PDA

View Full Version : Help with getting a/c to stay on!


tobin04
09-20-2012, 04:02 PM
We just got to the Poly today. The a/c shutting off all the time is beyond frustrating. I remember reading there is a way to bypass it so it doesn't shut off in the middle of the night due to lack of movement. Can someone help? I have a hard time hunting from my cell.

dansdad
09-20-2012, 04:06 PM
Press/ hold F/C button on left side....once "b/p" appears its on override

Or some have had luck with tying a helium baloon to a chair near the A/C. The A/C blowing will keep the baloon moving.

cyb
09-20-2012, 05:04 PM
I keep reading about this but I've never experienced this problem while at Disney, it just doesn't make sense to me that there is such a thing, everytime I check into a room at Disney it's freezing the thermostat is usually set at 68 degrees lol and I've never had it get too warm at night. I've stayed at the Poly, WL, BW, BC, BCV, YC, GF, POR, CBR and the cabins at FW.:confused3

JLVermillion
09-20-2012, 05:38 PM
DH is in HVAC commercial / residential distribution and has never heard of a thermostat that is motion activated. Can you take a picture of the stat and maybe we can help. He said all the stats he has seen in Disney Deluxe Resorts have been basic stats and should be easy to program. What temp are you trying to set it at ?

it's kelly
09-20-2012, 05:42 PM
I'm having the same problem at AKL. I've never had an issue before this. I have the a/c set on 68 and we wake up in our sleep sweating. We can't have balloons and I don't see anyway to override it.

JLVermillion
09-20-2012, 05:58 PM
I'm having the same problem at AKL. I've never had an issue before this. I have the a/c set on 68 and we wake up in our sleep sweating. We can't have balloons and I don't see anyway to override it.

Can you post a picture of the stat ? If not what king of stat is it ( brand name ).

MickeyNicki
09-20-2012, 06:12 PM
The only resort we had this problem with was AKL. We were told it was motion activated because the entire resort was a GREEN one. It was miserable because we like the room very cool at night.

it's kelly
09-20-2012, 06:16 PM
Can you post a picture of the stat ? If not what king of stat is it ( brand name ).

I will try and remember tonight. If I can't figure out how to post a pic I will give you whatever info I can see on it.

JLVermillion
09-20-2012, 06:24 PM
I will try and remember tonight. If I can't figure out how to post a pic I will give you whatever info I can see on it.

Just asked a friend and was told there are as pp said "GREEN" ones, but that most places and contractors stay clear because they do not promote comfort. People have HVAC so they are comfortable at all times.. if you are asleep you certainly are not in motion. Defeats the purpose . Still post the a brand or picture. The units in the rooms ( at least villas ) all have their own systems so you may need to call for service.

tobin04
09-20-2012, 06:33 PM
It says "sensor stat" on it. I thought I had outsmarted it but we left to go to the pool and it was back up to 74 when we got back. (it is set at 65 just because it is so darn hot!). I'd be thrilled with getting it down to 70 and having it stay there.

vicki_c
09-20-2012, 06:34 PM
DH is in HVAC commercial / residential distribution and has never heard of a thermostat that is motion activated. Can you take a picture of the stat and maybe we can help. He said all the stats he has seen in Disney Deluxe Resorts have been basic stats and should be easy to program. What temp are you trying to set it at ?

They are all over Disney resorts now, and many office buildings as well. I don't know what brand they have at Disney, but a quick Google search pulled up quite a few articles like this
http://www.achrnews.com/articles/motion-sensors-coming-to-hvac

You can only keep it running when unoccupied if you know how to override it.

vicki_c
09-20-2012, 06:40 PM
Press/ hold F/C button on left side....once "b/p" appears its on override

Or some have had luck with tying a helium baloon to a chair near the A/C. The A/C blowing will keep the baloon moving.

Wow I have some old instruction for overriding the SSR thermostats in my Owner's Locker and there are about a dozen steps I think.

Wicket's Mom
09-20-2012, 06:53 PM
We arrived home from AKL this past Saturday. Our thermostat was set at 72 & we stayed pretty cool the whole time, almost too cold. The halls were very icey!

it's kelly
09-20-2012, 07:05 PM
We arrived home from AKL this past Saturday. Our thermostat was set at 72 & we stayed pretty cool the whole time, almost too cold. The halls were very icey!

The halls are like ice boxes! I need my sweater to walk around the hotel and I sweat in my sleep. Lol.

JLVermillion
09-20-2012, 07:05 PM
They are all over Disney resorts now, and many office buildings as well. I don't know what brand they have at Disney, but a quick Google search pulled up quite a few articles like this
http://www.achrnews.com/articles/motion-sensors-coming-to-hvac

You can only keep it running when unoccupied if you know how to override it.I hope they have not converted BCV. DH said his friend was saying they are a big pain it the bottom. Most people go for a more comfortable way and that is to simply zone their homes and commercial areas. When you are at WDW and it is hot and one has spent all day in parks most want to come back to a nice cool room flop on the sofa ... RELAX. Instead to have have to move about more just to cool off your room. DH thinks once WDW have had enough complaints about the system they will put it back to normal set your own temp stat.

