The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com

The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com (http://www.disboards.com/index.php)
-   Canadian Trip Planning & Community Board (http://www.disboards.com/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Free Wifi in Disney - does it work for Canadians? (http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=3002188)

4orm 10-03-2012 02:44 PM

Free Wifi in Disney - does it work for Canadians?
 
I know that sounds off but I read the disboards "Select the network "Disney-Guest", connect and accept the terms and conditions. You shouldn't have to do this more than once. Covered cellular carriers include AT&T, Verizon, Sprint, T-Mobile, and MetroPCS."

I thought wifi was just wifi and would work with anything able to get a connection. Am I wrong? Does it only work for certain cell carriers? I'd much rather us wifi than pay for an expensive data package from Fido.

Have any of you fellow Canadians use the free wifi yet in the parks on a Canadian cell?

Polydweller 10-03-2012 03:41 PM

Yes it does, I have used it, wifi and cellular are two different technologies and I have no idea why cellular carriers are even mentioned. I was a manager of IT, and the wifi you get at home is the same as wifi at Disney and you do not need cellular to access wifi there anymore than in your house. Disboards should take that erroneous info down. You can use any wifi device, tablets,iPods, laptops, macs etc just like home.

At any rate, go to Disney, turn off your cellular data, and enjoy the free wifi.

Tiger926 10-03-2012 03:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Polydweller (Post 46340263)
Yes it does, I have used it, wifi and cellular are two different technologies and I have no idea why cellular carriers are even mentioned. I was a manager of IT, and the wifi you get at home is the same as wifi at Disney and you do not need cellular to access wifi there anymore than in your house. Disboards should take that erroneous info down. You can use any wifi device, tablets,iPods, laptops, macs etc just like home.

At any rate, go to Disney, turn off your cellular data, and enjoy the free wifi.

Exactly! Not sure why the selected carriers are mentioned, but I think that was in the info that I saw on the Disney website, and not just DISboards.

It worked fine for us in August, Tiger

4orm 10-03-2012 04:37 PM

Awesome! Thanks all!

I thought it was weird that cell carriers and wifi was mention but I thought perhaps I didn't know how things worked as well as I did. Looking forward to free app use in the parks!

bdoyledimou 10-04-2012 12:00 AM

free wifi works in MK and Epcot right now and probaly the other parks sooner than later.

And it's a good solid connection -- DW was able to post videos from her Iphone to facebook within minutes of taking it -- it was like having our family and friends with us :)

dsneygirl 10-04-2012 08:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bdoyledimou (Post 46344377)
And it's a good solid connection -- DW was able to post videos from her Iphone to facebook within minutes of taking it -- it was like having our family and friends with us :)


I actually thought the opposite this week, the connection was very sporadic and not reliable.

Polydweller 10-04-2012 10:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsneygirl (Post 46346025)
I actually thought the opposite this week, the connection was very sporadic and not reliable.

I wouldn't be at all surprised that it varies a lot. I put wifi into a hospital campus the same size as MK. It's very hard to make it work. The signal from each router is circular but the areas serviced are usually rectangular or rhomboid. Try drawing a series of same size circles in a square that can only overlap a little bit (otherwise the signals cancel each other). Lots of places where there is no overlap, that's lesser signal in the real world and that's one of the problems, you will have low signal areas regardless of how you arrange your routers.

Then there is the congestion problems. The more people connected the slower it will be. Even though router connection capacities have increased over the years, they still can only handle a maximum number of simultaneous connections. And, at about 50% of rated capacity they really slow down and the congestion gets really noticeable. You may not be able to connect at that point. And wifi has less capacity than cellular, just the narure of the type of radio communications used. I would be very surprised if those limits aren't reached often at Disney.

Too much info probably, but the bottom line is there will be spots of lower Signal strength and the more people the more difficulty with connectivity and speed.

TagsMissy 10-04-2012 04:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 4orm (Post 46339609)
I know that sounds off but I read the disboards "Select the network "Disney-Guest", connect and accept the terms and conditions. You shouldn't have to do this more than once. Covered cellular carriers include AT&T, Verizon, Sprint, T-Mobile, and MetroPCS."

I thought wifi was just wifi and would work with anything able to get a connection. Am I wrong? Does it only work for certain cell carriers? I'd much rather us wifi than pay for an expensive data package from Fido.

Have any of you fellow Canadians use the free wifi yet in the parks on a Canadian cell?

No idea why DISboards would mention any carriers... it's misleading and well kinda shows lack of knowledge. Wifi, is simply that, WiFi... it's not a data plan or anything.

EastYorkDisneyFan 10-04-2012 08:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bdoyledimou (Post 46344377)
free wifi works in MK and Epcot right now and probaly the other parks sooner than later.

And it's a good solid connection -- DW was able to post videos from her Iphone to facebook within minutes of taking it -- it was like having our family and friends with us :)

You forgot blizzard beach and DHS which just added wifi last week

Tinkershelly 10-05-2012 07:33 AM

I just returned home Wednesday and used the free wi-fi on my ipod touch in park and netbook in the resort (Port Orleans Riverside) and can confirm that it both works and is free. Also I can confirm that in park it is spotty for connectivity, as in sometimes it would show there were no "waves" and I had to move to get connected. Other times there were three full "waves" showing but I still couldn't connect because of over usage, I suppose. Also I had to agree to the terms multiple times so don't be surprised if that happens to you as well. The wi-fi in the resort was very good and I never had problems connecting in the room or in the common areas of other resorts.

That said, occasionally for hours at a time that I was unable to connect in MK and Epcot when the parks were very busy, so my advice would be to not rely on wi-fi alone if you need to connect with your travelling companions during the day. Otherwise it was a welcome addition for us.

Sue M 10-05-2012 11:55 AM

When we were there we had wifi at our resort and MK. Resort was fine most of the time, and MK. But during heavy usage both were spotty.
Don't know why it mentions specific companies either, but when in the US Telus uses AT&T. I turn off my cellular data.
Also had to agree to terms regularly. Would be nice to only have to do it once.

MaMudduck 10-07-2012 07:47 PM

Returned yesterday from WDW- wifi is definitely working in DHS (wasn't at blizzard beach so don't know about that).

The only issue DH & I found is that I had problems with me Mac at the AKL & DH had issue with his iPad, no issues on connecting with DH PC laptop or android phones (with wifi, not 3G), it was just weird with the Apple products...:confused3...don't know why, maybe just a fluke.

bdoyledimou 10-08-2012 10:46 AM

onme thing i found while at the world was on my Apple products, if there was a WEAK 3g signal, the wifi just wouldnt work at all -- so we disabled 3g all together and just used the wifi and it would work.

Alderbrook 10-10-2012 09:29 PM

We were there in late sept & the wifi was TERRIBLE! Sometimes a connection, sometimes not. We were at POFQ & I rarely got a signal in our room. My GF was there at the same time & at the Coronado & she said it was terrible for her too. It was unreliable & wouldn't even send a FB message. We ended up having to call each other's room. MK was the best connection, epcot spotty at best. You would be connected & then nothing. I was really disappointed in their wifi.

Sue M 10-12-2012 09:59 PM

Oh no!! We will be at FQ in January. Hope the wifi improves by then.

Nothing to do with wifi but aug 2011 at POR I was using a T Mobile stick ( before they put in free wifi) and had tovsitvwith my MacBook outside on the walkway to get a signal. Awful. But when we moved to BC reception was great. :confused3


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.