Florida Carseat Laws?
Is my 7 yo required to have a booster seat in Florida? I'm thinking of just letting my 4 yo use his brother's booster seat while were there and then I only need to haul a booster seat instead of a booster and a carseat. I looked up the law on line and it sounds like even the booster seat isn't required in Florida for a 4 yo? I know it's a safety issue as well as a baggage issue so please no flames.
He is a link to the Florida law. http://www.dot.state.fl.us/Safety/Hi...ccupantFAQ.htm and the part you're interested in is:
4. What is Florida's Child Restraint Law?
All children 5 years of age or younger must be properly restrained no matter where they are sitting in the vehicle. Children through age 3 must be secured in a separate carrier or a vehicle manufacturer's integrated child safety seat. For children aged 4 through 5 years, a separate carrier, an integrated child safety seat, or a safety belt may be used. (FL Statute 316.613).
I'm surprised since most states have moved to requiring booster seats for kids under 8 unless they meet a weight and/or height requirement.
The strange thing is that to points farther down is:
6. If the safety belt does not fit my child correctly should the shoulder belt be placed under the child's arm for a better fit?
Never put the shoulder belt under a child's arm or behind the back, as this increases the risk of severe injury in a crash. Use a booster seat to correctly position the lap and shoulder belts for children once they outgrow forward facing child safety seats at about 40 pounds and around 4 years old. Children from approximately 40-80 pounds and 4'9" should ride in a belt positioning booster seat.
So while they say that children should be in a booster seat they don't actually require it. Regardless of the law I think the question you have to ask yourself is will both of your children be safely secured in the car if you are in an accident? Do seat belts fit your DS7 without a booster seat? Does your 4 yo meet the booster seat's requirement? Only you can make these determinations.
The laws of physics supersede any state laws so unless your 7yo passes the 5 step test, I would bring booster seats for both kids.
|All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997-2014, Werner Technologies, LLC. All Rights Reserved.