Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Global Neighbours > Canadian Trip Planning & Community Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts
 
facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2007, 10:57 AM   #1
disneyred
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 1,499

Cell phone use at WDW

from Canada. I am using a rogers cellphone...(but its UNLOCKED)

now can I (when I) travel to disney....

take my same cellphone to disney, buy a sim card (to stick into my cellphone )and prepaid card from an americancompany (verizon, cingular, etc..) and used it that way ?

I thought it would be cheaper as the sim card never expires so, i can use it
in the states....
what do you think , would this work ?
disneyred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 11:40 AM   #2
ChisJo
Cause afterall, a dream that you wish, will come true!
 
ChisJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 2,298

You will still have to pay roaming fees...and they are EXPENSIVE!!!

I bought a US calling package for the month when I went last...well worth every penny. You get 100 minutes for US calling, to and from, and well worth it. I wasn't planning on using my phone very much, but did a couple times just to touch base on some topics that email couldn't handle. I think I paid $30 extra dollars, but it I am planning on doing it again this year when I go....that way, people can still get a hold of me and I don't have to worry about getting a RIDICULOUS phone bill.

I don't know how the Sim card would work - I only thought that Sim cards stored the information on your phone so that you can transfer that to a new phone when you upgrade (corret me if I'm wrong???).

Jo
__________________
WDW Marathon - January 2009


ChisJo is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Join Date: 1997
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,000,000
Old 05-11-2007, 11:45 AM   #3
DiRTyBuNNy
Remembers a time when ducks were mighty and Disney owned a hockey team!
 
DiRTyBuNNy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lenoir City, TN
Posts: 1,102

Quote:
Originally Posted by disneyred View Post
from Canada. I am using a rogers cellphone...(but its UNLOCKED)

now can I (when I) travel to disney....

take my same cellphone to disney, buy a sim card (to stick into my cellphone )and prepaid card from an americancompany (verizon, cingular, etc..) and used it that way ?

I thought it would be cheaper as the sim card never expires so, i can use it
in the states....
what do you think , would this work ?
You'd have to go through Cingular or T-Mobile because those are the only two that are GSM (and use a SIMChip in their phones) but I don't see why that wouldn't work. They both offer pre-paid phones.

--Mr. DB
DiRTyBuNNy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 12:27 PM   #4
nosnobunny2006
Mouseketeer
 
nosnobunny2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 426

I don't believe Rogers charges roaming fees anymore.

Beth
nosnobunny2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 12:30 PM   #5
DiRTyBuNNy
Remembers a time when ducks were mighty and Disney owned a hockey team!
 
DiRTyBuNNy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lenoir City, TN
Posts: 1,102

Quote:
Originally Posted by nosnobunny2006 View Post
I don't believe Rogers charges roaming fees anymore.

Beth
Nope, Calls made in the US back to Canada are quite expensive (per this chart at least)

--Mr. DB
DiRTyBuNNy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 12:52 PM   #6
SaraMc
DIS Veteran
 
SaraMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Burlington, ON
Posts: 2,342

We have rogers and paid a arm and a leg to call home while in WDW to wish DBIL Happy Birthday. Also the service was not that great. DH and I were in two diffrent parks calling each other and could barely hear each other through all the static.
__________________
SaraMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 01:18 PM   #7
nosnobunny2006
Mouseketeer
 
nosnobunny2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 426

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiRTyBuNNy View Post
Nope, Calls made in the US back to Canada are quite expensive (per this chart at least)

--Mr. DB
Maybe that's why my charges aren't bad, because I never call back to Canada.

Beth
nosnobunny2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 01:46 PM   #8
disneyred
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 1,499

ok
so if i understand correctly :

1. my scenario would work if I just made local calls within disney ??
that would work out ok if i was just calling among ourselves in disney

BUT
2. still charge roaming calling to canada..
disneyred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 02:23 PM   #9
fuzzy164
Mouseketeer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 103

Cell phone savay

Quote:
Originally Posted by disneyred View Post
from Canada. I am using a rogers cellphone...(but its UNLOCKED)

now can I (when I) travel to disney....

take my same cellphone to disney, buy a sim card (to stick into my cellphone )and prepaid card from an americancompany (verizon, cingular, etc..) and used it that way ?

I thought it would be cheaper as the sim card never expires so, i can use it
in the states....
what do you think , would this work ?
I don't think that would work your sim card stores the information such as your phone number when you activate the phone( Rodgers asks you to provide the p/n when you call and they match it up with the phone via sattlilte correct me if I'm wrong here), phone#'s you save to the sim as well if the phone is stolen they can "blow the sim card" electronically rendering the phone useless (thanks for the lesson DD). As well would you not have to be issued a new phone number by the company that issues the sim card?
What if you bought one of the pay as u go cheapies from Wal-Mart in the U.S. for 9.99 and bought a sim card up here would it work( hhhhmmmm might have to go the U.S. this weekend and test my theroy).
Bottom line maybe call Rodgers and ask what if....
Have fun.
Fuzzy164
fuzzy164 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 03:16 PM   #10
disneyred
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 1,499

hmmmmmmmmm ok. ... I hear y'all

I thought:
my sim card carried all my personal data...so in this case, my canadian info..
so I would take it out.... BUT buy a new sim card in disney and just plug
it into my current phone to use...as if I was a disney residence..

am I losing it now ???
disneyred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 06:49 PM   #11
CanadianGuy


Me and My Posse doing our New Kids on the Block moves at PI
 
CanadianGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 15,506
DISboards Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by disneyred View Post
hmmmmmmmmm ok. ... I hear y'all

I thought:
my sim card carried all my personal data...so in this case, my canadian info..
so I would take it out.... BUT buy a new sim card in disney and just plug
it into my current phone to use...as if I was a disney residence..

am I losing it now ???
You are correct. If your phone is unlocked and you can locate a carrier with prepaid SIM cards... you're good to go.

