PDA

View Full Version : Quick salad ideas for shower?

tigercat
06-12-2003, 10:59 PM
I have to go to a family baby shower. I really don't want to go but one of us from the family has to show up. Anyway, I am suppose to bring some kind of salad. I prefer not to bring a pasta salad because I have wheat allergies so is there another kind of cold salad I could bring that doesn't take a lot of time to prepare. I am rushed for time on Sat. I am a good cook and baker but my own family really doesn't like out of the ordinary food so I never make anything different.
Thanks
tigercat

SoonerKate
06-13-2003, 04:04 AM
I like this salad a lot -- I've brought it to a few bridal showers and everyone seems to like it. It's a green salad, I just keep the dressing in a separate container until I get to the shower.

2 bags pre-washed mixed field greens
3 pears - peeled, cored and chopped
5 ounces Roquefort or any blue cheese, crumbled
1/2 cup thinly sliced green onions, or chopped red onion
1/4 cup white sugar
1/2 cup pecans
1/3 cup olive oil
3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1 1/2 teaspoons white sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons prepared mustard
1 clove garlic, chopped
salt and pepper

Over medium heat in a non-stick skillet, stir 1/4 cup of sugar together with the pecans. Stir gently until sugar has melted and caramelized the pecans. Carefully transfer nuts onto waxed paper. Allow to cool, and break into pieces.

For the dressing, blend oil, vinegar, 1 1/2 teaspoons sugar, mustard, chopped garlic, salt, and pepper.

In a large serving bowl, layer lettuce, pears, blue cheese, and green onions. Pour dressing over salad, sprinkle with pecans, and serve.