PDA

View Full Version : Why would you buy from DVC with resale prices so good?

Grumbo
09-10-2003, 03:15 PM
I am a complete novice to DVC and am wading through old posts and looking at resales the price seems so much better than buying direct from Disney.
I guess the months may be limited but all resorts seem available on resale.
I'm sure this may have been discussed before but I couldn't find it. Could someone enlighten me please?
Cheers,
Grumbo

CK1
09-10-2003, 04:18 PM
Mostly, it's a matter of convenience. DVC will finance, there's no closing costs, it's just all soooo easy (too easy, sometimes!) And no waiting to see if ROFR is going to take your dream away.

It's kinda like retail shopping versus ebay... there are deals to be had, but some folks just don't want to bid and haggle and watch the clock to see if they "won", they would rather go, buy, pay, and enjoy, even if it costs them a tad more.

TIme is money, as the saying goes. ;)

If we were looking for a large or initial contract, we would DEFINITELY go resale. We had planned to do a resale for our first add-on, back when BWV was "sold out". When we got word that BWV would have pts available this summer, though, we jumped on it. Again -- convenience was the key.

Grumbo
09-10-2003, 04:27 PM
From what I've read closing is around $500 (roughly) depending on points purchased?
What is ROFR? I've seen it a few times but the anacronyms here are wild :) Is there a list of them somewhere?
The fact we like either BWV and the BV's makes us look at resales closer but we investigated a year ago and to be honest my head was swimming after researching it.
I'm getting that same feeling again now :) but we are in a position where we'll do this or we're going to move and buy a larger home.
Decisions decisions :)
Cheers,
Grumbo

Granny
09-10-2003, 04:31 PM
Some advantages of buying from Disney instead of resale:

1. You can pick exactly how many points you want.