There's nothing left in the phone to identify it to the network without the SIM card.

Put another SIM card in .. and the phone is only identified with the network of that SIM card.. not the previous one.

Your idea will work - IF you can locate the prepaid SIM card.

Google "PREPAID SIM CARD" and you'll get lots to read.

EDIT: T-Mobile offers these. Rates start at about 20c a minute and go as low as 10c a minute depending on the initial buy-in amount.

HOWEVER: Long Distance to Canada is pricey on their plan tho. 40c a minute... and that's on top of their other rate and this is all in US $.

The Rogers plan includes long distance to anywhere in the US or Canada.

Info on the Rogers plans is available here. I've used these plans and the 75$ plan for 240 minutes worked like a charm for me. That works out to 31c a minute.. TOTAL. In Canadian dollars.

http://www.shoprogers.com/business/w...on&cat=1&typ=2

I got the bill for this all my calls both within the US, and to Canada were 0.00$ -- no charge. I did not exceed the 240 minutes of course. I was charged 10c to call an 800 number each time I called it. I knew about this charge, so the 80c wasn't a shocker.

There's no shortage of people who have nightmare stories about using a Canadian cell phone in the states. Usually this is because they either were horribly mis-informed.. or simply assumed it wouldn't be that expensive.

If you are a Rogers customer, the U-S Add-On for Roaming GSM customers is a very good deal and it works.

Knox
__________________
Everything You Need to Know About Discount Codes & PINS For Disney Resorts

06/1995 - All Star Music | 11/1998 - Wilderness Lodge | 10/1999 - Disneyland
06/2006 - Pop Century | 03/2007 - Pop Century | 06/2007 - Coronado Springs
12/2007 - All Star Sports | 06/2008 - Pop Century | 09/2008 - All Star Sports
06/2010 - Swan | 06/2012 - Dolphin | 01/2013 - All Star Sports



Last edited by CanadianGuy; 05-11-2007 at 07:35 PM.
CanadianGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 08:18 PM   #12
Northstar
DIS Veteran
 
Northstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 1,975

I think that's the point of getting your phone unlocked... then your phone isn't a Rogers phone unless you use a Rogers SIM card, is it?

Check with the folks who performed the unlocking service (that sounds weird...the phone-unlocking guys) to make sure. They will know because that's their bread-and-butter. But a pay-as-you-go SIM card on North American standard should work fine.
__________________
Me: DH: DD: DK:
Northstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 03:17 PM   #13
F4disneyfan
It all depended on my mood in the morning
I was a headbanger at heart
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Only in Canada EH!
Posts: 2,067

Your best bet if you really want to do this is to do a google search on cell phone unlocking there are tonnes of sites and they will actually list how you go about this and there are tonnes of places in the Disney area that sell sim cards for unlocked phones then you buy the card pop it in and away you go. A friend of mine has an unlocked phone and has Rogers and Fido on one phone she just swappes out the sim card and she is good to go the phone uses the data stores on the sim it is not stored in the phone.

http://reviews.cnet.com/4520-3504_7-6625604-1.html

http://www.thetravelinsider.info/roa...lockingfaq.htm

http://www.cellphonehacks.com/
__________________
F4disneyfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 04:49 PM   #14
disneyred
DIS Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 1,499

Quote:
Originally Posted by F4disneyfan View Post
Your best bet if you really want to do this is to do a google search on cell phone unlocking there are tonnes of sites and they will actually list how you go about this and there are tonnes of places in the Disney area that sell sim cards for unlocked phones then you buy the card pop it in and away you go. A friend of mine has an unlocked phone and has Rogers and Fido on one phone she just swappes out the sim card and she is good to go the phone uses the data stores on the sim it is not stored in the phone.

http://reviews.cnet.com/4520-3504_7-6625604-1.html

http://www.thetravelinsider.info/roa...lockingfaq.htm

http://www.cellphonehacks.com/
ok...guess I was not clear enough,,,if you read my beginning post..
my phone is already UNLOCKED....
disneyred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 05:59 PM   #15
Mickey1Fan
He had five fingers and was wearing white gloves
 
Mickey1Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,246

After an almost $400 bill for roaming if I were you I would check with Rogers. Get the information from them and note who you talked to and when.

I was given incorrect information by others. No one on this board, but people I thought knew how roaming worked.
Mickey1Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS Updates
GET OUR DIS UPDATES DELIVERED BY EMAIL



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.

You Rated this Thread: