PDA

View Full Version : Substitute Hours Cut - Need Help With Additional Income Please!!

chrismiss56
08-23-2005, 09:39 AM
Hi to All!! :wave:

Am posting this on the Community Board as well.

I have been a substitute teacher for the last 5 years and LOVE IT!! :sunny: The school district I work for has had a waiver with the State of Illinois allowing us to work as many days as we wanted (usually about 175 for me!!).

The waiver has expired and the state won't renew!! :faint: :eek: Now I am limited to 90 days in any one school district. Yes, I can add on other school districts and play the juggling game. I am spoiled and would rather not.

So, I am turning to you looking for suggestions for supplemental income. Any ideas that are reliable?

Have heard about medical transcriptions. Anyone doing that? How did you get started - taking classes? How did you find the company you are with?

Any help is always appreciated. :upsidedow

Thanks and Have a Magical Disney Day!! ::MickeyMo

Linda

chrismiss56
08-23-2005, 12:32 PM
bumping in hope of information!!

Have a Magical Disney Day!!

ptrbryant
08-23-2005, 12:34 PM
I keep hearing a lot of parents hiring tutors to help get their children up to par with the peers...I have no idea how much money is in that, but I've heard the Sylvan Learning Centers, etc. are very expensive. It seems you'd be able to make a fairly good part-time income from it.

Karla B.

kilee
08-23-2005, 12:51 PM
I did Medical Transcription for awhile. Realistically, you may luck out and find someone to just hire you. However, most of the time they are looking for a complete course in Medical Terminology. Along w/ typing 90+ words a minute. You usually get paid by the line. It is a great field but a little saturated lately.

kandeebunny
08-23-2005, 02:10 PM