PDA

View Full Version : General Questions Re: Raw, Lightroom, Card Size

Jalva22
05-20-2011, 10:14 AM
Heading to WDW in 2 weeks. I just recently bought Lightroom 3. I have never used Lightroom before. I have been a JPEG shooter on a Canon 40D.

Questions:

1. If you shoot RAW+JPEG, how many total GB's will your memory cards at WDW add up to? I currently have a 2GB which I am estimating will hold about 100 shots when shooting RAW+JPEG.

2. For a novice RAW shooter and novice Lightroom user, is it unnecessary to really shoot RAW+JPEG? My main editing prior to Lightroom was very basic stuff using Picasa.

3. What resource did you use (or, more importantly, would you recommend) for learning Lightroom?

4. I would appreciate if someone could give me a very basic rundown of your workflow process using Lightroom and RAW files.

Any advice is appreciated. You can surely gather my level of (in)experience when it comes to editing, so if there is advice beyond what I thought of asking, I would be pleased to hear any of it.

Thanks!

photo_chick
05-20-2011, 10:57 AM
How many cards you need depends on how you shoot and the size of your files. I can easily shoot 2000 images in a day, and an 8GB card in my 50D holds just under 300 RAW files.

I personally don't feel the need to shoot RAW + Jpeg, but I know some people have reasons they do. Lightroom has plenty of pre-sets to help you out if you don't want to. It's really a personal choice.

I didn't really use any resources to learn lightroom, but I was already comfortable working with images before it ever came out.