Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Global Neighbours > Canadian Trip Planning & Community Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts
 
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read





Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-21-2009, 12:09 PM   #256
Salinger
Mouseketeer
 
Salinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 204

From what I've read, your account will become inactive and you will lose your phone number after 90 days with no new minutes added to your account.

To reactivate, you simply buy a prepaid card, and activate your phone again, adding the minutes to it. You will be assigned a new phone number at that time.

Depending on special offers available at the time, and how much trouble it would be to pick up a new phone, it is conceivable it might actually be cheaper to buy a new phone with bonus minutes than to buy a prepaid card.
Salinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 07:37 PM   #257
cslittle999
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orangeville, ON Canada
Posts: 1,451

Okay that makes sense.
__________________
Chris

CBR November 2003
WL December 2005
First Trip Home - BWV August 2007
MNSSHP - VWL October 2008
BWV/AKV Kidani August 2009
BWV November 2009 - 20th Wedding Anniversary
BWV/HHI August 2011
BWV August 2013, BCV October 2013
BWV August 2014
cslittle999 is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000
Old 04-28-2009, 03:39 PM   #258
jmann
Mouseketeer
 
jmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 121

Has anyone tried Net 10? They have great deals and if you can get to a US Walmart you can pick up a phone that comes with 300 minutes and lasts 60 days. They also have a long distance program where your family at home get a number to call so it does not cost them ld charges when they call you.
jmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 09:04 PM   #259
Snibs2412
Earning My Ears
 
Snibs2412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24

Yes!! My family and I just took our first trip to WDW this past March Break, and on our drive down we picked up 2 Net10 phones (one for me and one for my husband) at Wal-Mart. They worked wonderfully, and were such a great deal. Why would we pay outrageous fees to use our Bell cell phones in Florida when the US has options like this??!?
Snibs2412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 09:58 PM   #260
SaskDisNut
DIS Veteran
 
SaskDisNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 1,092

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snibs2412 View Post
Yes!! My family and I just took our first trip to WDW this past March Break, and on our drive down we picked up 2 Net10 phones (one for me and one for my husband) at Wal-Mart. They worked wonderfully, and were such a great deal. Why would we pay outrageous fees to use our Bell cell phones in Florida when the US has options like this??!?
Net10 is a subsidiary of Tracfone so I would expect that they offer very similar deals to them. I looked at them at Walmart as well but decided to go with Tracfone since that's what I had read more about.

It is good to get an opinion an Net10. Thanks. And to the Disboards!
__________________
Feb 1990 - Disneyland - Carousel Inn
Jan 1992 - Walt Disney World - offsite
Jan 1993 - Disneyland - Can't Remember!
May 2007 - WDW - Pop Century
Dec 2008 - WDW - Pop/CSR
Jan 2009 - WDW - Beach Club - IBM Lotusphere 2009
Oct 2009 - WDW - CSR & Free Dining!!
Feb 2012 - Disneyland - HOJO Anaheim
Feb 2012 - Disney Wonder - Mexican Riviera Cruise



Check out my --> CSR Review 10/3/2009 - 10/11/2009
SaskDisNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 09:22 AM   #261
Snibs2412
Earning My Ears
 
Snibs2412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 24

Thanks - I love these boards!!!
Snibs2412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 04:24 PM   #262
jmann
Mouseketeer
 
jmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 121

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snibs2412 View Post
Yes!! My family and I just took our first trip to WDW this past March Break, and on our drive down we picked up 2 Net10 phones (one for me and one for my husband) at Wal-Mart. They worked wonderfully, and were such a great deal. Why would we pay outrageous fees to use our Bell cell phones in Florida when the US has options like this??!?
I know, my Rogers phone would cost me a fortune to make a call or text. For $30 I get a phone and can make local calls without thinking about it.
jmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 12:12 AM   #263
cdnmousegirls
canadian disney fan!
 
cdnmousegirls's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 20

When there last Sept we still paid some very expensive roaming charges but used our unlimited texting free to communicate with the rest of our party in the parks!
__________________
cdnmousegirls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 11:08 AM   #264
Styx555
Earning My Ears
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2

Texting

Sorry, I'm sure this has been answered already, however can't find it. I have 2 rogers phones that we will be bringing down with us. If we text each other, are there additional charges?

What about texting to a phone back home on Canada?

Thanks
Styx555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 11:16 AM   #265
Kurby
All the adversity I've had in my life, all my troubles and obstacles, have strengthened me... You may not realize it when it happens, but a kick in the teeth may be the best thing in the world for you. ~Walt Disney
 
Kurby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Second star to the right and straight on 'til morning
Posts: 10,710

yes - but you can get a texting package when you go.

we got one from bell - $5 for 50 messages.

it is the cheapest way to go since roaming charges are a *itch
Kurby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 02:49 PM   #266
Styx555
Earning My Ears
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2

we currently have unlimited texting. Will this work or is it a seperate package needed when visiting the States?
Styx555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 11:34 AM   #267
Wazzo
Is in need of a No Way Jose!
Just the unput I was looking for
I'm the undecided party
 
Wazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,085

I picked up two prepaid cell phones in the US yesterday (just across the border), and I am now trying to activate them at home. The activation doesn't seem to be updating the phone. Is it possible to activate them from Canada? Or do I need to be in the US?

I have a Florida phone number on the online account for the phone, but the phone itself doesn't seem to be connecting to the service. I'm wondering if I need to wait until I'm across the border for the phone to pick up the right American signal??
Wazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 08:04 PM   #268
cslittle999
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orangeville, ON Canada
Posts: 1,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wazzo View Post
I picked up two prepaid cell phones in the US yesterday (just across the border), and I am now trying to activate them at home. The activation doesn't seem to be updating the phone. Is it possible to activate them from Canada? Or do I need to be in the US?

I have a Florida phone number on the online account for the phone, but the phone itself doesn't seem to be connecting to the service. I'm wondering if I need to wait until I'm across the border for the phone to pick up the right American signal??
You probably need to be in the US. Most pay-as-you-go phones don't work outside of the country they are bought in.
__________________
Chris

CBR November 2003
WL December 2005
First Trip Home - BWV August 2007
MNSSHP - VWL October 2008
BWV/AKV Kidani August 2009
BWV November 2009 - 20th Wedding Anniversary
BWV/HHI August 2011
BWV August 2013, BCV October 2013
BWV August 2014
cslittle999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 01:19 PM   #269
Wazzo
Is in need of a No Way Jose!
Just the unput I was looking for
I'm the undecided party
 
Wazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,085

Quote:
Originally Posted by cslittle999 View Post
You probably need to be in the US. Most pay-as-you-go phones don't work outside of the country they are bought in.
Thank you! I will try again once we cross the border.
Wazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 09:24 AM   #270
peacefrogdog
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Etobicoke, Ontario
Posts: 636

3 questions

1. Is there a time delay to activate the phone once in the US? I'm debating buying a T-Mobile or Virgin phone once I arrive in Orlando for November but would like to start using it right away. Wil it work right away once activated?

2. Also, when you buy a pre-paid card, do you have to activate it by certain time? For example, if I buy a pre-paid card now, could I wait to use it (and activate it in November)?

3. Also, can you buy pre-paid cards in Canada (e.g. Virgin) and use them for a US-based phone?
__________________
peacefrogdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

You Rated this Thread: