The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com

The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com (http://www.disboards.com/index.php)
-   Disney Cruise Line Forum (http://www.disboards.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Formal & Semi Formal Nights (http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=3232215)

RGLakatos 02-06-2014 10:56 AM

Formal & Semi Formal Nights

Hello Everyone!!!

I have a really stupid question....

There are formal and semi-formal nights on our cruise in June. Although I am a psychologist I really do not "dress up" when I see patients so I am not going to desire to dress formally on a cruise where I am suppose to be relaxing.

Is a nice dress shirt and pants (formal or suit pants) acceptable for formal and/or semi formal nights or is someone going to say something to me about it or worse not allow me in the dining areas at night?

I really do not like the pretentious nature of formal wear.....thanks for everyone helping me in this silly question.

Sir William 02-06-2014 11:23 AM

If you do a quick search you'll find lots and lots and lots of discussion on what to wear or not wear for the formal and semi-formal nights.

Quote:

Originally Posted by RGLakatos (Post 50657020)
Is a nice dress shirt and pants (formal or suit pants) acceptable for formal and/or semi formal nights ...

Yes.

Quote:

Originally Posted by RGLakatos (Post 50657020)
...or is someone going to say something to me about it or worse not allow me in the dining areas at night?

No.

Disney's official recommendation is:
Though optional, we recommend: Dress pants with a jacket or a suit for men, and dress or pantsuit for women
As you can see, you don't have to get too fancy or formal, and even a jacket is optional, as is a tie. However, since many people will be going all out, its respectful to at least dress nice for the evening. What you describe should be fine.

GW45 02-06-2014 12:10 PM