PDA

View Full Version : Ebay Sellers - Possible Money Saver


Dancind
05-16-2005, 11:50 AM
I just found out about a new Paypal competitor called Greenzap.com. Maybe it's been mentioned here before, no Search button today on my DIS boards. Anyway, it looks like their flat fees will be a moneysaver for anything selling over about $10, compared to Paypal. I pre-registered, and they didn't ask for credit card or bank info yet. It starts up on June 1.

They are offering $25 credit in your account to sign up, plus money for referrals. But I signed up for the lower fees! It's about time Paypal got some competition. You do need a referral code to pre-register.

I don't work for Greenzap! I do pay a lot of fee money to Ebay and Paypal though.

pediatric-rnp
05-16-2005, 12:35 PM
There were a few threads about Greenzap.com on this board awhile ago -I don't think they were very favorable if I recall correctly -you may want to do a search for those threads to get more info -also do a Google search to research the company further.

Dancind
05-16-2005, 01:25 PM
Search isn't working today. I did find a site that was saying this must be a rip-off, since the guy that started it used to be in the mortgage business.

I would imagine that most of the naysayers, like that website, are started by Ebay. If you remember, Paypal started the same way. They offered free credit card payment service for quite a while, then it was a small charge. Everyone wondered how they stayed in business, but they did much better than Paypal's payment service at the time, which was Billpoint.

Then Ebay bought Paypal, and the fees went up. You can't blame me for hoping that Greenzap will do well. But I will proceed with caution. As I said, they haven't asked for any financial information yet.

pediatric-rnp
05-16-2005, 03:04 PM
I can't really comment either way, as I don't know that much about them, but eventually you will have to give them some personal information for payments to be processed. I'm just ultra-cautious when it comes to new companies like this -personally I'm just not in a hurry to be one of their first customers, but that's just me. I'd rather pay the Paypal fees and know that I'm dealing with a known company. The $25.00 incentive is not worth the risk to me. It may be perfectly legit - but like you said......proceed with caution. Good luck in whatever you decide to do! :goodvibes

Dancind
05-16-2005, 03:23 PM
You're right, of course. I'll "wait and see", but I'll also "hope". Now, if only someone could start a viable competitor for EBay!

gary4jenn
05-16-2005, 03:49 PM
If you google it- it comes up on the scam lists. They don't ask for any financial info in teh begining but there are several sites that list them as a scam. Just want you to know what I found.

rflorek
05-17-2005, 06:34 AM
GreenZap is a total scam.

It is being run by Damon Westmoreland, of the biggest pyramid scheme/scam artists in the United States.

At first, GreenZap’s domain registration was by proxy (no legit company does this) and then they changed it to where it was no longer by proxy. When they did this, for one day it had the same phone number as other scam companies of Damon Westmoreland’s (jet99, card global, and mazumah). On the next day they changed it, after it was discussed on a forum how it was the same phone number. Oddly enough, they still left the mailing address as that of a rented mailbox in a grocery store in san diego area.

The most recent press release of GreenZap’s, announcing their CEO, lists Linda Murphy as their contact person. Interestingly enough, this is the same person that the San Diego’s Better Business Bureau has on file as being the VP of Marketing for Mazumah

With lots of pressure from people, Damon Westmoreland finally posted on GreenZap’s community forums (http://www.gzcommunity.com/forumz/index.php ) and admitted that he was involved with GreenZap. However, they still claimed that he was only hired by them because of his expertise in online funds transfers and database software. And that all of the accusations regarding Damon Westmoreland were simply rumors and unfounded.

A few of us posted some proof of Damon Westmoreland’s criminal activities (and how one company was shut down for Mail Fraud, another one shut down by the Federal Trade Commission) and now for some mysterious reason the community forums are down.

Anyway, the truth has come out regarding GreenZap and since I saw this thread I thought I should pass this information along.

Some interesting reading regarding the subject

http://community.sparedollar.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=57419
http://www.freeauctionscripts.com/communit...mmerce4839.html

be sure to read both pages at both sites

and warn everyone about greenzap!