The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com

The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com (http://www.disboards.com/index.php)
-   Disney Restaurants (http://www.disboards.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Vegan Meal at Le Cellier (http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=2526801)

AJackson09 08-06-2010 10:47 AM

Vegan Meal at Le Cellier
 
Has anyone had a vegan meal at Le Cellier? If so, would you mind describing what you had? Pictures are always great too :flower3:

Thanks!

Anthony1971 08-06-2010 10:52 AM

Sorry in advance
Why would you go to a STEAK HOUSE :lmao:

I would guess you can have a salad with nothing and that may be risky as it was around STEAK

cdtommie 08-06-2010 10:56 AM

I can recommend the salmon esp the version with the hoison sauce, had it the last two times.

sydneysmom 08-06-2010 11:03 AM

I'm sure that you could put that on your reservation as a "special dietary need" and then the chef will come talk to you. Chances are they will probably put something together just for you. ( they do that at Ohana quite a bit). I don't believe that there is anything on the menu that is specifically vegan though since it is a steakhouse. But the Disney chefs will work with you to make your dinner memorable !!

MHSweb79 08-06-2010 11:41 AM

The OP may be travelling with non-vegans, so that's why they would go to a steak house!

I think pretty much all the Disney restaurants are able to whip up a vegan meal, even the steakhouses. You can get more information here: http://allears.net/din/vegtsparks.htm

AJackson09 08-06-2010 12:35 PM

really
 
Yes, I will be traveling with my non-vegan husband, and that's why we are going to Le Cellier. That's the best thing about DW, you're not limited to specific "vegan" restaurants, they all are. You can go to any restaurant at Disney World and they will make you a vegan meal, I just don't ever remember seeing any reviews of Le Cellier vegan meals.

Anyone else??

Also - salmon is not included in a vegan diet. I don't eat any animal or any products that come from an animal.

Thanks

bicker 08-06-2010 12:49 PM

To be clear: Salmon is not even vegetarian. For reference:

Vegan = Eats no animals nor any products that are made from animal products. No beef, no pork, no lamb, no poultry, no fish, no dairy, no eggs, etc. Vegans also don't eat items such as rice cooked in chicken stock, caviar, gelatin, marshmallow, nor honey.

Vegetarian = Also will not eat animals; i.e., no beef, no pork, no lamb, no poultry, no fish, etc. However, vegetarians will eat dairy, and eggs. Vegetarians generally wouldn't eat rice cooked in chicken stock, caviar, nor gelatin, but will generally eat honey.

Pescatarian = This is still a bit of a made-up word, but it works. Essentially, this is a person who eats like a vegetarian in every way, but will also eat fish, and fish eggs.

There are several threads that the OP may want to consult, regarding eating vegan/vegetarian at WDW:(from here it becomes less about eating at WDW and more about eating at home...)

bicker 08-06-2010 12:54 PM

BTW, on our last visit to Le Cellier (as two vegetarians, and no meat-eaters), we had a decent meal, regardless; not as good as meals at other WDW restaurants (including Chefs de France and San Angel Inn, which were both fantastic), but better than some other meals we had.

It was a tomato/mozzarella stack, though; so not vegan. Sorry I couldn't help with more details for you.

cdtommie 08-06-2010 12:59 PM

Sorry, wasn't sure if vegan and no meat are interchangeable (ok, they're not)...in any event the salmon is pretty good esp if you're looking for something other the typical Cellier stuff.

bicker 08-06-2010 01:22 PM

Incidentally, one of the Le Cellier menus lists this item:
Quote:

Sautéed Potato Gnocchi - with grilled eggplant, cherry tomatoes, pesto broth, and parmesan cheese $19.99
Without the Parmesan cheese, that would probably qualify. But again, sorry, it wasn't what we had, so I don't know how good it was, nor how good it would have been without the cheese.

And beyond that, without the cheese, it probably has zero protein. :0

gem21 08-06-2010 02:32 PM

Except gnocchi is made with eggs (or at least that's the only way I've ever made them or seen them made), so I doubt that's considered vegan.

bicker 08-06-2010 02:34 PM

Duh! I forgot the egg! Thanks.

AJackson09 08-06-2010 02:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bicker (Post 37709825)
Duh! I forgot the egg! Thanks.

lol

Guy Incognito 08-06-2010 02:49 PM

heck, the chef might see it as a nice challenge to come up with something unique.... it's gotta be easier than the time my wife and I were at the Chef's table at Victoria and Alberts.... the chef had been coming in regularly to describe each dish, but hadn't been in for a few courses... he finally popped back in and apologized for the absence, and said there was a guest in the main dining room who said he could only eat bread and cheese, and wanted his 7 course meal made from just those two items....

AJackson09 08-06-2010 03:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Guy Incognito (Post 37710030)
heck, the chef might see it as a nice challenge to come up with something unique.... it's gotta be easier than the time my wife and I were at the Chef's table at Victoria and Alberts.... the chef had been coming in regularly to describe each dish, but hadn't been in for a few courses... he finally popped back in and apologized for the absence, and said there was a guest in the main dining room who said he could only eat bread and cheese, and wanted his 7 course meal made from just those two items....


wow, now that's kind of crazy!! Talk about limited options. And what an expensive meal for bread and cheese. :rotfl:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.