Ths DIS is a great place to ask Disney Cruise Line questions and share tips.
Dreams Unlimited Travel - The official sponsor of the Disney Cruise Forums Dreams Unlimited Travel - the official sponsor of the Disney Cruise Forums  

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Cruise Line > Disney Cruise Line Forum
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts
 
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-22-2010, 05:22 PM   #1
davisdenyel
Mouseketeer
 
davisdenyel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 231

Question Florida carseat law?

I am thinking about taking a towncar or limo from mco to the port. My 2 youngest kids will be 5 and 7 at the time we go. What is the carseat laws in Florida? Will I need a carseat for them?
__________________
Denyel
7 day Disney Magic 11/12/2011
DH me DS13 DD8DD6
davisdenyel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 05:43 PM   #2
capitalmom
Mouseketeer
 
capitalmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 108

We were very surprised to learn that in Florida, once kids reach age 5 (regardless of height/weight), they only require a seatbelt. In Ontario, Canada, where we live, kids have to be in a carseat with 5 point harness til they reach 40 lbs, and in a booster until 80 lbs. That said, our DD is very small for her age (5 years and only 34 lbs), so she still uses a carseat at home. During our last trip to Florida, we brought a high-back booster instead (smaller and easier to pack) and she was pretty happy to ride like a big kid while we were there I found a very reasonably priced Cosco brand one at Walmart that comes apart into two pieces and includes a heavy plastic carrying case for travel.
capitalmom is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000
Old 03-22-2010, 05:43 PM   #3
tinkmom2
DIS Veteran
 
tinkmom2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 3,691

You can request a car seat from the limo company. Some include it for free. We didn't chance it and used one for my 4 year old.
__________________
5 times to WDW 3 DCL cruises Once on the Dream One DCL Cruise on the Way 3/29/15
Completed Disney Dream TR:http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=2820800
CBR and WDW TR:http://www.disboards.com/showthread....8#post43073148

Private Meeting with Donald and Friends DCL http://youtu.be/UISHRa8lScM
BBB The Reveal http://youtu.be/AOjMTF9YBtk
tinkmom2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:21 PM   #4
sjsjbrook
DIS Veteran
 
sjsjbrook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 1,115

I would ask the limo company or town car if a car seat is required. Even here in Ontario with very strick car seat laws, you don't need them in limo's, town cars taxi's, or buses. Some will let you use yours, but they don't always have the proper clips to clip the tether to.

This is partly why we decided to rent a car for our trip. Our son will be one and I just didn't feel comfortable having him ride on the buses.
sjsjbrook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:26 PM   #5
SmallWorld71
DIS Veteran
 
SmallWorld71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 5,053

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinkmom2 View Post
You can request a car seat from the limo company. Some include it for free. We didn't chance it and used one for my 4 year old.
As poster mentioned, most places have them for your use. Some for free, others for a nominal fee. Make sure to check with the company you are using. We used a service a few years back and requested a booster for DD4. Our driver showed up with several different kinds of seats for us to chose from.
__________________
me DH DS19 DS15 DD11 Zeke Coco

SmallWorld71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:35 PM   #6
Edd


Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 3,866

Children can sit in a regular seat at age 4 and above in Florida. Children under 4 have to be in a baby seat. Most transportation companies will honor your request for seats or boosters whatever the age, however don't request a town car and 2 seats. The town cars usually only carry one seat, if that, because of the lack of room.

If you need two seats request a van or SUV for your family.
Edd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:39 PM   #7
DisneyNicole
Mouseketeer
 
DisneyNicole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Philly
Posts: 109

Quote:
Originally Posted by capitalmom View Post
We were very surprised to learn that in Florida, once kids reach age 5 (regardless of height/weight), they only require a seatbelt. In Ontario, Canada, where we live, kids have to be in a carseat with 5 point harness til they reach 40 lbs, and in a booster until 80 lbs. That said, our DD is very small for her age (5 years and only 34 lbs), so she still uses a carseat at home. During our last trip to Florida, we brought a high-back booster instead (smaller and easier to pack) and she was pretty happy to ride like a big kid while we were there I found a very reasonably priced Cosco brand one at Walmart that comes apart into two pieces and includes a heavy plastic carrying case for travel.
I couldn't imagine; 80lbs?
My daughter would probrably be in a booster seat until shes 10.
In NJ it's 8 yrs old, reguardless of weight or height.
DisneyNicole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:45 PM   #8
Davids-Coco
Sometimes my inner monologue isn't so inner
 
Davids-Coco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,722

http://sheriff.org/safety/carseat.cfm and http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/...ESection%20613

"For children ages 4 - 5, a separate carrier, an integrated child safety seat, or a safety belt may be used. If a safety belt does not fit the child correctly, a booster set should be used to correctly position the lap and shoulder belts once they outgrow forward facing child safety seats (generally at about 40 pounds and 4 years old). Children from approximately 40-80 pounds and under 4'9" in height should ride in a booster seat."

