The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com

The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com (http://www.disboards.com/index.php)
-   Disneyland (California) (http://www.disboards.com/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Do schools in your area have Thanksgiving week off? (http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=3019666)

Brancaneve 11-10-2012 10:28 AM

Do schools in your area have Thanksgiving week off?

I am curious about how the impact of teacher furloughs will affect crowds the week of Thanksgiving. I am a teacher in a district that put the furlough days on the Monday and Tuesday prior to Thanksgiving weekend. On the boards I have read that several other districts have done the same for the past few years, resulting in large crowds prior to turkey day. However, my district took furloughs away and increased our health benefits, thereby reinstating class in session the week of Thanksgiving. Has your district done the same?

The second part to this story is that our union begged the district to give us the whole week off because we simply loved it tooo much. They simply tacked on those two days at the end of the school year. So, I will be in the parks Sunday evening through Wednesday and hoping that it will be less crowded than in "furlough" years.

Thank you disers as always for answering my questions!! You're the best! ::yes::

DharmaLou 11-10-2012 10:40 AM

we're in the Denver 'burbs, but yes our schools have Thanksgiving week off. My daughter is just in Montessori, but their school follows the school district it lies in.

disney4cam 11-10-2012 11:10 AM

My kids' schools have always had off the days before Thanksgiving. I don't know anyone whose kids are in school Thanksgiving week - except apparently Elk Grove. lol

Jedana 11-10-2012 11:13 AM

Yes, DS's school district has the whole week off.

When we lived in Vegas, they always got the week of Halloween off.

Iceman93 11-10-2012 11:17 AM