PDA

View Full Version : Travel Insurance?

mom23
02-03-2005, 05:33 PM
We are ready to book our cruise and the price that we were quoted included travel insurance through Disney which added about $300 onto the price of the cruise. Has anyone NOT used this insurance? Do the vast majority of people use it? I have never used insurance before but then again, I have never been on a cruise or out of the country. Give me your thoughts....

Thanks!
Robin

allears
02-03-2005, 05:59 PM
My strong recommendation would, get travel insurance! We always get it for our curises. You don't have to get it through DCL, I have read that you can get it a bit cheaper on your own, I go head and tack it on, just one less thing to think about.

Here's why you should get it, you never know what may come up. In 2003 we were booked on a 7 night trip. The Sunday before we were to sail my wife was hospitalized with a kidney infection. The good news is she got out the day before we sailed and was okayed by the dr. to go. If not, w/out insuance we would have lost the entire trip. Way too late for a full refund. That was a close call and made a believer out of me.

Next story, we sailed this past September, the Hurricane Jeane crusie. The departure of which was delayed from Saturday to late Monday night. We were pretty much enroute to Florida when we found out. We were booked overnight at the Airport Hyatt, but they didn't have any rooms available for Saturday and Sunday. Our TA was able to find us a great place for all three nights. So we had two extra nights of a hotel, food, and taxi expenses. Our travel insurance covered all of that. We got back close to $1000, well worth the, I think, $250 or $300 it costs us. The only thing insurance didn't cover were cell phone calls to any place other than DCL.