PDA

View Full Version : Car insurance companies for a 24 year old?

TimNDansMom
08-29-2011, 11:16 AM
DS24 is starting to look around for car insurance. We are hoping he waits until he is 25 and has saved more money but he says he needs a vehicle. He currently lives in Hamilton.

Any suggested insurance companies for someone his age?

Ted in Halifax
08-29-2011, 12:06 PM
My 21 year old son ... has insurance through TD. Pays $600 per year. Not bad .... for simple liability for a young guy.

TimNDansMom
08-29-2011, 04:39 PM
My son says he's looking into taking over a 2009 or 2010 lease, so he'd need more than liability unfortunately. TD, his bank, quoted him $260/month!

Daisy-J&D
08-29-2011, 09:31 PM
When I was looking a couple of years ago I was a new driver over age 25 and the bank quotes were INSANE. I mean, I couldn't even believe it. I think RBC wanted close to $400/month.
I ended up using Dalton Timmis Insurance Group which is in Ancaster and they got me a good rate with Aviva.

Daisy-J&D
08-29-2011, 09:33 PM
BTW, I was living in Toronto at the time which accounts for the high rate... but STILL. My Aviva rate was less than half.

corster
08-30-2011, 01:56 PM
TD, Belair Direct, or Desjardins General are the three insurance companies most people I know in my age group are with.

networktek
08-30-2011, 02:07 PM
we switched from statefarm to TD and they saved us hundreds on our car and house insurance and if you are part of a university or graduate you also get more of a discount

ferris198
08-30-2011, 02:08 PM
Try kanetix.ca they will give him approximate quotes.
Also too try a broker for a quote.
IF he takes higher deductibles that may help somewhat

MedicGoofy
08-30-2011, 03:00 PM
I second AVIVA. We use them for work so I do get a discount. I have used them for years now. I use a subgroup called Northcity Insurance.

http://www.northcity.ca/