MMS1125
09-20-2012, 07:08 PM
We've had this problem at the Poly and CSR. We got the Poly to override but not CSR for some reason. If you can't get it bypassed, just call the front desk and they will send maintenance to do it

it's kelly
09-20-2012, 11:20 PM
It doesn't have any name on it but it has 3 buttons. 1- Fan Only 2- Fan Speed 3- Display

There's also a small motion sensor looking thing.

wdwmom0f3
09-20-2012, 11:33 PM
It doesn't have any name on it but it has 3 buttons. 1- Fan Only 2- Fan Speed 3- Display

There's also a small motion sensor looking thing.

If no one can help you from here soon, I would call someone there to come set it to stay on. That would drive me insane!

cyb
09-21-2012, 10:27 AM
The halls are like ice boxes! I need my sweater to walk around the hotel and I sweat in my sleep. Lol.

Leave your door open to cool off your room lol

JLVermillion
09-21-2012, 10:29 AM
Call the front desk and have disable the sensor. DH friend says you can usually take them off , but better to call and have Disney do it so you do not get in any trouble. If we knew the model we could call a contractor or one of the manufacturer reps and find out how to disable it. We need to start a petition to get rid of these things and send it to Disney:goodvibes

JLVermillion
09-21-2012, 10:32 AM
It doesn't have any name on it but it has 3 buttons. 1- Fan Only 2- Fan Speed 3- Display

There's also a small motion sensor looking thing.

Push display, it should have push button scroll down options. What do they say?

it's kelly
09-21-2012, 11:29 AM
Push display, it should have push button scroll down options. What do they say?

When I pushed display it went from lo to high but then went back to auto.

rock_doctor
09-21-2012, 11:57 AM
Here is a link to a thread about this for BLT. It doesn't work there anymore but it may help you. I would call down and tell them fix it or to move you... You paid a good price to be there and to enjoy yourself not to be unhappy.

http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=2537420

it's kelly
09-21-2012, 12:07 PM
Here is a link to a thread about this for BLT. It doesn't work there anymore but it may help you. I would call down and tell them fix it or to move you... You paid a good price to be there and to enjoy yourself not to be unhappy.

http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=2537420

There is no f/c button for me to press. We've been able to deal with it, but it is warmer then we'd like. This is just an issue we've never had before this visit. Maybe it's a new unit.

JLVermillion
09-21-2012, 01:33 PM
DH is in meetings for the rest of the afternoon, he does however agree with pp that you need to have them fix it. You should have a great time during they and look forward to getting a good nights rest in the pm.

vicki_c
09-21-2012, 02:50 PM
I hope they have not converted BCV. DH said his friend was saying they are a big pain it the bottom. Most people go for a more comfortable way and that is to simply zone their homes and commercial areas. When you are at WDW and it is hot and one has spent all day in parks most want to come back to a nice cool room flop on the sofa ... RELAX. Instead to have have to move about more just to cool off your room. DH thinks once WDW have had enough complaints about the system they will put it back to normal set your own temp stat.

I hear what you are saying, but I have had the instructions to override the SSR thermostat in my Owners Locker since 2008 or 2009. It's not new at Disney and as they upgrade the resorts, they have been adding them. I don't see it going away.

JLVermillion
09-21-2012, 04:17 PM
I hear what you are saying, but I have had the instructions to override the SSR thermostat in my Owners Locker since 2008 or 2009. It's not new at Disney and as they upgrade the resorts, they have been adding them. I don't see it going away.

I see your point, however after talking with a few people I found out that they are easy to install and remove along with inexpensive to purchase. I think when enough people complain and they have to constantly send someone up to override it they will change it back.

rock_doctor
09-22-2012, 07:15 AM
There is no f/c button for me to press. We've been able to deal with it, but it is warmer then we'd like. This is just an issue we've never had before this visit. Maybe it's a new unit.
ok how about this one... it is a common problem. We use to complain each day when we stayed at pop about the ac system. They eventually told us the chillers were not cold enough and that was as good as it gets... http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=2881237

it's kelly
09-22-2012, 07:23 AM
ok how about this one... it is a common problem. We use to complain each day when we stayed at pop about the ac system. They eventually told us the chillers were not cold enough and that was as good as it gets... http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=2881237

There's no power or arrow buttons.

*KeepMovingForward*
09-22-2012, 08:07 AM
We have had the same problem at Poly and AKV. Without fail I wake in the middle of the night in a sweat. Depending on your room type, sometimes I've found I can just raise my arm or leg from the bed to trip the motion sensor so the air starts flowing again. I'm going to try the override instructions given and see if that does anything when we go in a few weeks.

reiella
09-22-2012, 08:27 AM
Just asked a friend and was told there are as pp said "GREEN" ones, but that most places and contractors stay clear because they do not promote comfort. People have HVAC so they are comfortable at all times.. if you are asleep you certainly are not in motion. Defeats the purpose . Still post the a brand or picture. The units in the rooms ( at least villas ) all have their own systems so you may need to call for service.

A lot of the newer 'smart' thermostats have motion sensors on them [NEST probably being the easiest to point at right now given it's 'popularity']. Although I suspect they may generally be seen as more home automation line of products.

Really depends a lot on the person wrt comfort, but energystar guidelines actually do suggest changing the settings at night, mostly as you're not active.

How they should be setup is to drift to the unoccupied temperature state [+4 or 7 degrees, I'd probably suggest 4 degrees since it's not able to predict when you're returning to your room that well]. Since they really need to not be air conditioning empty hotel rooms.