   #477
pampam
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,981

Is the free wifi at the parks too, or just at the resorts?
pampam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 03:47 PM   #478
Tiger926
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 8,212

Quote:
Originally Posted by pampam View Post
Is the free wifi at the parks too, or just at the resorts?
Parks - MK & Epcot (Ak & Studios soon), and Water Parks

Resorts - All resorts & common areas eg. lobby

Tiger
Tiger926 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 03:49 PM   #479
Geodoc
Mouseketeer
 
Geodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 154

Quote:
Originally Posted by pampam
Is the free wifi at the parks too, or just at the resorts?
As of Sept 20, 2012 so far there is free Disney Guest wifi at all the WDW resort hotels, MK, EPCOT and both water parks. AK , HS and Downtown Disney will eventually have it.......we just didn't know when.

Sent from my iPad using DISBoards
__________________
Purplepeg's Dh
The Guy who started our Disney Adventure
Geodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 12:04 PM   #480
glorania
Earning My Ears
 
glorania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiger926 View Post
Texting - texting straight through your phone uses the SMS system, which is separate from data, which means you cannot use wi-fi for texting. The only way to use data for texting, is to get a texting app such as TextPlus, and this then uses data through your phone. If you don't want to do this, then you have no choice but to pay for a text package on your phone. The other option is a data message app such as What's App or Kik which uses data (not texting), but it would require that the people who you are messaging also have this program (What's App is similar to BBM, which you would be familiar with since you had a Blackberry).

iPods - you can use these on wi-fi, and if you have the TextPlus app, then you can text each other, or use iMessage (only if you have a newer iPod).

Lines App - this uses data, so you can turn roaming off on your phone as this would through wi-fi.

Hope this helps, Tiger
This helps tremendously!! Thankyou! We will use our ipod/iphone to text each other in the park if needed. nice to know we can do this without being charged. Will have to let DD know not to text back home or the bill will be a fortune! lol
glorania is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

You Rated this Thread: