PDA

View Full Version : Priceline no, Hotwire yes


soupy11
03-12-2004, 11:28 AM
So my wife and I were trying to get reservations at La Quintana resort and we were all set to pay $79/night. I did some research and found that with an Orlando Magiccard you could get a $20/night discount. This was agreeable to my wife and I. Then I heard about priceline etc. Well without a US address we couldn't go thru priceline and I assumed (wrongley) that hotwire would be the same.

Anyway, we booked last night and with some help from betterbidding.com we were able to get La Quintana for $26/night. I am still speechless at the savings. Anyway, give it a shot if your on a budget and you don't think us Canucks can get some breaks.

DisFan2
03-12-2004, 01:14 PM
Hi soupy,

It is possible for Canadians to bid using Priceline. I just use a US address when signing up. I've never been asked by the hotel for proof of residency - all they want is the confirmation number and the credit card which was used to bid with. The only real "problem": you have to use an American Express card.

soupy11
03-12-2004, 07:39 PM
Wow
Thats great. I thought that the billing address had to be the same as on the card. Thanks for that tip.

I don't have an AMEX but good to know.

tigercat
03-12-2004, 10:14 PM
I have used Priceline using a MC as well. Canadian VISA's don't seem to work. I had to use my dd's as we only have VISA.
tigercat

MaMudduck
03-12-2004, 11:29 PM
I've used Priceline, all I had to do was enter my address in alittle differently-:street adress and on the same line as street address, you enter the TOWN/CITY.
Then in the "city" line you put ONTARIO & POSTAL CODE and for "State" you enter CA- which we all know means California but the computer doesn't ;) , and I use "90210" for ZIp code or 90000.
I also learned that one on betterbidding.com.

Looks like you got a good deal!

Btw- I aslo used an AMEX card as there wasn't a problem

hockey mom
03-13-2004, 04:26 AM
I have used my Amex and MC and my zip code is 11111.

You got a great deal. Have fun!

Daisy-J&D
03-13-2004, 09:51 AM
I bid on priceline but only for one day I was so worried about not having a US address. I did the California trick so lets hope it works cause I really want to stay at Marriott World Centre!!!::yes::

ChisJo
03-20-2004, 11:49 PM
When you use priceline, do you have the opportunity to choose the hotel you want to stay in? Has anyone ever used it for airfare?

alohamom
03-21-2004, 08:34 AM
You cannot pick your hotel but if you go to www.biddingfortravel.com(the forum that supports priceline)you can read from the recent posts what hotel has been selling in what"zone" and for what price it has been won at. This is not a sure thing because it always changes but if you see a pattern then the odds are good. The hotels are broken down into catoragized(sp?) zones -resort, 4*, 3* 2* . At the top of the biddingfortravel section for Orlando and Disney area there is a hotel list. Pull that up and look at the hotels they can provide in the area and read about all the hotel in that area (for example, the resorts for one area of orlando are Hilton in Downtown Disney, Wyndam Palace inDTD, Gaylord Palms, Marriott World Center, The Swan and The Dolphin Disney Resorts) If it doesn't matter to you which of these you stay at then you are set. Look at what price people have paid and that gives you a frame of reference from which to bid. I paid 60/night at The Hilton in DTD in December when we went for MVMCP. The best price through all others was about 90/night. You do usually pay resort fees at the resort level, like 5 to 12 night but just facto that in and it still saves you $$$$. My Dad goes to Asia alot and uses it for hotel stays there all the time. I strongly suggest calling the hotel the next day to confirm your reservation and do any requesting you need (like 2 double beds over a king etc...) We got stuck once in Hawaii with a King size room for 2 nights for our family of 4 but we just asked for a rollaway bed. You cannot be picky with Priceline but the savings for me make it very worthwhile. I DO NOT use priceline for airline tickets as it is not good for kids(read the FAQs on biddingfortravel regarding the rules govering minor airline travel. If it were just me and my hubby I might, but ya know, it never is!!!!I just love priceline, as you can probably tell.Hope this helps everyone...:cool:

pkitty
03-21-2004, 09:52 PM
Hi Soupy that's a great price!!!Which La Quinta...we just stayed at the new one on Polynesian Isle Blvd in Kissimmee (5 minutes from WDW maingate) for 2 nights prior to our stay at POP and I was impressed...it was absolutely beautiful!!!! We paid $79/night thru Expedia. MaMudduck that's hilarious...I've used 90210 as well while bidding on Priceline!!:teeth:

soupy11
03-23-2004, 09:35 AM
Hi,

We are staying at the one on 192. It used to be a Sheraton? I have read some ok things about it. We spend so little time in our room that we are thrilled with the price. It gives us 5-600 to spend on other stuff that otherwise would have gone to the hotel.

epicureangirl
03-26-2004, 06:40 PM
I need more 'control' over hotel selection than Priceline can offer, so I am thrilled to use Hotwire and pay a little more.

I'll be paying $49 night during Easter break for the Hyatt Regency near Disneyland and couldn't be happier. Here's another vote for using www.betterbidding.com to learn the ins and outs of using Hotwire and Priceline.

You can always try it out on a less crucial vacation (say a weekend away?) and then work your way up... you'll get more and more confident each time you bid.

:O)