Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Just for Fun > Photography Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-28-2012, 11:51 AM   #1
dkfogt
Mouseketeer

Question SONY RX100 - can a newbie learn it in 6 days?

I am an amateur user. I have always had a point n shoot but have been shopping for something better for a long long long time. I take LOTS of pictures and while I don't aspire to be a professional photographer, I do love to make photo books with what I am able to capture...

So, the SONY RX100 comes along and I have been looking at it.... but haven't bought it yet. We leave for WDW in 6 days and we will be there for 11 days total - including the Halloween Party (dark!). You know I am going to make a big photo book from this trip, no doubt!

My question here is this - is 6 days enough for me to learn how to use the camera well enough to make it worth buying now vs Christmas time? Do I need (will I want) special software or memory cards?

The only camera I use right now is a Canon Powershot digital elph. I am unimpressed.
dkfogt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 12:56 PM   #2
traylorc
DIS Veteran

That's challenging question....whether or not you can learn it in six days depends on your experience with point and shoot camera. If you had used a older Sony Cybershot, then moving up the to RX100 would obviously be easier.

I bought my wife a RX100 when it was first available...and there was no manual. I had to find a link online to download the manual and it was HUGE. I think it would be daunting for someone who has never used Sony before to read through that manual in a few days time. Hopefully Sony has started including a "quick start" manual so folks can jump up to speed quickly.