PDA

View Full Version : First Timer.....Help!!

tombob
06-11-2004, 01:43 PM
planning our first trip to WDW....2 daughters 8 and 6....will be flying down from NJ...for various reasons have not been able to get to WDW as of yet....looks like we have to do it in summer, unfortunately...I understand from what I have read on this great site that the end of august is not as bad as rest of summer as far as crowds...so we are looking to go then....planning to do the 5 plus 2 deal, deciding between WL, CBR and CS....

right now our schedule is flexible so what I am wondering is.......is there any difference between 3rd vs. 4th week in august, any difference between sat to sat stay vs. sun to sun stay...or even mid-week to mid-week??

I know it will be extremely Hot and Humid and there will be lots of rain, having said that, is it worth the $$ to go at this time of year for the FIRST time???

tks for all of your help....

Destination Disney
06-11-2004, 01:56 PM
Being a Florida resident, I have a seasonal pass in which it has blackout dates. These are dates when the parks are the busiest, and my pass is not valid then. This is fine since I would not want to deal with huge crowds in the Florida summer anyway! Looking at my 2004 calendar, the back out dates end on the 19th of August. I think the fourth week would probably be favorable for you. Labor day weekend belive it or not is not that bad at all either. Many northern schools, as you know, start in the beginning of Sept. so vactations are over and the crowds are not as large. Yes, it will still be hot, but if you stay in a disney resort you can just jump on a bus, boat, etc. and take a breather back at your resort. It does rain, but here is the scoop on Florida weather. It never really lasts for more then 1 hour. Usually around that time of year you will get a late afternnon shower, maybe some thunder and lighting, but it blows over pretty quick. (I live in the Tampa area, central Fl., so our weather is the same almost.) Lo