The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com

The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com (http://www.disboards.com/index.php)
-   DVC Resorts (http://www.disboards.com/forumdisplay.php?f=187)
-   -   Question about renting DVC points (http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=3104883)

Kai Rose 05-01-2013 12:37 PM

Question about renting DVC points

Hi, I'm really new to DIS, so I'm not sure if I'm doing any of this correctly. I am also technology-challenged. I am already planning a summer 2014 trip for my family, and I have read a few things about renting DVC points. It seems like a good way to save money on a deluxe, but I have a few concerns. I want to stay at Boardwalk, but a studio is the only thing in our budget. The one bed and one foldout sofa would be a problem for my family with two kids. My son is a tall fourteen-year-old. Could we use the points for a standard room? Any other suggestions or comments about renting DVC points would be greatly appreciated.

JKMJ441724 05-01-2013 01:06 PM

lovetoscrap 05-01-2013 04:54 PM

Moving to our DVC board.

Chuck S 05-01-2013 05:02 PM

No, resorts that have a DVC Component will not allow members to book standard non-DVC rooms on points.

OKW is the only DVC resort that has two real queen beds in a studio.

You could rent points for the Polynesian or Grand Floridian, but I would guess it would actually cost more than booking a cash room. It takes a lot of points to book a room at a non-DVC resort, and there is an addition $95 trade out fee to use the points outside the DVC system.

DebbieB 05-01-2013 05:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kai Rose (Post 48267643)