This includes all vehicles other than motorcycles and busses.
__________________
Me DH DS1 DS2
Next trip: Disneyland!
Davids-Coco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 07:15 PM   #9
disney1990
Wow, it make my heart skip a beat
I'm going to miss these when the season ends
Lighting the Way to Paradise
 
disney1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,186

I see you are from Ohio, what are the car seat laws where you live? Are your children required to be in a car seat or a booster seat? I would do no less when visiting any other state.
__________________
Life is a Journey – remember to appreciate everyday -- be happy for this moment...this moment is your life



disney1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 07:32 PM   #10
schwoomp
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 265

Thanks for asking this question- I had wondered too. We are driving down from Michigan. Here the law is 8 years old or 4'9", whichever comes first. The 4'9" (57") cracks me up- my son is 7 3/4 and just 44". I do think it will be 10 - at least- before he hits 57". Even his twin sister is just 46". Is it even possible for a 7 year old to be 57"? But I actually think my kids would prefer the boosters so the seatbelt is comfortable and they can see out the window.
schwoomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 07:46 PM   #11
Davids-Coco
Sometimes my inner monologue isn't so inner
 
Davids-Coco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,722

I do believe you have to be 4'9" be Stitch...
__________________
Me DH DS1 DS2
Next trip: Disneyland!
Davids-Coco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 08:39 PM   #12
Daisy14'sDH
DIS Veteran
 
Daisy14'sDH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,519

Quote:
Originally Posted by capitalmom View Post
We were very surprised to learn that in Florida, once kids reach age 5 (regardless of height/weight), they only require a seatbelt. In Ontario, Canada, where we live, kids have to be in a carseat with 5 point harness til they reach 40 lbs, and in a booster until 80 lbs. That said, our DD is very small for her age (5 years and only 34 lbs), so she still uses a carseat at home. During our last trip to Florida, we brought a high-back booster instead (smaller and easier to pack) and she was pretty happy to ride like a big kid while we were there I found a very reasonably priced Cosco brand one at Walmart that comes apart into two pieces and includes a heavy plastic carrying case for travel.
Actually the Ontario law is a little different than you think here is the breakdown from the Ontario Government website.

Booster seats are required for children under the age of eight, weighing 18 kg or more but less than 36 kg (40-80 lb.) and who stand less than 145 cm (4 feet-9 inches) tall.

A child can start using a seatbelt alone once any one of the following criteria is met:

child turns eight years old
child weighs 36 kg (80 lb.)
child is 145 cm (4 feet-9 inches) tall
.


A lap and shoulder combination belt must be used with all booster seats. Your child's head must be supported by the top of the booster, vehicle seat or headrest. The shoulder strap must lie across the child's shoulder (not the neck or face) and middle of the chest, and the lap belt must cross low over the hips (not the stomach/abdomen). Never use seatbelt adjusters.



Between 18 and 36 kg (40—80 lb.)
Booster seat
Use with lap and shoulder belt



Hopefully that clears it up a little for you.
__________________
Daisy14'sDH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 09:54 PM   #13
capitalmom
Mouseketeer
 
capitalmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 108

[QUOTE=Daisy14'sDH;35939396] COLOR="Red"]Booster seats are required for children under the age of eight, weighing 18 kg or more but less than 36 kg (40-80 lb.) and who stand less than 145 cm (4 feet-9 inches) tall.

A child can start using a seatbelt alone once any one of the following criteria is met:

child turns eight years old
child weighs 36 kg (80 lb.)
child is 145 cm (4 feet-9 inches) tall
.

QUOTE]

Yes - I forgot to mention the 8 years old bit... of course, at the rate she's growing, DD (who's now almost 6), will probably be 8 years old before she hits 40 lbs, let alone 80!! Anyway, I was just surprised that in Florida, they are allowed to start using seatbelts alone at 5 (and that there doesn't seem to be as much of a distinction between booster vs carseat...). However, we just weren't comfortable going with the minimum allowed under the law, and opted to bring the booster (plus a carseat for the baby)... Once we were onboard our cruise, we just stuck them in the closet, which had ample room to store them.

Last edited by capitalmom; 03-22-2010 at 10:14 PM.
capitalmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 11:12 PM   #14
Davids-Coco
Sometimes my inner monologue isn't so inner
 
Davids-Coco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,722

Booster laws vary from state to state. Really, the only consistent is that babies rear face to one year and 20 lbs. Thankfully there are great seats available for extended rear facing and extended harnessing. There is also a ready-for-seatbelt "5 step test" out there that is a much better guide for when children can use a seatbelt than the laws alone (http://depts.washington.edu/booster/...eet%202002.pdf)
__________________
Me DH DS1 DS2
Next trip: Disneyland!
Davids-Coco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Florida child carseat laws? matosfam Transportation 14 10-26-2010 07:42 AM
Florida Carseat Laws kalaim@charter.net Transportation 7 03-25-2008 12:45 PM
Florida Carseat Laws? ICan'tWait Transportation 2 08-12-2007 09:02 AM
Child carseat restrictions in Florida??? TeresaMc Transportation 1 05-03-2005 01:06 PM
Florida law requires kids under 6 to be in carseat. Is this enforced? disney4us2002 Disney for Families 19 02-18-2002 03:12 PM

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.