View Full Version : Car Seat Laws in Florida
03-10-2012, 08:29 PM
Does anyone know that car seat law in Florida. Here in Ohio we have to be in Booster seat till age 8 or until 80lbs. 2 of our daughters will be 8 and 9 so no biggie. Our youngest is 4 and weighs over 40lbs. I am assuming she will still need a booster seat? I swear several years ago children at age 4 did not have to have a booster seat in Florida. Can anyone help clarify:confused3 Thanks!
03-10-2012, 08:47 PM
Sadly none of your children are required to use a car seat in FL -
Personally I would still bring a car seat or at least a booster for the 4yo as the laws of physics don't change and IMHO an unfamilar rental car with lots of other toursits driving unfamilar rental cars isnt' the time to skimp on safety. The 8 and 9yo may be be fine with a the car safety belt but if they use a booster at home you may want to just keep using that.
If you are unsure if your 8 and 9yo are ok using a seat belt, here is a good way to test :
03-10-2012, 10:41 PM
I agree with tjmw2727 100%.
03-11-2012, 09:08 AM
Thanks. I was just going to post this same thing. We are going as a group (I'm from Ohio too) and we have 3 littler ones. The one gal was only going to get a carseat for her infant, but she has a 3 year old too, and I wasn't sure what the law is. Good to know.
03-11-2012, 12:51 PM
if you don't want to rent a booster, last year we stopped at WalMart and bought boosters for my DDs at $17 each which IMO was worth every penny. At the end of our stay, we left them at AS movies to another family.
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.