PDA

View Full Version : Newbie to scrapbooking???

Debs5angels
07-13-2003, 09:54 AM
I am VERY new to scrapbooking! I have nothing but am very anxious to start. Sorry if I ask too many questions.

1. What supplies do I need to start off with?

2. This may be a dumb question but, I know when you buy a scrapbook it comes with pages and I know they sell colorful or fancy background papers so my question is do you glue the fancy paper on top of the page in the scrapbook and then build up from there?

Thanks for any help!!!

debs5angels
:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:

monalsw
07-13-2003, 10:51 AM
and have accumulated so much stuff, but have a ton of fun with all of it!

1. you could spend a fortune on supplies, but after buying so much, i have picked out the few most important! i use my paper trimmer on every layout; i didn't have one until i went to an all day crop in april...don't know how i did without one! i have the fiskars office version, $17.43 at wm. i also love card stock; i use it for the background paper, or matting pics, or punching out squares, or matting titles, or cutting out accents, all of the above! a good adhesive is important; i have tried photo mounts, glue and finally bought a hermafix, which dispenses the photo mounts easily! found mine at michael's. also use a square punch alot, can do title blocks, punch out small pics, mount accents on them, etc.

2. i buy my albums at joann's and they have white paper in the page protectors. i do my pages on cardstock or patterned paper, and just slide them in over the white paper. it gives the page some support!

it's not as overwhelming as it seems, pick up a creating keepsakes magazine at joann's and look at pieces of the pages to see what can be done easily to start. the first page is the most difficult, just because it's new to you, but then you'll be off and running with ideas!

happy scrappin!

Spinning
07-13-2003, 12:21 PM