Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > disABILITIES!
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 02-28-2006, 08:46 PM   #1
tarkus
I'm just here for the ride

Disney the segway and the ADA

Hello, I'm a Florida resident who held a seasons pass so I could take "out of towners" to the Mouse, as is done down here.

Through post 9/11, I dropped plenty of money at Disney World.

My wife and I will no longer visit due to my recent spinal cord injury.
Through hard work and the grace of God I am able to stand but not walk for any distance. My injury also makes sitting for long periods painful.

My doctors at Mayo Clinic suggested a Segway as a mobility aid and it changed my life.

Except Disney says NO SGWAYS despite what the protections provided by the ADA and others laws.

The federal DOT, the only place a definition of a common wheelchair exists for legal purposes, has made a decision.

The site does not allow me to post url's but a google search of FDOT SEGWAY will show the governments posititon.

yet still a ban at Disney. It's sad that the "Happiest place " in the world sees no reason to follow the law.

Epcot embraces new tech with their Segway Adventure but has no insight into the future.

The number of disabled using the segway is growing.

I would hope the mouse would a leader in new devices of "universal design" that can effect the lives of those with a mobility related problem.

Regards,
Alan
Old 02-28-2006, 09:41 PM   #2
Ambassador
DIS Veteran

US Dept of Transportation Federal Highwya Admin Study

Tarkus,