Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Just for Fun > Photography Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-08-2012, 05:40 PM   #1
KarenAylwood
It wouldn't be the holidays without Stove Top!
The dancing banana gets me every time...
I do have a secret squeel of joy
"Humps" has grown on me like a fungus

So annoyed right now- stealing pictures, is this legal?

Will try to make a long story short.

I'm not a professional photog, just love photography. I take a lot of pictures when I travel and whenever I can locally. I don't sell any of them, mostly take them for personal use or for/of friends.

I have a smugmug website that I use as another backup for my pictures and to share pictures with friends and family. In July a friend started as a realtor (made a career change) in a city not far from here. I love that city so I have a good amount of really nice pictures of it on my smugmug. She wrote an email to a bunch of friends and family telling us and sent out her new website (it's kind of like a blog about the city and with info on houses on the market there). She then immediately wrote me an email that said "PS I "borrowed" some of your pictures for my website off your smugmug, Thanks " It really angered me when I saw it. This friend used to be very close to me but we've grown apart over the past few years. We haven't been nearly as close as we used to. I decided to let it go and try to just let it slide (not a usual occurrence for me). I never replied to either email. We've talked since but never about that (and not often, last time was about a month ago).