The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com

The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com (http://www.disboards.com/index.php)
-   Disney Cruise Line Forum (http://www.disboards.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Wi-Fi in Grand Cayman, Costa Maya, Cozumel (http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=3036524)

WDW Princess 71 12-26-2012 10:09 AM

Wi-Fi in Grand Cayman, Costa Maya, Cozumel
 
I'm looking for info on free or almost free wi-fi spots in Grand Cayman, Costa Maya, and Cozumel. If you had experience using Skype, facetime, or other hi-bandwith apps successfully, I would like to know that also since that is what I'm seeking to do, Skype home for a few minutes to say hi if possible. My last cruise to the Bahamas, I tried the free wi-fi in the terminal at the port but it was not strong enough to have a conversation on Skype at all, so I'm hoping to hear about some 'tried and true' spots for my upcoming Western caribbean cruise if possible.

bwallace 12-26-2012 10:39 AM

We had pretty slow speeds even with full signal at the Turtle Farm in Grand Caymand and at the port area in Costa Maya.
Pretty good signal at Paradise Beach and La Choza restaurant in Cozumel.

Disney52303 12-26-2012 11:58 AM

We took a cab to Tropicante in Costa Maya (lives it!!) and they had free Wifi. Worked great

ssanders79 12-26-2012 01:23 PM

Cozumel - Starbucks and Margaritaville
GC - Margaritaville

Just ask the crew where they go.

kcashner 12-26-2012 01:40 PM

Cozumel--Starbucks right at the pier. Buy something and the access code will be on the receipt. Free, unlimited use. Good service.

Grand Cayman--sorry, it has been several years since I tried it here.

Costa Maya--never been there.

algae 12-26-2012 01:46 PM

At Cozumel, if you take an excursion to Playa del Carmen, the ferry ride has free wifi on board. Worked pretty well fo me.

chrissyt27 12-26-2012 08:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Disney52303 (Post 46995214)
We took a cab to Tropicante in Costa Maya (lives it!!) and they had free Wifi. Worked great

We used Wifi here too. It was great. He let us use his skype phone as well. I am sure you need to eat or get drinks to use it.

Nat Tucker 12-26-2012 08:58 PM

We went to Maya Chan in Costa Maya and they had free wifi. All inclusive spot. I would go there again. Www.mayabeachresort.com

Sent from my iPad using DISBoards

Drew Sailbum 12-30-2012 12:09 AM

Grand Cayman
The public library downtown on Edward St has free wifi. You have to go inside to the desk to get the password. You can then sit outside to Skype and talk.

Burger King on North Church St also has a rocking good hi speed internet but no power outlets for laptops. Burger King and Wendy's on West Bay Rd likewise have wifi.

A few shops in George Town do have computers with Skype. You get a few minutes free with a purchase.

Dizzyworld 12-30-2012 01:27 AM

Grand Cayman: there was a little coffee shop on the corner acroo the street from the port. You will need a password which was either cupcakes or sprinkles. Just ask someone there. It was free but we bought sodas anyway.

Costa Maya: out in the courtyard . The crew told us the connection was faster there than in the restaurant . Senor Frogs I believe was the restaurant. The connection was slow.

Just cheched my email to connect with our son who was at home preparing for his trip to Switzerland. So I can't comment on Skype, etc.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.