The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com

The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com (http://www.disboards.com/index.php)
-   Transportation (http://www.disboards.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Florida Carseat Laws (http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=1765529)

kalaim@charter.net 03-24-2008 08:18 PM

Florida Carseat Laws
 
Does anyone know what the car seat laws are in Florida?

I have a 6 year old and my state still requires a booster seat. We are renting a car for one day, and I didn't even think about if we'd need a seat or not!

Thanks for any info!:)

delmar411 03-24-2008 09:48 PM

I believe it is age 4 to ride w/ just a belt..

http://www.dot.state.fl.us/Safety/HighwaySafetyGrantProgram/hsgp/HSGPareas_OccupantFAQ.htm#Florida's%20Child

says only children under 5 have to have a seatbelt? Weird...

but she will be fine at age 6.

AKBAFB 03-24-2008 10:12 PM

Yes, I actually checked this out just today. In the state of Florida kids up to age three must be in a car seat of some sort. For age 4 -5, they must use a seat belt (or a car seat or booster if you so choose). After age 5 it is recommended that they use a seat belt, but not legally required.

That said, IMHO, even though it may be sort of a hassle and added expense, I would much rather be safe than sorry. I will be following the NTSB recommendation of using a booster until the kids are 8 or 80 pounds.

sueh 03-25-2008 07:41 AM

I was just about to post the same question.

My daughter is 6 and we will be also renting a car for 1 day.

Thanks for the information on the Florida laws.

kalaim@charter.net 03-25-2008 09:33 AM

Thanks all!:thumbsup2

momhmmx2 03-25-2008 09:55 AM

From someone who has seen what happens when the seatbelt does not fit propery (I'm a Pediatric ICU nurse) PLEASE PLEASE use the booster until they are 4'9".

We joke with our dd that she will probably be in her booster when she starts driving:rotfl:
That's my 2cents..
Thanks

cranbiz 03-25-2008 12:11 PM

Also folks, please remember that there is a seat belt law in FL.
While you technically cannot be stopped for not wearing one, you will be amazed at what the deputy will say he stopped you for and then cite you only for all passengers not belted up.

gymboqueenkaylee 03-25-2008 12:45 PM

thanks for posting this. i was wondering the same thing as well. my daughter will be in at least a 5pt booster (britax regent) until she can no longer fit for safety reasons!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Copyright 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.