PDA

View Full Version : adhesive for ribbon

disney funseeker
10-12-2005, 02:15 PM
Hi I am new to scrapbooking. My first project is an autograph book.

I have Scotch clear dots, Scotch double sided tape, a tape runner, and self adhesive photo tabs.

found some Princess ribbon at Wal Mart that I want to glue along the side of a page. What should I use?

Can I buy Hermafix at Michael's? Is it called Dotto, EK Success now?
When do you use a glue pen? Should I buy one?

Honeybehr1
10-12-2005, 02:28 PM
I use my Zyron machine with the ribbon. I have use my mini tape runner from CM as well.

disney funseeker
10-12-2005, 02:43 PM
can you describe a Zyron machine? what is it used for besides gluing? Is it very expensive?

piratesmate
10-12-2005, 02:55 PM
I believe the regular price for the "little X" Xyron 150 is about $10 at Mikes/ACMoore. However, I never use it in the "X". I just use the refull cartridge. I think one of the stores has the refills on sale 40% off this week.

I've not used it for ribbon unless I have something else to put through at the same time. It's too much waste for me. :( I usually put Sizzlit letters on the other side of the tape to get more out of it.

I like the smaller Sizzlit letters, but they're really tough to put down without the Xyron. I also use it for small punches like the Mickey ears & the castle. It can also be used for buttons that have a flat back.

When I don't want to use the Xyron I've used Aleene's photo glue - the liquid type, but I've seen a new type more recently.

Twigs
10-12-2005, 03:22 PM
I use glue dots to adhere ribbon to my pages. And sometimes I feed the ribbon through eyelets of an element and tape the ends to the back of the piece.

Honeybehr1
10-12-2005, 10:56 PM
can you describe a Zyron machine? what is it used for besides gluing? Is it very expensive?